Evans named Australia's Cyclist of the Year

BMC's Cadel Evans rounded off an historic 2011 by winning the Sir Hubert Opperman medal for cyclist of the the year at the Jayco 2011 Australian Cyclist of the Year Awards in Sydney.

Evans, who also won the award in 2006, 2007 and 2009, became the first Australian winner of the Tour de France back in July and the oldest rider to win the GC since the Second World War.. He beat stiff competition for the honour, which is named after the Australian cycling legend from the 1920s, from the likes of triple world champion Anna Meares and double world champion Jack Bobridge. His victory in cycling's most prestigious race has raised the profile of cycling still further in Australia and he will be looking to build on this success next season.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1