Van Vleuten hails 'best spring ever' after Liège-Bastogne-Liège win

Annemiek van Vleuten (Movistar) with the Liege-Bastogne-Liege winner's prize
Annemiek van Vleuten (Movistar) with the Liege-Bastogne-Liege winner's prize (Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

On Sunday, Annemiek van Vleuten ended her spring as she started, with a win at Liège-Bastogne-Liège to go with her February victory at Omloop Het Nieuwsblad, retaking the trophy she had won in 2019 with a solo attack from the Côte de Roche-aux-Faucons.

The Dutch woman has rarely been away from the podium this spring campaign, taking second places at Strade Bianche, the Tour of Flanders, and La Flèche Wallonne to go with her two victories.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Dani Ostanek
Senior News Writer

Dani Ostanek is Senior News Writer at Cyclingnews, having joined in 2017 as a freelance contributor and later being hired full-time. Prior to joining the team, they had written for numerous major publications in the cycling world, including CyclingWeekly and Rouleur.


Dani has reported from the world's top races, including the Tour de France, World Championships, and the spring Classics. They have interviewed many of the sport's biggest stars, including Mathieu van der Poel, Remco Evenepoel, Demi Vollering, and Anna van der Breggen.


As well as original reporting, news and feature writing, and production work, Dani also oversees How to Watch guides and works on The Leadout newsletter throughout the season. Their favourite races are Strade Bianche and Paris-Roubaix and their favourite published article is from the 2024 edition of the latter: 'Unless I'm in an ambulance, I'm finishing this race' – Cyrus Monk, the last man home at Paris-Roubaix