Marcotte outsprints Pipp for victory at Thompson Doylestown Criterium

Bissell rider mowed down in final 50 metres

On a picture perfect day for racing, Eric Marcotte (Elbowz Racing) outsprinted Frank Pipp (Bissell Pro Cycling) to take the win at the 9th Thompson Doylestown Criterium. Alexey Shmidt (Team Type 1 Devo) held off the rest of the break to round out the podium.

For the first few circuits, the peloton stayed together and began to set a blistering pace for what would be a fast and thrilling day of racing. Nine laps in Marcotte, Pipp and Shmidt were part of a six-man break who were able to get as much as a 17-second gap on the field but were caught a few laps later. With 21 laps to go, Marsh Cooper (Team Optum p/b Kelly Benefits Strategies) and Tim Mitchell (CCB Racing) attempted a two man break. The pair was only able to get a 10-second gap on the field and were reeled in only 3 laps later.

The main turning point in the day’s action took place at about the halfway point in the race. A group of 10 riders attacked and were joined only one lap later by a small chase group. It would be this group of about 15 who would stay ahead for the remainder of the race. This group included Marcotte, Pip, Shmidt, Alex Candelario (Team Optum p/b Kelly Benefits Strategies), Cody O’Reilly (Team Optum p/b Kelly Benefits Strategies), Tyler Wren, (Jamis/Sutter Home), Mike Chauner (Pure Energy Cycling-ProAirHFA), Robin Carpenter (Chipolte/First Solar Devo) and Steve Fisher (Hagens Berman), Gabe Varela (Hagens Berman), Wes Klein (, Pierrick Naud ( This group was able to slowly build their lead on the rest of the peloton from 15 seconds to 24, and then to 40 seconds until they were away for good.

With eight laps to go Steve Fisher attacked and was able maintain a solo break for a few laps as he attempted to gas the field setting up his teammate Gabe Varela for the finish. Fisher was caught with six to go. With three to go a six man break of Shmidt, Fisher, Marcotte, Naud, O’Reilly and Carpenter were able to build a 13-second lead. But this group was caught with one lap to go and it would all come down to the last lap and a sprint finish. Pipp turned it on with about 100 meters to go but it may have been too soon as Marcotte, the former US Masters National Champion, was able to catch him with 50 meters and pulled past him for the victory.


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Eric Marcotte (USA) Elbowz Racing  
2Frank Pipp (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling Team  
3Alexey Shmidt (Rus) Team Type 1 Devo  
4Cody O'Reilly (USA) Team Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies  
5Gabe Varela (USA) Hagens Berman  
6Robin Carpenter (USA)  
7Tyler Wren (USA) Jamis/Sutter Home  
8Diego Milan (Spa) Firefighters Racing p/b ADVOCAR  
9Mike Chauner (USA) Pure Energy Cycling-ProAirHFA  
10Pierrick Naud (Can)  
11Shane Kline (USA) Team SmartStop / Mountain Khaki  
12Bruno Langlois (Can) Garneau-Quebecor  
13Steve Fisher (USA) Hagens Berman  
14Coulton Hartrich (USA) Firefighters Racing p/b ADVOCAR  
15Alex Candelario (USA) Team Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies  
16Adam Farabaugh (USA)  
17Clay Murfet (Aus) Team SmartStop / Mountain Khaki  
18Mark Langlands (NZl) Garneau-Quebecor  
19Thomas Brown (USA) Team SmartStop / Mountain Khaki  
20Andrew Mccullough (USA) / Cannondale  
21Zachary Bergh (USA) Astellas Oncology Cycling Team  
22Daniel Holt (USA) Team Type 1 Devo  
23David Fleischhauer (USA) Hagens Berman  
24Ian Crane (USA) Hagens Berman  
25Roman Kilun (USA) Kenda / 5-Hour Energy  
26Tim Mitchell (USA) CCB Racing  
27Ricky Gargiulo (USA) Champion Systems p/b Stan's NoTubes  
28Max Korus (USA) Kenda / 5-Hour Energy  
29Nicholas Rogers (USA)  
30Jacob Rytlewski (USA) Astellas Oncology Cycling Team  
31Mat Stephens (USA) Elbowz Racing  
32Carter Jones (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling Team  
33Andrew Seitz (USA) Team Panther p/b Competitive Cyclist  
34Anthony Hall (USA) Champion Systems p/b Stan's NoTubesubes  
35Neil Bezdek (USA) Team SmartStop / Mountain Khaki  
36Paul Martin (USA) Team Panther p/b Competitive Cyclist  
37Nick Frey (USA) Pure Energy Cycling-ProAirHFA  
38Ben Fredrick (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategiesrategies / Late  
39Glen Rendall (Can) Ride with Rendall  
40Christian Parrett (USA) Firefighters Racing p/b ADVOCAR  
41Jackie Simes (USA) Jamis/Sutter Home  
42Adam Carr (USA)  
43Christopher Baldwin (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling Team  
44Kirk Albers (USA) Team Panther p/b Competitive Cyclist  
45Augusto Sanchez (Dom) G.S. Mengoni  
46Rob Britton (Can) Garneau-Quebecor  
47Andrew Bajadali (USA) Team Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies  
48Allan Rego (USA) Champion Systems p/b Stan's NoTubes  
49Andrea Ciacchini (Ita) Team Type 1 Devo  
50Zack Noonan (USA) / Cannondale  
51Eric Workowski (USA) Pure Energy Cycling-ProAirHFA  
52Marsh Cooper (Can) Team Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies  
53Jon Hornbeck (USA) Hagens Berman  
54Brandon Feehery (USA) Astellas Oncology Cycling Team  
55Brett Kielick (USA)  
56Eugene Boronow (USA) G.S. Mengoni  
57Anton Varabei (Can) XO Communications p/b Cisco  
58Chris Wingfield (USA) Hagens Berman  
59Jon D'Alba (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategiesrategies / Late  
60Barry Miller (USA) Pure Energy Cycling-ProAirHFA  
61Aaron Fillion (Can) Ride with Rendall  
62Emile Jean (Can)  
63Paolo Cravanzola (Ita) Team Type 1 Devo  
64Branden Russell (USA) Team Type 1 Devo  
65Kyle Wamsley (USA) Jamis/Sutter Home  
66Thomas Raeymaekers (Bel) Team Type 1 Devo  
67Cesar Marte (Dom) G.S. Mengoni  
68James Schuman (USA) Firefighters Racing p/b ADVOCAR  
Back to top