Sanne Cant cruises to second title

Sanne Cant (BKCP-Powerplus) prolonged her Belgian title in the women's category on a sunny Sunday afternoon. The 20 year-old left her rivals no chance as she sped away right from the start on a fast muddy course. Cant captured her second title by a huge margin over Nancy Bober and former national champion Joyce Vanderbeken.

“I was the first to enter the beach and I don't know what happened behind me but after one lap I already had half a minute. To be honest, I didn't have a great day. There was nobody to aim at,” Cant said. “I expected Ellen Van Loy to be near the front but I didn't see her.”

Behind Cant a massive pile-up was created by the crash from outsider Ellen Van Loy. It was the moment where Nancy Bober powered forward. “I ran past everyone,” Bober said. Bober switched focus from soccer to cycling a couple of years ago and captured her first medal at the national championships at the venerable age of 35. “After the sand section I didn't see anybody behind,” Bober added.

“The running section was quite difficult because there were no tracks. If you had to hop off your bike early then it was a really long section to run,” Cant said. The young Belgian added that this season has seen her show that she belongs among the best in the world.

In the Junior Women's category Femke Van Den Driessche won her race comfortably. The 14 year-old had 21 seconds on Nathalie Nijns, three years her senior, and more than a minute on the surprising Lotte Kopecky.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sanne Cant (Team Ciclismo Mundial)0:38:24
2Nancy Bober (Style & Concept Cycling Team VZW)0:01:47
3Joyce Vanderbeken (Cycling Team Vermeeren)0:02:44
4Ellen Van Loy (Kriekel Cycling Team Tessenderlo)0:03:01
5Anne Arnouts (RSC De Zuidwesthoek)0:03:02
6Nicolle De Bie-Leyten (APB - Cycling Team)0:03:18
7Hilde Quintens (Van Goethem/Prorace CT)0:04:22
8Gertie Willems (Kriekel Cycling Team Tessenderlo)0:04:23
9Katrien Aerts (Sport en Steun – Leopoldsburg)0:05:01
10Kristien Nelen (Goeman Scott Cycling Team)0:05:10
11Katrien Vermeiren (Kriekel Cycling Team Tessenderlo)0:05:44
12Anja Geldhof (Waasland Mountainbike Team)0:06:03
13Karen Verhestraeten (Sengers Ladies Cycling Team)0:06:09
14Katrien Van Looy (DCM-GB Vorselaar Cycling Team VZW)0:07:19
15Ilse Vandekinderen (Trust MTB Team VZW)0:07:46
16Laure Werner (Lotto Honda Team)0:08:20
17Anisha Vekemans (Topsport Vlaanderen – Ridley)0:09:02
18Sharon Defoor (Feestcomiteit Drogenboom)Row 17 - Cell 2
19Sandie Verriest (Asfra Racing Team)Row 18 - Cell 2
DNFKatrien Thijs (K. Edegem Bicycle Club - BMX Racing Team VZW)Row 19 - Cell 2
DNSAnj Nobus (GKV Cycling Team)Row 20 - Cell 2
DNSKim Van Renterghem (K.V.C. Deinze VZW)Row 21 - Cell 2


Junior Women

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Femke Van Den Driessche (VSW Lotto-Ladiescycling)0:31:51
2Nathalie Nijns (Sengers Ladies Cycling Team)0:00:21
3Lotte Kopecky (C.T.- DJ.Matic-Kortrijk)0:01:17
4Lisa Bogaert (C.T.- DJ.Matic-Kortrijk)0:01:43
5Caren Commissaris (W.A.C. Team Hoboken)0:02:55
6Saartje Vandenbroucke (C.T.- DJ.Matic-Kortrijk)0:03:17
7Shana Maes (Kriekel Cycling Team Tessenderlo)0:05:35
8Janice Geyskens (Kempens Wielerverbond-Turnhout)Row 7 - Cell 2
9Meg De Bruyne (Rijschool AH - Gentse VS)Row 8 - Cell 2
10Valerie Boonen (De Kastelse Durvers)Row 9 - Cell 2
11Keshia Verbeeck (BMX Team Bekaf)Row 10 - Cell 2
12Lydwine Lowie (Royal Velo Sport Peruwelz - Bury)Row 11 - Cell 2
13Caitlyn La Haye (Hageland Cycling Team)Row 12 - Cell 2
14Laura De Baene (Isorex Cycling Team)Row 13 - Cell 2
DNFSteffy Van Den Haute (Wielerclub De Sprinters Malderen)Row 14 - Cell 2
DNSLarisa Jaspart (Lotto-Predictor-VC Ardennes)Row 15 - Cell 2
DNSLisa Vermeire (K.V.C. Deinze VZW)Row 16 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1