Plaxton wins Catamount Classic Pro XCT

Wells' third place good enough to clinch series victory

Max Plaxton (Sho-Air/Cannondale) won the Catamount Classic Pro XCT in Vermont on Saturday afternoon. Plaxton finished ahead of Stephen Ettinger (BMC) and Todd Wells (Specialized).

A star-studded field had shown up to battle for the Pro XCT title. Olympian Wells, Jeremiah Bishop (Sho-Air Cannondale) and Ettinger toed the line, each with a shot at top honors.

From the beginning, Ettinger took off and held a strong lead of about 20 seconds for the majority of the race. The US Cross Country National Champion was leading the race with one lap to go, but Plaxton closed the gap to him and won the sprint finish.

The battle within the battle was for third place between two men who wanted the Pro XCT overall title: Wells and Bishop. They, along with Kohei Yamamoto (Specialized), entered the finish chute each with equal chance of taking third. In a masterful demonstration of team tactics, Specialized teammates slingshotted Wells into the bronze position to take the Pro XCT overall win.

Yamamoto finished fourth, ahead of Bishop in fifth.

Both Wells and Bishop had comeback kind of races with Wells having to recover from a mechanical early in the race and Bishop having to recover following a big crash.

Full Results

Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Max Plaxton (Can) Team Sho-Air/Cannondale1:41:47 
2Stephen Ettinger (USA) BMC Mountainbike Racing0:00:07 
3Todd Wells (USA) Specialized Racing0:00:29 
4Kohei Yamamoto (Jpn) Specialized0:00:32 
5Jeremiah Bishop (USA) Sho-Air/Cannondale0:00:39 
6Cameron Jette (Can) Scott - 3 Rox Racing0:01:44 
7Russell Finsterwald (USA) Trek Factory Racing0:01:56 
8Howard Grotts (USA) Specialized Racing0:02:23 
9Kerry Werner (USA) BMC MTB Development Team0:02:38 
10Rotem Ishay (USA) Team Jamis Bikes0:02:57 
11Mitchell Hoke (USA) Kenda Felt0:04:05 
12Ryan Woodall (USA) Top Gear Bicycles0:04:09 
13Cameron Dodge (USA) Scott Mountain Bike Team0:04:13 
14Sebastian Batchelor (GBr) Fluid Fin Race Team0:04:54 
15Nicolas Sessler (Bra) Caloi Elite Team0:05:26 
16Casey Williams (USA) Whole Athlete/Specialized0:05:45 
17William Melone (USA) Riverside Racing0:05:50 
18Mathieu Bélanger-Barrette (Can) Opus\Ogc0:06:43 
19Sepp Kuss (USA) Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory0:07:05 
20Marc-Antoine Nadon (Can) Scott-3Rox Racing0:07:10 
21Dirk Peters (NZl)0:07:17 
22Payson McElveen (USA) Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory0:07:21 
23Tristan Cowie (USA) Mob Pro Mountain Bike Team0:07:34 
24Cole Oberman (USA) Breakaw Aybikes.Com0:08:28 
25Christopher Hamlin (USA) Bicycle Express/Kona Bikes0:09:17 
26Alexandre Vialle (Can) Espresso Sport0:09:46 
27Tom Sampson (USA) Adigga Racing0:10:02 
28Richard Cypress Gorry (USA) Whole Athlete-Specialized0:10:05 
29Robert McCarty (USA) Ag Bicycles0:10:24 
30Zachary Valdez (USA) Whole Athlete/Specialized0:10:32 
31Patrick Chartrand (Can) Les Yables0:10:41 
32Gered Dunne (USA) Mason Racing0:12:49 
33Shawn Milne (USA) Keough Cyclocross0:13:14 
34Gregory Jancaitis (USA) Riverside Racing0:14:23 
35Vincent Lessard (Can) Équipe Brunet0:14:42 
36David Flaten (USA) Us Military Cycling0:14:55 
37Vincent Belhumeur (Can)0:15:15 
38Trevor DeRuise` (USA) Getreal Nutrition/Blu World0:39:25 
39John Burns (USA) Burns Racing0:39:33 
40Noah Tautfest (USA) Bicycle Express\Kona Bikes0:39:41 
41Brendan McCormack (USA)0:39:45 
42Jonathan Cantin (Can) Cvm Subway Sigma0:57:51 
DNFHamish Batchelor (GBr) Fluid Fin Race Team  
DNFMichael Broderick (USA) Kenda/Stan's No Tubes  
DNFJordan Kahlenberg (USA) Giant Mid-Atlantic Off-Road  
DNFMatthew Okeefe (USA) Riverside/Cannondale Racing  
DNFMichael Sampson (USA) Adigga Racing  


Related Articles

Back to top