Van Vleuten rises to the top of WorldTour rankings after Liege-Bastogne-Liege

Annemiek van Vleuten may not have been able to lay her hands on a winner’s trophy this spring, but the Dutchwoman's consistency has seen her climb to the top of the Women’s WorldTour rankings after the inaugural women’s Liege-Bastogne-Liege.

The Orica-Scott rider began the race with a six-point deficit to Sunweb's Coryn Rivera, who was not taking part, and finishing in the top 18 would be enough to put her in the purple jersey. Van Vleuten put forward an aggressive race strategy but was unable to hang onto the leaders when they made their move. She ultimately finished fifth, out-sprinted by Ellen van Dijk to the line. It completes an extremely consistent spring that has seen her drop out of the top five just twice, with a 14th at Gent-Wevelgem her worst performance.

Kasia Niewiadoma (WM3) has also enjoyed a great run of form with third place in each of the Ardennes races, which has seen her jump to second in the individual standings, 40 points behind Van Vleuten. Rivera is now down to third place, 54 points behind, but she could close that gap at the Tour of California where she will be one of the favourites for the sprint stages. Van Vleuten has already confirmed that she will not be heading out to California or the next WorldTour event, Chongming Island.

Boels Dolmans had a slower start to the season than in 2017, but after locking out the top two steps at all three of the Ardennes races, Lizzie Deignan and Anna van der Breggen have moved into the top five, in fourth and fifth respectively. That has given them a commanding lead in the team competition with more than 500 points separating them from the second place Team Sunweb.

In the young riders classification, Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (Cervelo Bigla) added to her tally with a top 10 finish at Liege-Bastogne-Liege. She now leads Lotte Kopecky (Lotto Soudal) by 18 points, a large margin in a classification where points are much less. Ludwig is also just outside the top 10 in the general standings, four points behind Shara Gillow (FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope).

The women’s WorldTour will take a short break before revving up again at the three-day Tour of Chongming Island, which begins on May 5.  

UCI Women's WorldTour standings

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResultHeader Cell - Column 3
1Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Orica Scott Women469pts
2Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Pol) WM3 Pro Cycling429Row 1 - Cell 3
3Coryn Rivera (USA) Team Sunweb Women415Row 2 - Cell 3
4Elizabeth Deignan (GBr) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam393Row 3 - Cell 3
5Anna Van Der Breggen (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam384Row 4 - Cell 3
6Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Wiggle High5335Row 5 - Cell 3
7Elena Cecchini (Ita) Canyon SRAM Racing265Row 6 - Cell 3
8Chantal Blaak (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam240Row 7 - Cell 3
9Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (RSA) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team175Row 8 - Cell 3
10Shara Gillow (Aus) FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope170Row 9 - Cell 3
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Team Classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResultHeader Cell - Column 3
1Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam1239pts
2Team Sunweb733Row 1 - Cell 3
3Orica Scott714Row 2 - Cell 3
4Wiggle High5581Row 3 - Cell 3
5Cervelo - Bigla Pro Cycling Team501Row 4 - Cell 3
6WM3 Pro Cycling Team493Row 5 - Cell 3
7Canyon Sram Racing410Row 6 - Cell 3
8Ale Cipollini212Row 7 - Cell 3
9FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope180Row 8 - Cell 3
10Lensworld - Kuota134Row 9 - Cell 3
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Youth Classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResultHeader Cell - Column 3
1Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (Den) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team28pts
2Lotte Kopecky (Bel) Lotto Soudal Ladies10Row 1 - Cell 3
3Alice Barnes (GBr) Drops Cycling Team10Row 2 - Cell 3
4Amalie Dideriksen (Den) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam8Row 3 - Cell 3
5Sofia Beggin (Ita) Astana Women's Team8Row 4 - Cell 3
6Lisa Klein (Ger) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team6Row 5 - Cell 3
7Anna Christian (GBr) Drops Cycling Team4Row 6 - Cell 3
8Arianna Fidanza (Ita) Astana Women's Team4Row 7 - Cell 3
9Elisa Balsamo (Ita) Valcar PBM4Row 8 - Cell 3
10Kelly Van Den Steen (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Guill d'Or4Row 9 - Cell 3


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1