Skip to main content

British Cycling selects worlds team

British Cycling announced its 35-strong Great Britain Mountain Bike Team for the forthcoming World Championships held at Val di Sole in Italy June 17-22.

Siblings Dan, Gee and Rachel Atherton made the squad after proving they are all on fine form after each won a World Cup event in Vallnord, Andorra, last weekend. Also included are multi-World Cup Downhill winner Steve Peat, Britain's first female World Cup winning downhiller Tracy Moseley and Commonwealth Gold winner Liam Killeen. A crop of talented junior riders complete the line-up.

British Cycling reserved the right to add riders following exceptional performances at the Fort William World Cup.

Elite men & women: Dan Atherton, Gee Atherton, Rachel Atherton, Ben Cathro, Brendan Fairclough, Fionn Griffiths, Tracy Moseley, Steve Peat
Junior men: Josh Bryceland, Sam Dale, Danny Hart, Joe Smith

Elite men & women: Dan Atherton, Scott Beaumont, Will Evans, Fionn Griffiths, Dave Wardell

Cross country
Elite men & women: Oli Beckingsale, Liam Killeen, Fiona McDermid
U23 men: Ian Bibby, Ross Creber, Ian Field, David Fletcher
Junior men / women: Sebastian Batchelor, Hamish Creber, Annie Last, Alex Paton

Elite 20": Andrei Burton, Daniel Butler, Tom Rankin, Ben Savage, Ben Slinger
Elite 26": Andrei Burton, Daniel Butler, James Hyland, Ben Savage, Ben Slinger
Junior 20": Joe Oakley, Sam Oliver
Junior 26": Joe Oakley, Sam Oliver, Scott Wilson

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1