Vos wraps up Top Competition

Women's World Champion Marianne Vos (Team DSB Bank) won the women's Dutch Top Competition series Sunday, by claiming victory in the series' final round. In doing so, Vos won her fourth round of the five event series. Suzanne de Goede (T-Mobile) was the only rider who was able to beat the youngster, who won the women's World Cyclo-cross Championship in 2006.

With the win, Vos not only claimed the overall series victory, but also the young rider competition, and her team DSB squad claimed the team's prize.

The win was not just a formality for Vos. "Given that there was still a classification to win here today, this race was important for all the Dutch ladies," she said, referring to the team's prize. "It is a nice race to win, I gave it everything that I had on the Gulpenerberg, close to the finish. In the end only Susanne Ljungskog was able to stay with me, but I was able to beat her in the sprint."

Ljungskog finished second, with Andrea Graus completing the podium after recent Sweden women's World Cup round winner Chantal Beltman missed the second to last turn, while riding with the leaders.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1