Austrian teams dedicate race to Matzenbacher

The two Austrian Professional Continental teams Volksbank and Elk Haus are preparing for the GP Judendorf Strassengel Sunday, with a heavy heart. This year's race is dedicated to the memory of Volksbank's Andreas Matzenbacher, who won the race in 2004. He died in an auto crash on Christmas Eve 2007 at the age of 25.

"We will ride this race while thinking of 'Matzi',' said Volksbank team manager Thomas Kofler. "We miss him. Not just here, but everywhere we ride."

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1