Andalucía-Cajasur signs 14 riders

By Antonio J. Salmerón

Spanish team Andalucía-Cajasur has reinforced its roster with three last riders: Jorge Ferrío (3 Molinos Resort), Jose Antonio Lopez (Kaiku) and Jose Luis Carrasco (Caisse d'Epargne-Illes Balears), who the team hopes will help to obtain a wild-card entry to participate in the 2007 Vuelta a España. The Pro Continental squad also wants to increase its budget.

Manager Antonio Cabello told Meta2Mil that, "If we get more money, we will sign two more cyclists, but we would have to do that before December 15, when I want to send all the documentation to the UCI." Javier Chacón, national U23 time trial champion, counts on Cabello's commitment to make his debut in the second half of the next season. Cabello has renewed the contracts of seven riders: Francisco Lara, Francisco J. Martinez, Juan Olmo, Manuel Ortega, Luis Perez, Jose Ruiz and Manuel Vázquez. Francisco Cabello, Angel Edo, Garcia Quesada, Efraín Gutiérrez, Pedro L. Marichar, Jaume Rovira and Mario Sanchez have left this squad. In addition to the mentioned Ferrío, Lopez and Carrasco, Andalucía-Cajasur has signed to Claudio Casas, Jesus Rosendo and Juan Carlos Cariñena.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1