Dennis, Matthews, Spratt and Kennedy selected by Australia for Yorkshire road Worlds

Cycling Australia have announced their elite men's and women's squads for this year's UCI Road World Championships, which take place in Yorkshire, in the UK, from September 22-29. Among them are defending time trial world champion Rohan Dennis (Bahrain-Merida) and 2015 Worlds road-race silver medallist Michael Matthews (Sunweb), while Mitchelton-Scott's Amanda Spratt – second at last year's Worlds road race – and last Saturday's Clasica San Sebastian winner Lucy Kennedy headline the women's squad.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.