Skip to main content

Meyer and Bobridge dominate at Darebin

West Australia's Cameron Meyer and South Australia's Jack Bobridge claimed the Australian Madison title in magnificent fashion, lapping the field four times in front of a huge crowd at the Darebin International Sports Centre Velodrome in Melbourne.

Riding with the number one saddle cloth on their Garmin-Transitions skinsuits, the pair executed at every opportunity to finish on 22 points and one lap clear of the Dutch pairing of Peter Schep and Nick Stopler. NSWIS duo Alex Carver and Scott Law were a further lap behind on on 30 points after figuring in most late-race sprints.

All podium finishers dictated the race from start to finish, with all three taking laps shortly into the start of the 200-lap race and again at the halfway mark.

With about 60 laps to go, the attack was on again, this time through Bobridge, with the Dutch the only team to respond. However, Meyer finished in sensational form to take yet another lap inside the final few kilometres and the title.

"It was definitely hard out there, I was a bit worried before the start, as Jack and I had had a hard week physically and mentally with the World Cup, but we were really looking forward to this and worked really hard," said reigning Madison world champion Meyer.

"That was a really good field out there, there were a lot of young guys out there from Australia wanting to show what they've got, and I know the Dutch really well.

"It was a fantastic crowd, and I am already looking forward to next year," added Meyer.

The Madison was just one of a number of great races during the program at Thornbury's DISC, with the 74th edition of the Melbourne Cup on Wheels handicap going to Rick Sanders (Carnegie Caulfield CC), who claimed the handicap in a sensational sprint to the line.


Australian Madison Champs 50km
#Rider Name (Country) Team
1Cameron Meyer/Jack Bobridge (Aus)
2 -1 lapPeter Schep/Nick Stopler (Ned)
3 -2 lapsAlex Carver/Scott Law (Aus)
4 -3 lapsGeorge Tansley/Alex Edmonson (Aus)
5 -3 lapsJordan Kerby/Jackson Law (Aus)
6 -6 lapsMitchell Benson/Adam Semple (Aus)
7 -6 lapsSam Witmitz/Michael O'Brien (Aus)
8 -7 lapsTom Leaper/Brent Nelson (Aus)
9 -7 lapsRobert McCarthey/Miles Scotson (Aus)
10 -8 lapsJamie Crass/Damien Howson (Aus)
DNFPeter Loft/Luke Ockerby (Aus)

Melbourne Cup on Wheels Final
#Rider Name (Country) Team
1Rick Sanders (Aus)
2Jacob Schmid (Aus)
3Jack Cummings (Aus)
4Cameron Parlevliet (Aus)
5Alex Edmonson (Aus)
6Brent Nelson (Aus)
7Richard Wood (Aus)
8Robert McCarthy (Aus)
9Miles Scotson (Aus)
10Tom Leaper (Aus)
11Oliver Phillips (Aus)
12Sam Witmitz (Aus)
13Emerson Harwood (Aus)
DNFBrendan Bailey (Aus)
DNFHarry Crothers-Bade (Aus)
DNFJack Bobridge (Aus)
DNFCameron Meyer (Aus)
DNFTim Veldt (Ned)
DNFJaron Gardiner (Aus)
DNFLuke Parker (Aus)


Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews