Graf wins final round of 4X ProTour

The first year of the 4X ProTour, culminated in one of the most exciting races on Saturday night in Willingen, Germany.  David Graf and Anneke Beerten won the final round.

When the ProTour finals were announced as happening in Willingen, Joost Wichman stepped forward and suggested changes that could make the existing track better and give more chances for passing. The changes were well received

In qualifying, Wichman made his intentions clear from the start by setting the fastest time. David Graf, fresh from the BMX World Championships and competing in his first 4X ProTour of 2012 was second ahead of Tomas Slavik and Jakub Riha. The times were tight with just two seconds separating the top 20 men.

In the women's race, world champion Anneke Beerten took the fastest time in front of Celine Gros, Lucia Oejtens and Steffi Marth was in fourth. This made the overall points interesting with three women in contention of taking the overall title.

The shock of the first round was Jakub Riha, who went out with a big crash in the first race. Another shock came from Mick Hannah who, riding in his first ProTour found himself on the floor in the first turn when he simply ran out of track. Aside from Riha and Hannah, all the other men's contenders progressed to the second round of racing.

In the second round, there were passes galore. Michal Marossi, in a photo finish, was overtaken by Nico Vink. For those who thought that 4X racing was all over in the first turn, the ProTour has proven that wrong time and time again.

Onto the semi-finals: Wichman, Lucas Mechura, Michal Prokop and Scott Beaumont were in the gate. Wichman got the snap and led the race. The others all were wheel to wheel for second. In the final turn, Mechura and Prokop came together with Prokop crashing out. Wichman and Mechura were through.

In the second semi-final, Graf was against Slavik, Derbier and Vink. This race went the way of qualifying with Graf and Slavik going through.

In the women's final, Beerten lined up against Gros, Oejens and Steffi Marth. With the overall title on the line, Beerten got the snap and just did not look back. She hit the pro line doubles and took the win which was also enough to give her the 2012 4X ProTour overall title. Second went to Oejens, Third was Marth and unfortunately Gros crashed out of the race. Gros has had a fantastic year and this was enough to give her second overall ahead of Katy Curd, who finished fifth today, enough for third overall.

In the final main event of 2012. Wichman, Graf, Slavik and Mechura were on the gate. Slavik got the snap, but Graf got inside of him on turn two. The two of them went bar to bar on the proline doubles, but Graf got the edge and Slavik had to roll the first double. Graf looked like he was away, but Wichman charged whilst he was battling with Slavik and got into the lead on turn three. Through the rhythm section, Graf got close then on the final turn he dived inside and took the lead. Across the line, it was close, but Graf took it from Wichman, Mechura and Slavik in fourth.It was one of the tightest battles of the 2012 4X ProTour.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) Team
1David Graf (Swi)
2Joost Wichman (Ned)
3Tomas Slavik (Cze)
4Lukas Mechura (Cze)
5Michal Prokop (Cze)
6Scott Beaumont (GBr)
7Nico Vink (Bel)
8Quentin Derbier (Fra)
9Michael Mechura (Cze)
10Kamil Tatarkovic (Cze)
11Daniel Prijkell (Ned)
12Simon Waldburger (Swi)
13Adam Stasek (Ger)
14Jakub Hnidak (Cze)
15Aiko Göhler (Ger)
16Benedikt Last (Ger)
17Lacey Lewis (GBr)
18Michal Marosi (Cze)
19Milan Mysik (Cze)
20Benjamin Kistner (Swi)
21Gustaw Dadela (Pol)
22Piotr Paradowski (Pol)
23Maciej Chmiel (Pol)
24Marco Ricci (Ita)
25Guido Tschugg (Ger)
26Tom Dowie (GBr)
27Klaus Beige (Ger)
28Adrian Weiss (Swi)
29Dominik Gladen (Ger)
30Urban Rotnik (Slo)
31Danilo Petrucci Francesco (Ita)
32Hannes Slavik (Aut)
33Jakub Riha (Cze)
34Stefano Dolfin (Ita)
35Andrej Bratina (Slo)
36Jonas Gauss (Ger)
37Mariusz Jarek (Pol)
38Werner Muther (Swi)
39Stefano Balestralli (Ita)
40Ingo Kaufmann (Ger)
41Denis Masarik (Svk)
42Jamie Askew (GBr)
43Mick Hannah (Aus)
44Joey Van Veghel (Ned)
45Johnny Magis (Bel)
46David Roberts (GBr)
47Petr Benes (Cze)
48Kevin Van Benthem (Ned)
49Planting Dyon (Ned)
50Marcin Stefaniuk (Pol)
51Marek Pesko (Svk)
52Gabriele Giletta (Ita)
53Piotr Kobus (Pol)
54Jakub Klein (Pol)
55Felix Beckman (Swe)
DNFMatija Stupard (Slo)
DNFPetrik Brückner (Ger)
DNSBenjamin Eholich (Ger)
DNSMitkov Bozan (Cze)
DNFMirko Weiss (Swi)
DNFMark Milward (GBr)
DNFOliver Fuhrmann (Ger)
DNFJeroen Neus (Ned)
DNFBenjamin Beilhack (Ger)
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite women
#Rider Name (Country) Team
1Anneke Beerten (Ned)
2Lucia Oetjen (Swi)
3Steffi Marth (Ger)
4Celine Gros (Fra)
5Katy Curd (GBr)
6Suzanne Lacyey (GBr)
7Helene Fruhwirth (Aut)
8tereza Votavova (Cze)
9Laura Brethauer (Ger)
10Caro Gehrig (Unknown)
11Anna Börschig (Ger)
12Dana Elena Schweika (Ger)
13Julia Lackas (Ger)
14Lea Schleifenbaum (Ger)


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1