Grotts wins comfortably over Kabush at Missoula Pro XCT

Ettinger takes third place

Howards Grotts (Specialized) showed that the future is now during an epic back and forth battle with Geoff Kabush (Scott 3 Rox) and Stephen Ettinger (BMC). The young Coloradan showed he can battle with the bigger and more seasoned men in the Pro XCT circuit with a win in Missoula, Montana.

A group of four riders got away early.  Ettinger got the lead first and was then overtaken by Kabush on the first descent. Grotts stayed with the two riders and was joined by teammate Todd Wells (Specialized), who hung on, but eventually faded in the ensuing laps.

Kabush, Grotts and Ettinger traded blows until the last lap with Kabush making a charge through the start finish area on the final lap. Grotts answered the call with a counterattack and passed the Canadian at the top of the Cripple Creek section of the course. Grotts was able to to keep the space between himself and a charging Kabush. This was the first of what could be many Pro XCT series victories for Grotts.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Howard Grotts (Specialized Factory Racing)1:32:57 
2Geoffrey Kabush (3 Rox Racing)0:00:26 
3Stephen Ettinger (BMC Mountainbike Racing Team)0:02:38 
4Jeremiah Bishop (Team Sho-Air Cannondale)0:04:50 
5Derek Zandstra (Scott-3RoxRacing)0:06:13 
6Todd Wells (Specialized Factory Racing)0:07:04 
7Mitchell Hoke (Kenda/Felt)0:07:44 
8Leandre Bouchard (Equipe Quebec/Cyclone d'Alma/Devinci)0:07:55 
9Spencer Paxson (Kona Factory Team)0:07:58 
10Ryan Trebon (Cannondale)0:09:23 
11Ernie Watenpaugh (TokyoJoes)0:09:43 
12Casey Williams (Whole Athlete / Specialized)0:10:46 
13Russell Finsterwald (Trek Factory Racing)0:11:01 
14Cameron Jette (Scott-3ROXRacing)0:11:19 
15Menso de Jong (Team Clif Bar Cycling)0:11:43 
16Cypress Gorry (Whole Athlete/Specialized)0:11:57 
17Gian Dalle Angelini (Monster Systems Racing)0:12:17 
18Jeremy Martin (Rocky Mountain/Equipe du Quebec)0:12:26 
19Ryan Woodall0:14:06 
20Cody Cupp (Methow Valley Cycling)0:14:17 
21Jacob Albrecht (Whole Athlete / Specialized)0:14:26 
22Joseph maloney (KS Energy Services / Team Wisconsin)0:15:10 
23Samuel Morrison (The Gear Movement Pro Cycling Team)0:15:42 
24Ben Parsons (Sportsman & Ski Haus)0:15:55 
25Colin Cares (Kenda/Felt)0:16:31 
26Alexandre Vialle (Equipe du Quebec)0:16:51 
27Kerry Werner (BMC U23 development MTB team)0:17:18 
28John Curry (Gallatin Alpine Sports/Intrinsik Archite)0:18:38 
29Zachary Valdez (Whole Athlete / Specialized)0:19:09 
30Phil Grove (Team Hammer Nutrition)0:19:38 
31Matt Butterfield (Sportsman & Ski Haus)  
32Toby Meierbachtol (Hellgate Cyclery/Kent Brothers Automotive)  
33Ryan Geiger (Team Winded)  
34Robert McCarty (Bike America Racing Team)  
35Adam Looney  
36Greg Krieger  
37Sean Leader  
38Mathieu Bilodeau (KHS/WAR/Cytomax)  
39Samuel Amberiadis (Onyerleft)  
40Joel Shehan (Sportsman & Ski Haus)  
41David Flaten (US Military Cycling Team Fueled by FRS)  
42Kevin Bradford-Parish (Team NW Sho-Air / Raleigh pb S.E.T. Coac)  
43Craig Wohlschlaeger (Giant Bicycle)  
DNFBenjamin Forbes (Cyclinic Kenmore Cycles)  
DNFTroy Wells (Team Clif Bar Cycling)  
DNSSam Chovan (Mafia Racing)  

Related Articles

Back to top