Bissell signs three new riders

The Bissell Pro Cycling Team signed three new riders and announced the first 10 members of its team for 2010. Kyle Wamsley will serve as the team's new criterium strongman while Daniel Holloway will come over from the felt-Holowesko-Garmin Under 23 team, and David Williams will step into the pro ranks for the first time.

"In shaping our 2010 roster, we have bolstered our finishing speed across the board and this will now complement the team's fantastic time trialing ability," said Team Director Eric Wohlberg. "Our new acquisitions are very gifted riders, who specialize in sprint finishes and are known commodities with regard to mixing it up all day long. We are all very excited for the 2010 season to get underway and anticipate some great days on the podium."

Wamsley's 2009 results include two top-five stage wins at the Tour of Missouri, as well as a stage win and the overall points jersey at the Redlands Classic. In 2008, Wamsley won the overall at the Fitchberg Classic and took the National Racing Calendar (NRC) victory at the Cox Charities Cycling Classic.

Holloway had wins both on US and European soil this year and is also a respected track competitor, having achieved four first-place wins at the 2008 US Elite Track Nationals. Newcomer Williams posted impressive local results in Michigan, where he is currently the state time trial champion. Williams also wrapped up his 2009 season with results on the track, where he recently won the men's individual omnium, 4km pursuit and team pursuit at the US Collegiate Track Nationals.

Ben Jacques-Maynes will continue to captain Bissell after another strong year, in which he demonstrated his ability to compete against the world's best at the Tour of California, Nevada City and Tour of Missouri. Co-leader Frank Pipp will support Jacques-Maynes with his wealth of experience and ability to captain the riders - a major part of the team's success in 2009. New Zealand time trial champion, Jeremy Vennell and all-around powerhouse, Andy Jacques-Maynes, will also return and provide depth to the roster, and New Zealand's Pete Latham will add to Bissell's threat in the sprint.

Returning rider, Paul Mach showed his climbing talents this past season as a neo-pro when he earned the overall win at the Mt. Hood Classic. Mach is expected to contribute even more to the team's success in 2010.

"Paul has really stepped up his tactical skills over the course of the season," said Wohlberg. "We are looking forward to his 2010 race season with great anticipation."

Finally, Cody O'Reilly will return to Bissell after a year of riding support for the team.

Team manager Glen Mitchell and Wohlberg will continue in their same roles for 2010.

After 2009 overall team wins at the Tour of Gila, Joe Martin Stage Race, Mt. Hood and the Nature Valley Grand Prix, the team aims to best the best American squad for 2010.

Bissell for 2010:
Ben Jacques-Maynes
Frank Pipp
Kyle Wamsley
Daniel Holloway
David Williams
Pete Latham
Cody O'Reilly
Jeremy Vennell
Andy Jacques-Maynes
Paul Mach

Follow Cyclingnews on Twitter for the very latest coverage of events taking place in the cycling world -

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Sue George is an editor at Cyclingnews.  She coordinates all of the site's mountain bike race coverage and assists with the road, 'cross and track coverage.