Sprinters come up short in Classic Brugge-De Panne Women

Lorena Wiebes (Team DSM)
(Image credit: Team DSM)

So far in its three-year history, the Classic Brugge-De Panne had always finished in some sort of sprint for the victory, and nothing else was expected when the race got underway in Brugge on Thursday, with last year’s winner Lorena Wiebes (Team DSM) wearing the number one bib.

At the end of the day, Wiebes was the fastest in the sprint of her group – but this was only for 13th place, 40 seconds after the winner Grace Brown (Team BikeExchange) had crossed the line. Wiebes paid the price for not being far enough ahead in the peloton when the race split in the crosswinds in De Moeren on the final lap of the circuit around De Panne.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Lukas Knöfler started working in cycling communications in 2013 and has seen the inside of the scene from many angles. Having worked as press officer for teams and races and written for several online and print publications, he has been Cyclingnews’ Women’s WorldTour correspondent since 2018.