Viviani wins Tour of Mumbai

Liquigas -Cannondale sprinter takes race in India

Elia Viviani of Liquigas -Cannondale has won the first stage of the Tour of Mumbai. The Italian outpaced Robbie McEwen (RadioShack) and Tyler Day (Team Bonitas) in the mass sprint after 180 km in the Indian city of Nashik.

It was the second win of the season for the 22-year-old, who last week won the GP Costa degli Etruschi.

“The finale today was not easy,” Viviani said. Only in the last km did RadioShack take charge to set up the sprint, but it was unable to maintain control.”

“I knew that McEwen was the made to beat and, fearing his explosiveness, I tried to stay on his wheel. With 50 metres to go I took off on the left and 20 metres from the line, I managed to pass him. I won but it was an effort.”

The younger sprinter said this condition is improving with every race, as is his “wealth of experience, which is essential in the sprints. But the best signal is the confidence I send to my teammates. Today they pulled the field for 180 km, believing in my ability. It is a sign of respect which motivates me a lot.”

McEwen was able to come back from a mechanical near the finish to take second place. “I punctured 3km from the finish. I jumped on the bike of (teammate Michal) Kwiatkowski and so I got back.”

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Elia Viviani (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale4:12:27 
2Robbie Mcewen (Aus) Team RadioShack  
3Tyler Day (RSA) Team Bonitas  
4Robert Hunter (RSA) Team RadioShack  
5Ian Wilkinson (GBr) Endura Racing  
6Hossein Nateghi (IRI)  
7Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) Champion System  
8Malcolm Lange (RSA) Team Bonitas  
9Johann Rabie (RSA) Team Bonitas  
10Martijn Verschoor (Ned) Team Type 1 - Sanofi Aventis  
11Jonathan Mcevoy (GBr) Motorpoint  
12Anthony Giacoppo (Aus) Genesys Wealth Advisers  
13Florian Bissinger (Ger) ARBÖ Gebrüder Weiss - Oberndorfer  
14Dmitriy Gruzdev (Kaz)  
15Marcin Bialoblocki (Pol) Motorpoint  
16Andrew Magnier (GBr) Motorpoint  
17Alexey Shmidt (Rus) Team Type 1 - Sanofi Aventis  
18Andrea Grendene (Ita) Team Type 1 - Sanofi Aventis  
19Periklis Ilias (Gre) SP Tableware  
20Christoph Springer (Ger) SP Tableware0:00:05 
21Jason Rigg (Aus) Genesys Wealth Advisers  
22Ian Bibby (GBr) Motorpoint  
23Georgios Karatzios (Gre) SP Tableware  
24Fabio Calabria (Aus) Team Type 1 - Sanofi Aventis  
25Yusuf Abrekov (Uzb)  
26Lars Pria (Rom) ARBÖ Gebrüder Weiss - Oberndorfer  
27Man Chau Wai (HKg) Champion System  
28Abdullojon Akparov (Uzb)  
29Christoph Täubel (Aut) ARBÖ Gebrüder Weiss - Oberndorfer  
30Ablay Shugaipov (Kaz)  
31James Sampson (GBr) Motorpoint  
32Mart Ojavee (Est) Champion System  
33Gabriel Combrinck (RSA) Team Bonitas  
34Guillaume Pont (Fra) SP Tableware  
35Nazar Jumabekov (Kaz)  
36Joris Boillat (Swi) Champion System  
37Magkoyras Neofytos Sakellaridis (Gre) SP Tableware  
38Johannes Jakobus Kachelhoffer (RSA) Team Bonitas  
39Evan Oliphant Endura Racing  
40Mark O'brien (Aus) SP Tableware  
41Saeed Nateghi (IRI) Vali Asr Kerman  
42Alan Marangoni (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale  
43Sam Bewley (NZl) Team RadioShack  
44James Moss (GBr) Endura Racing  
45Mauro Finetto (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale  
46Muradjan Khalmuratov (Uzb)0:01:15 
47Tiziano Dall'antonia (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale  
48Seyed Mostafa Seyed Rezaei Khormizi (IRI) Vali Asr Kerman  
49Kane Walker (Aus) Genesys Wealth Advisers  

Related Articles

Back to top