Rabobank retains two veterans

Rabobank will keep Jan Boven and Mathew Hayman on its squad after both signed new contracts going into 2008.

As the last active rider from Rabobank's pro team which started in 1996, Boven penned a new one year contract for 2008, which will mark the Belgian's 13th professional season. Boven, a respected rider on the team boasts just one career victory. In 1996, he beat American Tyler Hamilton in the sprint of the first stage of the Teleflex Tour to Valkenburg, The Netherlands.

Hayman's finest hour came ten years later, in 2006, when he won the road race of the Commonwealth Games in Melbourne. The Australian, who will head into his twelfth professional season, has also won the overall classifications of both the Challenge Mallorca in 2001, and the Sachsen Tour 2005. His new contract runs for two years, thereby extending his tenure with the team, which began in 2000.

The duo will use their experience to the benefit of younger riders. "Jan and Mathew both are very reliable riders with lots of experience," said Rabobank's Erik Breukink. "[In] the coming season, Jan Boven can play an important role for the youngsters in our team. Last season, Mathew Hayman was important to our sprinters."

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1