Julien Absalon wins 33rd career World Cup in Vallnord

Victory sees Frenchman seal overall title for seventh time

Julien Absalon (BMC) came back from a disappointing Olympics to win his 33rd World Cup and take the seventh World Cup overall title of his career on Sunday, at the World Cup final in Andorra.

Riders faced vastly different conditions than the ones they had trained on, when heavy rain overnight made the rocks and roots very slippery. The altitude, at over 1800 metres, also proved to be a significant factor, with many riders hitting the wall after a fast start.

Carlos Coloma (MMR Factory) led out of the start loop, but was soon supplanted by Ondrej Cink (Multivan Merida), closely followed by Absalon and Olympic champion Nino Schurter (Scott Odlo). Absalon and Schurter made their way up to Cink by the fourth lap, but Schurter suffered a slow leak and was dropped when Absalon attacked. By the end of the fifth lap Absalon had 17 seconds on Cink, and increased that to 43 seconds by the finish line. Pablo Rodriguez (MMR Factory) took third in a sprint with Maxime Marotte (BH-SR Suntour-KMC).

"After the Olympics I was really disappointed," said Absalon, "so the first goal was to win the overall and then the race today. My legs were perfect, and I was really motivated to do a good race, so the plan was to stay with Nino at the beginning of the race and after to attack him at the end. The fast pace at the start was a surprise, because here you don't want to go over the limit, because it is really high [altitude], but I was always in a good rhythm."

Absalon finishes the season with 1310 points and three World Cup victories. Schurter, despite missing one round, finishes second with three victories also, and 980 points. Marotte is third with 948 points. 

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Julien Absalon (Fra) BMC Mountainbike Racing Team1:26:08 
2Ondrej Cink (Cze) Multivan Merida Biking Team0:00:43 
3Pablo Rodriguez Guede (Spa) MMR Factory Racing Team0:00:55 
4Maxime Marotte (Fra) BH-SR Suntour-KMC  
5Stephane Tempier (Fra) Bianchi Countervail0:01:04 
6Martin Fanger (Swi) BMC Mountainbike Racing Team0:01:16 
7Manuel Fumic (Ger) Cannondale Factory Racing XC0:01:30 
8Marco Aurelio Fontana (Ita) Cannondale Factory Racing XC0:01:48 
9Thomas Litscher (Swi) Multivan Merida Biking Team0:02:02 
10Jordan Sarrou (Fra) BH-SR Suntour-KMC0:02:18 
11Lukas Fluckiger (Swi) BMC Mountainbike Racing Team0:02:26 
12Jose Antonio Hermida Ramos (Spa) Multivan Merida Biking Team0:02:35 
13Nino Schurter (Swi) Scott-Odlo MTB Racing Team  
14Mathias Fluckiger (Swi) Stöckli Pro Team0:02:45 
15Florian Vogel (Swi) Focus XC Team0:02:52 
16Fabian Giger (Swi) Kross Racing Team0:02:54 
17Anton Sintsov (Rus) JBG - 2 Professional MTB Team0:02:56 
18David Valero Serrano (Spa) MMR Factory Racing Team0:02:57 
19Reto Indergand (Swi) BMC Mountainbike Racing Team0:03:11 
20Daniel McConnell (Aus) Trek Factory Racing XC0:03:28 
21Matthias Stirnemann (Swi) Moebel Maerki MTB Pro Team0:03:33 
22Carlos Coloma Nicolas (Spa) MMR Factory Racing Team0:03:35 
23Hugo Drechou (Fra) Calvisson VTT0:04:09 
24Victor Koretzky (Fra) BH-SR Suntour-KMC0:04:20 
25Jan Skarnitzl (Cze) SRAM Mitas Trek0:04:36 
26Luca Braidot (Ita)0:04:54 
27Ruben Scheire (Bel) Habitat Mountainbike Team0:05:05 
28Andrea Tiberi (Ita) FRM Factory Racing Team  
29Gerhard Kerschbaumer (Ita) Bianchi Countervail0:05:12 
30Jens Schuermans (Bel) Versluys Team0:05:29 
31Didier Bats (Bel)0:05:38 
32Miguel Martinez (Fra)0:05:50 
33Karl Markt (Aut) Haibike Oetztal Pro Team0:05:55 
34Kohei Yamamoto (Jpn) Trek Factory Racing XC0:05:59 
35Markus Schulte-Luenzum (Ger) Focus XC Team0:06:28 
36Andras Parti (Hun) Waberer's Evopro MTB Team0:06:39 
37Daniele Braidot (Ita)0:06:57 
38Michiel Van Der Heijden (Ned) Scott-Odlo MTB Racing Team0:07:03 
39Sergio Mantecon Gutierrez (Spa) Trek Factory Racing XC0:07:18 
40Bartlomiej Wawak (Pol) Kross Racing Team0:07:28 
41Gregor Raggl (Aut) Haibike Oetztal Pro Team0:07:43 
42Christian Pfaffle (Ger)0:07:47 
43Shlomi Haimy (Isr) Novus OMX Pro Team0:07:54 
44Florian Chenaux (Swi)0:08:01 
45Martin Gluth (Ger) Novus OMX Pro Team0:08:17 
46Catriel Andres Soto (Arg) MMR Factory Racing Team0:08:37 
47Mario Luis Miranda Costa (Por)0:08:49 
48Bart De Vocht (Bel) Versluys Team0:08:55 
49Nicola Rohrbach (Swi)0:08:57 
50Sebastien Carabin (Bel) Merida Wallonie MTB Team0:09:01 
51Mirko Tabacchi (Ita)0:10:37 
52Emilien Barben (Swi)0:10:54 
53Michael Stunzi (Swi)- 1 lap 
54Fabian Paumann (Swi) Wheeler Pro Team  
55Martin Gujan (Swi) Wheeler Pro Team  
56Daniel Eymann (Swi) Fischer-BMC  
57Andrew L'Esperance (Can)  
58Pierre-Geoffroy Plantet (Fra) Btwin MTB Racing Team  
59Edoardo Bonetto (Ita) Sixs Devinci Pro Team  
60Ivan Diaz (Spa)  
61Ramon Sagues Portabella (Spa)  
62Emil Lindgren (Swe) Serneke Allebike MTB Team  
63Mario Sinues Mico (Spa)- 2 laps 
64Benoit Igoulen (Fra) Look - Beaumes De Venise  
65Zdenek Vobecky (Cze)  
66Simon Gegenheimer (Ger) Rose Vaujany Fueled By Ultrasports  
67Adelino Moll Mut (Spa)  
68Saul Lopez (Spa)  
69Roberto Bou Martin (Spa)  
70Adria Noguera Soldevila (Spa)  
71Fco. Javier Poza Ruiz (Spa)  
72Cristofer Bosque Ruano (Spa)  
73Sakari Lehtinen (Fin)  
74Oriol Domenech (Spa)  
75Guy Diaz Grollier (And)- 3 laps 
76Cristian Garcia (Spa)  
77Emelien Joseph De Poortere (Fra)  
78Grant Ferguson (GBr) CST Superior Brentjens Mountainbike Racing Team  
79Jon Erguin (Spa)  
80Victor Selles (Spa)  
81Albert Masana (Spa)  
82Oscar Ferrer (Spa)- 4 laps 
DNFTom Bell (GBr)  
DNFMartin Loo (Est)  
DNFMarc Stutzmann (Swi)  
DNSDavid Joao Serralheiro Rosa (Por)  
DNSRudi Van Houts (Ned) CST Superior Brentjens Mountainbike Racing Team  
Back to top