New team manager for Rabobank

Rabobank to have new manager for 2008

Rabobank to have new manager for 2008 (Image credit: Sirotti)

By Susan Westemeyer

Rabobank is expected to appoint Harold Knebel to be the new chairman of Team Rabobank's Board of Directors, according to, replacing Theo de Rooy, who retired after the Tour de France in light of the Rasmussen scandal. Knebel, 45, has served as Director of Private Banking at Rabobank Nederland since January 1, 2007, and is Chairman of the Board of the bank's subsidiary Schretlen & Co. NV.

Raymond Saylet, manager of Media Relations for the Rabobank Group, told Cyclingnews, "It is not formal yet, but he is a good candidate."

Knebel, who calls himself a cycling fanatic, has been involved with the team this year as a commissioner and even rode the Amstel Curaçao race last month, finishing 63rd. The appointment must still be officially made by the bank's governing body.

An independent study released earlier this month criticized de Rooy's role in the Rasmussen affair before and during the Tour de France. Henri van der Aart had served as interim team manager following de Rooy's departure.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1