Past winners to battle at the BC Bike Race starting Sunday

The BC Bike Race is set to launch its third edition for over 400 racers on Sunday, June 28. The seven-day Canadian race features a revised course with a North Vancouver start. The race will also visit the famous North Shore trails and include two new stages. It finishes on July 4.

This year's list of favorites reads like a who's who in endurance mountain bike racing.

In the women's race, Alison Sydor and Lea Davison will pair up as Team Rocky Mountain Bicycles. Their number one challengers are likely to be Catherine Pendrel and Katerina Nash of Team Luna.

The men's race will be a battle of past winners. 2008 winners Kris Sneddon and Barry Wicks of Team Kona will take on 2007 winners Chris Eatough and Jeff Schalk. Seamus McGrath and Chris Sheppard, of Team Jamis and Team Santa Cruz, will also throw their hats into the ring.

Sue Butler will pair up with Bryan Alders (Monavie-Cannondale) in the Mixed category. Team Luna's Georgia Gould and Team Kona's Ryan Trebon are another match to watch.

Stayed tuned to Cyclingnews for race coverage.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1