Skip to main content

Winfield tops Van Gilder in C3 sweep

With current UCI World #1 and two-time defending Champion System MAC season title holder Laura Van Gilder on the start line, few would have bet against her firepower. But while C3-Athletes Serving Athletes' Halloween Storm Trooper-themed skinsuits had announcers throwing around science fiction metaphors, Team Cystic Fibrosis' Kristin Gavin had a more down-to-earth metaphor of her own. "It was a yard sale out there," said Gavin, who crashed twice during the race on the deceptively technical Beacon course. "It's so fast here that you have to stay alert. If you make a mistake and take a wrong line, your bike might leave you."

Just after the remount following the first trip up the two-story "Amphitheater of Pain" run-up on the first lap, Van Gilder made just such a mistake and hit an exposed root with her pedal. The resultant crash took down much of the still compacted field and allowed Van Gilder's teammates, Dee Dee Winfield and Arley Kemmerer to escape.

Within minutes, Winfield was in full power mode and time trialing a huge gear all the way around the Beacon Course that is nearly unchanged since its inception nearly a decade ago.

Kemmer rode with Winfield briefly, then dropped off as Gavin and her Team Cystic Fibrosis teammate Nikki Thiemann worked together in vain try to reach her.

Van Gilder, near the back of the field and 45 seconds down on Winfield, started her own time trial. At each time check around the lap, Van Gilder would gain between two and four seconds. One by one, Van Gilder worked her way through the field like a domestique through a stage race caravan, until only Winfield and Kemmerer remained.

Though Kemmerer was a teammate, she wasn't going down without a fight, but was no match for the powerful Van Gilder, who was bleeding from a big gash on her shin suffered in the first lap race. Van Gilder's chase ended there as she was never able to pull back any significant time from the flying Dee Dee Winfield, who scored her first UCI win of the season.

Full results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Deidre Winfield (USA) C3 - Athletes Serving Athletes0:40:02
2Laura Van Gilder (USA) C3 - Athletes Serving Athletes0:00:49
3Arley Kemmerer (USA) C3 - Athletes Serving Athletes0:01:04
4Kristin Gavin (USA) Team CF0:01:13
5Nikki Thiemann (USA) Team CF
6Jennifer Maxwell (USA) Van Dessel Factory Team p/b Sterke Meiden0:01:48
7Carolyn Popovic (USA) PAValleys.com0:01:59
8Katrina Dowidchuk (USA) Team TBB-Deep Blue0:02:08
9Rebecca Blatt (USA) Silverbull Central Wheel0:02:47
10Kristine Church (USA) Human Zoom-Pabst Blue Ribbon0:03:11
11Lauri Webber (USA) Secret Henry's Team0:03:27
12Andrea Luebbe (USA) Human Zoom / Pabst Blue Ribbon0:03:31
13Stacey Barbossa (USA) Montclair Cyclists0:04:00
14Christine Fennessy (USA)0:04:33
15Kathrin Schumacher (USA) Guy's Racing0:06:31
16Amy Cutler (USA) Team EPS-CSS p/b Brielle Cyclery0:08:05
17Evie Edwards (USA)0:08:53
-1 lapNina Santiago (USA) Watchung Wheelmen
DNFErin Silliman (USA) ALAN North America Cycling Team
DNSEmily Thurston (USA)
DNSLenore Pipes (USA) The Wistar Institute


Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews