Kabush wins another short track

Schultz rides well into second with Taberlay third

Geoff Kabush (Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain) edged out a feisty Sam Schultz (Gary Fisher/Subaru) to win the short track today at Windham Mountain. Yesterday, he came from behind to win the cross country race as well. It was the Canadian champion's second double in a row after doing the same last weekend at Mount Snow. An aggressive Sid Taberlay (Team ShoAir/Specialized) was third today, followed by Todd Wells who was fourth, and Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski in fifth.

Today was the final round of the four part Trailwatch.net short track series. Todd Wells carried a commanding lead into the race today and won the championship by making another podium appearance. Wells decided early in the season to make short track a priority of his domestic racing this year. At this point short track racing is solely an American event and is not included in the World Cup races that Wells attends.

The newly modified course at Windham Mountain included one significant climb and one minor one. The absence of singletrack on the course, that meant that the passing lanes were wide open. Riders did not have to wait before launching attacks. The result was perhaps the most aggressive race the circuit has seen in years.

As has become customary, Todd Wells won the start today but Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski quickly went by him and led the first lap. The field stayed together with all the favorites up front. Barry Wicks, who had told Cyclingnews that he was going to win the $100 prime on lap three could be seen moving to the front. Unfortunately for Wicks, the announcers then changed the prime to lap number four and Wick’s effort came to nothing.

Sid Taberlay attacked hard on lap four and spent the next few laps at the front. He created chaos in the field and the race favorites all drove hard to get back on his wheel.
Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski was the first to make contact, but he brought with him Wells, U.S. champion Adam Craig (Giant), Max Plaxton (ShoAir), Sam Schultz, and Kabush.

The next few laps were absolute pandemonium as rider after rider attacked the group. Kabush himself attacked on lap six but was chased down by riders who still had relatively fresh legs. Sixteen minutes into the event another Kabush attack was more successful but Schultz remained glued to his wheel.

In the final minutes of the event, a serious chase group of Craig, Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski, Wells, and Taberlay worked hard to hunt down Kabush and Schultz. Unfortunately for the quartet there were moments of hesitation amongst the group, which helped assure that the breakaway would succeed today. Remarkably, Schultz took several turns at the front and there were times when small gaps appeared between he and Kabush.

"Sam rode an incredibly smart race today," said Kabush after his win. "I laid down a pretty vicious attack with four laps to go and he was right there. I went again on the last lap but he countered. He got a jump on me but I had just enough real estate at the end to close it down."

With Schultz leading on the downhill on the final lap, the crowd went into frenzy. Most knew they might be watching history being made if young Schultz could knock of the most prolific North American winner ever. As they rounded the corner to the finish it appeared that Schultz had closed the door on Kabush, but somehow the Canadian champion got around him to win by inches.

"It was awesome racing Kabush today. I was not even that red-lined" said Schultz. "I was pretty comfortable while sitting on his wheel…but I knew he would have a hell of a sprint coming to the finish and he definitely did. It was super fun racing with him."

Sid Taberlay won the lap four prime today while Schultz was awarded the "Most Aggressive Rider" award.




#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Geoff Kabush (Can) Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain  
2Sam Schultz (USA) Subaru-Gary Fisher  
3Sid Taberlay (Aus) ShoAir/Specilaized  
4Adam Craig (USA) Giant Mtb Team  
5Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (USA) Subaru-Gary  
6Todd Wells (USA) Specialized  
7Seamus Mcgrath (Can) Jamis Factory  
8Carl Decker (USA) Giant Mtb Team  
9Max Plaxton (Can) Shoair/Specialized  
10Andy Schultz (USA) Kenda/Tomac/Hayes  
11Rotem Ishay (USA)  
12Thomas Turner (USA) Outspokin Bicycles  
13Kris Sneddon (Can) Kona  
14Tad Elliott (USA) U23 National  
15Robert Marion (USA) Kenda/KMC/Hayes  
16Rob Squire (USA) U23 National Team  
17Michael Broderick (USA) Kenda/Seven  
18Martin Kell (USA) Mountainside  
19Colin Cares (USA) Kenda/Tomac/Hayes  
20Barry Wicks (USA) Kona  
21Travis Livermon (USA) Champion System/Cannondale  
22Ethan Gilmour (USA) U23 Nat Team  
23Ryan Woodall (USA) Dedicated Athlete/Industry  
24Justin Lindine (USA) Bikers.Com/Cannondale  
25Greg Carpenter (USA) Devo/Giant  
26Aaron Elwell (USA) Crrt/Monster/T6  
27Rickey Visinski (USA)  
28Blake Harlan (USA) Jamis Factory Team  
29Sam Jurekovic (USA) ShoAir/Specialized  
30Tom Sampson (USA)  
31Timothy Carson (USA)  
32Noah Tautfest (USA)  
33Justin Raynes (USA) Bikes Unlimited  
34Seamus Powell (USA) Windham Mt Outfitters  
35Alex Ryan (USA) CCN/Cannondale  
36Paul Kolb (USA)  
DNFSimon Happy (Can) Rst Velo Sports  
DNFOsias Lozano (USA)  
DNFJordan Kahlenberg (USA)  
DNFErik Tonkin (USA) Kona  
DNFMacky Franklin (USA) Transparent Racing  
DNFRyan Trebon (USA) Kona  
DNFStephen Ettinger (USA) Black Diamond Sports Therapy  


Back to top