Gautier concludes an all Breton affair with victory

23-year-old earns first pro win

Cyril Gautier continued Bbox Bouygues Telecom's week of glory by claiming a solo victory at the Route Adélie in Vitré in the west of France. He was following the example of Pierrick Fedrigo, who won a stage and the overall classification at the Criterium International and of Steve Chainel and Sébastien Turgot, who found their way to success at the Three Days of De Panne.

The 23-year-old Gautier celebrated his first pro win during the stage from Trégueux in Brittany. He was the under 23 European champion in 2008 and joined Bbox Bouygues Telecom the year after learning his job in the ranks of the continental team of his region Bretagne-Schuller, of which Laurent Pichon was a promising runner up in Vitré.

The finish proved to be an all-Breton affair as Benoît Vaugrenard from Française des Jeux finished third.

Only French professional teams took part in the Route Adélie alongside some continental teams who got credit for creating the first breakaway of the day with Rostislav Mikhailov (ISD continental), Fredrik Johansson (Sprocket) and Hakan Nilsson (Differdange). They were joined later by Jérémy Galland (Saur-Sojasun), Jussi Veikkanen and Anthony Roux (Française des Jeux), Pierrick Fedrigo (Bbox Bouygues Telecom), Sébastien Minard (Cofidis), David Le Lay (AG2R), Laurent Pichon and Florian Vachon (Bretagne-Schuller).

As soon as this group was caught, Pichon and Minard countered to get away with Vaugrenard, Gautier, Julien Simon (Saur-Sojasun), Vitaliy Popov (ISD continental). Lloyd Mondory (AG2R) was the first to jump across, followed by Jonathan Thiré (BigMat-Auber 93). This group of seven was formed with 50 kilometres to go, and the peloton gave up chasing them.

More than 10,000 people gathered in Vitré for the finish where there was a good chance a Breton would win. In fact, that happened with Gautier escaping solo with 10 kilometres to go.

"It brings a lot of joy," said the young man of his victory after the finish. "This is my first pro win and I get it in Brittany."

"I wasn't scheduled to do this race, but I was a late inclusion on the start list because I was going well at Paris-Nice, and this is close to home. I couldn't expect any better outcome."

Gautier said a special thank to Fedrigo, who paved the way for him. "After his win at the Criterium International, Pierrick was very marked," said Gautier. "He did the job at the beginning of the race (by getting in the break), and I concluded it."

"I've acquired confidence, thanks to the lessons I've learnt from him and Thomas Voeckler," said the winner Gautier.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Cyril Gautier (Fra) Bbox Bouygues Télécom4:58:34 
2Laurent Pichon (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller0:00:38 
3Benoît Vaugrenard (Fra) Française Des Jeux  
4Lloyd Mondory (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
5Julien Simon (Fra) Saur-Sojasun  
6Sébastien Minard (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne0:00:43 
7Jonathan Thire (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 930:02:28 
8Vitaliy Popkov (Ukr) ISD Continental Team0:03:40 
9Anthony Ravard (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:10:45 
10Vytautas Kaupas (Ltu) Continental Team Differdange  
11Jean-Luc Delpech (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller  
12Anthony Delaplace (Fra) Saur-Sojasun  
13Alexander Wetterhall (Swe) Team Sprocket  
14Petr Lechner (Cze) Arbö Ktm - Gebrüder Weiss0:11:16 
15Cédric Pineau (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
16Rémi Pauriol (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne  
17Mikael Cherel (Fra) Française Des Jeux  
18Damien Monier (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne  
19Fabien Bacquet (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93  
20Renaud Dion (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
21Vincent Jerome (Fra) Bbox Bouygues Télécom  
22Denys Karnulin (Ukr) ISD Continental Team  
23Yuriy Krivtsov (Ukr) AG2R La Mondiale  
24Mickaël Larpe (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
25Matthieu Sprick (Fra) Bbox Bouygues Télécom  
26Alexandre Lemair (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
27Maksym Vasyliev (Ukr) ISD Continental Team  
28Nadir Haddou (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93  
29Guillaume Levarlet (Fra) Saur-Sojasun  
30Florian Vachon (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller  
31Romain Lemarchand (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93  
32Jérôme Coppel (Fra) Saur-Sojasun  
33Sébastien Duret (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller  
34Pierre Rolland (Fra) Bbox Bouygues Télécom  
35Sebastien Harbonnier (Fra) Continental Team Differdange  
36Lilian Jegou (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller  
37Jakub Kratochvila (Cze) Arbö Ktm - Gebrüder Weiss  
38Walter Pedraza (Col) SP Tableware  
39Niels Brouzes (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93  
40Anthony Roux (Fra) Française Des Jeux  
41Julien Mazet (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93  
42David Le Lay (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
43Dimitri Champion (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
44Rémi Cusin (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne  
45Gaël Malacarne (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller  
46John Gadret (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
47Christophe Riblon (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
48Stéphane Auge (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne  
49Jean-Marc Marino (Fra) Saur-Sojasun  
50Yannick Talabardon (Fra) Saur-Sojasun  
51Jérémie Galland (Fra) Saur-Sojasun  
52Thibaut Pinot (Fra) Française Des Jeux0:12:38 
53Maxime Mederel (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93  
54Romain Hardy (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller  
55Cyril Bessy (Fra) Saur-Sojasun  
56Jussi Veikkanen (Fin) Française Des Jeux0:12:43 
57Jérémy Roy (Fra) Française Des Jeux  
DNFTimothy Gudsell (NZl) Française Des Jeux  
DNFGianni Meersman (Bel) Française Des Jeux  
DNFFreddy Bichot (Fra) Bbox Bouygues Télécom  
DNFPierrick Fedrigo (Fra) Bbox Bouygues Télécom  
DNFNicolas Vogondy (Fra) Bbox Bouygues Télécom  
DNFMickaël Buffaz (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne  
DNFLeonardo Duque (Col) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne  
DNFDavid Moncoutie (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne  
DNFJohan Lebon (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller  
DNFJocelyn Bar (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNFMatthieu Boulo (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNFMorgan Kneisky (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNFArnaud Molmy (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNFGuillaume Faucon (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93  
DNFDenis Flahaut (Fra) ISD Continental Team  
DNFOleksandr Martynenko (Ukr) ISD Continental Team  
DNFRostislav Mykhaylov (Ukr) ISD Continental Team  
DNFArtem Topchanyk (Ukr) ISD Continental Team  
DNFAlexandre Usov (Blr) ISD Continental Team  
DNFJack Anderson (Aus) Team Sprocket  
DNFNiklas Gustavsson (Swe) Team Sprocket  
DNFChristian Parrett (USA) Team Sprocket  
DNFFredrik Johansson (Swe) Team Sprocket  
DNFRichard Larsen (Swe) Team Sprocket  
DNFToby Horton (GBr) Team Sprocket  
DNFFilip Rudenstam Robin (Swe) Team Sprocket  
DNFRobert Gassmayr (Aut) Arbö Ktm - Gebrüder Weiss  
DNFStefan Pöll (Aut) Arbö Ktm - Gebrüder Weiss  
DNFLars Pria (Rom) Arbö Ktm - Gebrüder Weiss  
DNFMichael Singer (Aut) Arbö Ktm - Gebrüder Weiss  
DNFFrank Dressler (Ger) Continental Team Differdange  
DNFPatrick Gressnich (Lux) Team Differdange  
DNFMorten Knudsen (Den) Continental Team Differdange  
DNFHakan Nilsson (Swe) Continental Team Differdange  
DNFTom Thill (Lux) Team Differdange  
DNFJorge Castiblanco (Col) SP Tableware  
DNFGeorgios Karatzios (Gre) SP Tableware  
DNFAnastasios Kourmpetis (Gre) SP Tableware  
DNFChristoph Springer (Ger) SP Tableware  
DNFJukka Vastaranta (Fin) SP Tableware  
Back to top