Rolfe wins Tour as final stage abandoned

Wild winds force organisers to cancel stage 6

Darren Rolfe claimed the overall title of the 2009 Tour of Geelong after race organisers were forced to abandon the final stage of the race due to gale force winds that buffeted the Geelong area.

The cancellation of stage 6 meant that leaders in the respective competitions remained unchanged after yesterday's criterium held at Eastern Park in Geelong, Queenlander Darren Rolfe (Fly V Australia) taking first place in the GMHBA Tour of Geelong with a total time of 08:20:00:43, 2 minutes ahead of fellow team mate David Kemp, and 2:16 ahead of Tasmanian William Clarke (Praties).

Fly V Australia cleaned up in the jersey stakes, Jonathan Cantwell taking home the Sprint Jersey, 7 points ahead of Charles Howlett (Cycle City). However, Howlett not walking away empty handed, he was awarded the Most Aggressive Rider of the race.

Tour winner Darren Rolfe (Fly V Australia) claimed the King of The Mountain Classification, sweeping the poker dot jersey from Malcolm Rudolph’s (Budget Forklifts) grasp by 2 points.

1 point enabled Jonathan Cantwell to bag the Criterium Jesey yesterday ahead of Dale Scarfe (Mace-Mcdonagh Blake), and Kyle Marwood (Praties).

In a week marred with broken bones and extreme weather conditions but held in some of Victoria’s most spectacular scenic locations, Fly V Australia remained the dominant team, walking away from the Tour with the Teams classification 1:24 clear of Praties and 4:40 clear of Budget Forklifts.

"We have a great team, we have big ambitions and without these races we wouldn’t have anything to do in Australia, every race gets us closer to our ambitions," said David Kemp at the presentation ceremony.

Kemp’s Tour 2nd place sees him gain enough points to overtake Leigh Howard in the overall lead of the Scody Cup.


Final General Classification
1Darren Rolfe (Fly V Australia)8:20:00 
2David Kemp (Fly V Australia)0:02:00 
3William Clarke (Praties)0:02:17 
4Ben Grenda (Praties)0:02:37 
5Jonathan Cantwell (Fly V Australia)0:02:47 
6Malcolm Rudolph (Budget Forklifts)0:02:52 
7Richard Lang (Titans - Race)0:03:04 
8Dylan Newell (Praties)0:03:18 
9Michael England (Budget Forklifts)0:03:45 
10Cameron Jennings (Budget Forklifts)0:03:54 
11Steven Robb (Savings & Loans)0:04:08 
12Dale Scarfe (Mace - Mcdonagh Blake)0:04:14 
13Deon Locke (Prime Estate Buyers Agents)0:04:27 
14Andrew Roe (Savings & Loans)0:04:39 
15Nathan Earle (Praties)0:05:00 
16Jacob Sutherland (Total Rush)0:05:03 
17Eliot Crowther (OEX - Team Enterprise)0:05:05 
18Hayden Brooks (Fly V Australia)0:05:08 
19Silas Fisher (Team 2 XU - ARC)0:05:13 
20Thomas Palmer (City Of Greater Geelong)0:05:24 
21Edward Bissaker (Suzuki - Canberra)0:06:07 
22Ben Dyball (Di Giorgio Wines)0:06:11 
23Gael Bonnace (New Caledonia)0:06:41 
24Glenn Stojanow (Mace - Mcdonagh Blake)0:06:50 
25Thierry Fondere (New Caledonia)0:07:21 
26Thomas Robinson (City Of Greater Geelong)0:07:59 
27Chris Stack (Di Giorgio Wines)0:08:24 
28Jason Rigg (Praties)0:08:29 
29Andrew Ward (OEX - Team Enterprise)0:08:40 
30Jason Spencer (GMHBA)0:08:55 
31Andy Mcnab (City Of Greater Geelong)0:09:22 
32Alexander Ray (City Of Greater Geelong)0:09:26 
33James Herd (Apollo Bicycles)0:09:41 
34Miles Watson (Titans - Race)0:10:01 
35Kevin Maitere (New Caledonia)0:10:09 
36Stuart Morgan (Nemisis - Sea Shepherd)0:10:24 
37Thomas Hanover (OEX - Team Enterprise)0:10:55 
38Peter Ladd (Budget Forklifts)0:11:10 
39David Tozer (Titans - Race)0:11:13 
40Guillaume Pattriti (New Caledonia)0:11:21 
41Chris Steffanoni (GMHBA)0:11:39 
42Daniel Braunsteins (City Of Greater Geelong)0:12:29 
43Peter Smith (Team 2 XU - ARC)0:13:00 
44Nick Aitken (Team 2 XU - ARC)0:13:22 
45Al Dempsey (OEX - Team Enterprise)0:13:41 
46Sam Rutherford (Di Giorgio Wines)0:13:44 
47James Hepburn (Merida Elite Race Team)0:13:59 
48Blair Windsor (Budget Forklifts)0:15:59 
49Jason Costin (Nemisis - Sea Shepherd)0:16:51 
50Stuart Payne (GMHBA)0:20:55 
51Scott Cronly-Dillon (Mace - Mcdonagh Blake)0:21:05 
52Kane Walker (Team 2 XU - ARC)0:23:01 
53Merlin Spranz (Di Giorgio Wines)0:23:52 
54Steven Martin (GMHBA)0:26:40 
55Rhys Gillett (Cycle City)0:27:50 
56Chris Pryor (Fly V Australia)0:30:05 
57Kyle Marwood (Praties)0:34:03 
58Geoff Straub (Mace - Mcdonagh Blake)0:34:30 
59Charles Howlett (Cycle City)0:37:17 
60Mark Hewat (Nemisis - Sea Shepherd)0:45:52 
61Brodie Talbot (Di Giorgio Wines)0:46:58 
62Mitchell Lovelock-Fay (Suzuki - Canberra)0:49:10 
63Timothy Dalgliesh (Merida Elite Race Team)0:58:04 
64Justin Morris (Mace - Mcdonagh Blake)0:59:03 
65Marcus Wettenhall (Berettas Bike Hub)1:00:27 
66Oliver Bodak (Merida Elite Race Team)1:00:53 
67James Fitzgerald (Berettas Bike Hub)1:12:26 
68Daniel Seagar (City Of Greater Geelong)1:15:53 
69Gary Wearmouth (GMHBA)1:17:29 
70William Raisin-Shaw (Berettas Bike Hub)1:21:00 
71Mark Jamesion (Berettas Bike Hub)1:23:42 
72Greg Matheson (Berettas Bike Hub)1:24:43 
73Jules Galli (Di Giorgio Wines)1:25:50 
74David Hampton (Di Giorgio Wines)1:30:13 
Sprint classification
1Jonathan Cantwell (Fly V Australia)31 pts
2Charles Howlett (Cycle City)24 
3Malcolm Rudolph (Budget Forklifts)19 
4Ben Grenda (Praties)16 
5David Kemp (Fly V Australia)15 
6Darren Rolfe (Fly V Australia)11 
7Kyle Marwood (Praties)8 
8Hayden Brooks (Fly V Australia)6 
9Nathan Earle (Praties)6 
10Jacob Sutherland (Total Rush)5 
11Thomas Hanover (OEX - Team Enterprise)5 
12Michael England (Budget Forklifts)5 
13Jason Rigg (Praties)4 
14Daniel Braunsteins (City Of Greater Geelong)4 
15Geoff Straub (Mace - Mcdonagh Blake)4 
16Cameron Jennings (Budget Forklifts)4 
17Dylan Newell (Praties)3 
18Andrew Roe (Savings & Loans)3 
19Chris Pryor (Fly V Australia)2 
20Scott Cronly-Dillon (Mace - Mcdonagh Blake)2 
21William Clarke (Praties)2 
22Blair Windsor (Budget Forklifts)2 
23James Herd (Apollo Bicycles)2 
24Deon Locke (Prime Estate Buyers Agents)1 
25Thierry Fondere (New Caledonia)1 
26Steven Robb (Savings & Loans)1 
27Gael Bonnace (New Caledonia)1 
28Richard Lang (Titans - Race)1 
29Nick Aitken (Team 2 XU - ARC)1 
30Peter Smith (Team 2 XU - ARC)1 
Mountains classification
1Darren Rolfe (Fly V Australia)23 pts
2Malcolm Rudolph (Budget Forklifts)21 
3Nathan Earle (Praties)18 
4David Kemp (Fly V Australia)16 
5Ben Grenda (Praties)13 
6Michael England (Budget Forklifts)10 
7Cameron Jennings (Budget Forklifts)6 
8Richard Lang (Titans - Race)5 
9Peter Smith (Team 2 XU - ARC)5 
10Jonathan Cantwell (Fly V Australia)3 
11Gael Bonnace (New Caledonia)2 
12Kane Walker (Team 2 XU - ARC)2 
13Andy Mcnab (City Of Greater Geelong)1 
14Kyle Marwood (Praties)1 
Criterium classification
1Jonathan Cantwell (Fly V Australia)17 pts
2Dale Scarfe (Mace - Mcdonagh Blake)16 
3Kyle Marwood (Praties)13 
4Thomas Palmer (City Of Greater Geelong)10 
5Kane Walker (Team 2 XU - ARC)9 
6Ben Grenda (Praties)6 
7Darren Rolfe (Fly V Australia)5 
8Thomas Robinson (City Of Greater Geelong)4 
9Miles Watson (Titans - Race)4 
10Richard Lang (Titans - Race)3 
11David Kemp (Fly V Australia)3 
12Daniel Braunsteins (City Of Greater Geelong)2 
13Cameron Jennings (Budget Forklifts)2 
14Steven Robb (Savings & Loans)1 
Most aggressive rider classification
1Charles Howlett (Cycle City)2 pts
2Thomas Hanover (OEX - Team Enterprise)2 
3Ben Grenda (Praties)2 
4Blair Windsor (Budget Forklifts)2 
Team classification
1Fly V Australia25:06:58 
3Budget Forklifts0:04:40 
4City Of Greater Geelong0:08:27 
5Mace - Mcdonagh Blake0:13:36 
6Team 2 XU - ARC0:14:10 
7Titans - Race0:14:19 
8OEX - Team Enterprise0:16:35 
9New Caledonia0:16:57 
10Di Giorgio Wines0:17:15 
12Nemisis - Sea Shepherd1:05:31 
13Merida Elite Race Team2:06:01 
14Berettas Bike Hub2:58:27 


Back to top