Pan Am Games: Ubeto Aponte secures gold medal for Venezuela in men's road race

American Marcotte earns silver and Canadian Boivin bronze

The cycling events at the Pan Am Games in Toronto, Canada, concluded Saturday with the men's road races, and Miguel Ubeto of Venezuela was the surprise winner ahead of American Eric Mascotte and Canada's Guillaume Boivin.

The 16.5 kilometre route for the race started on Lakeshore Blvd next to Lake Ontario, heading west and then north into High Park, one of Toronto's largest urban green spaces for the first climb of the lap. It then went south back towards the lake before heading north again for the second climb of the lap, a steep little switchback climb after a sharp descent. From here riders heading east around the top of High Park and back south to the lake, where they rolled past the start-finish on the opposite side of Lakeshore Blvd before a final turn to the finishing straight. The men 10 laps for 165 km.

The men's race started aggressively, with numerous attacks in the opening laps of the ten lap competition. The lone American in the race, Marcotte, was particularly aggressive, and was the first to establish a serious break after getting away on Lap 4. He was joined by riders from Mexico, Chile, Ecuador and Venezuela, but they were brought back by some strong work from Canada's Sean MacKinnon.

However, the attacks kept coming and the bunch was thinning. Canada lost both Remi Pelletier-Roy and MacKinnon, leaving just Boivin and Hugo Houle. After six laps the situation had stabilized somewhat, with Marcotte, Diaz (Mexico) and Navarrette (Ecuador) away. They were 1:10 clear and there seemed to be disorganization in the chase. Canada wasn't doing the work and the Colombians, who had their strong sprinter Gaviria, had not stepped up.

Finally, with two laps to go, Canada sent Houle to the front and Colombia sent Cano, and the gap started to come down. Entering the final lap the leaders still had 35 seconds and the chase was splintering the field. Marcotte attacked his breakaway companions, while Boivin, Miguel Ubeto (Ven) and Mauro Richeze (Arg) dropped the rest of the field and bridged to Marcotte in the final five kilometres.

Ubeto came into the final straight in the lead with Marcotte second wheel and Boivin third. On paper, Boivin was the strongest sprinter in the group, but the Canadian road champion hesitated to start the sprint early into the headwind, and then got boxed in behind Ubeto and Marcotte. Ubeto took the win in a photo finish over Marcotte, with a bitterly disappointed Boivin third.

For Canada it capped the most successful Pan Am Games in cycling history, with a total of 20 medals, including 11 gold.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Miguel Ubeto Aponte (Venezuela)3:46:26 
2Eric Marcotte (United States)  
3Guillaume Boivin (Canada)  
4Mauro Richeze (Argentina)  
5Thiago Duarte Nardin (Brazil)0:00:07 
6Enrique Diaz Cedeño (Venezuela)0:00:08 
7Bayron Guama De La Cruz (Ecudaor)0:00:09 
8Emile Abraham (Trinidad and Tobago)  
9Fernando Gaviria Rendon (Colombia)  
10Diego Milan (Dominican Republic)  
11Xavier Quevedo Chinchilla (Venezuela)  
12Efren Ortega Rivera (Puerto Rico)  
13Joao M. Pereira Gaspar (Brazil)0:00:10 
14Alfredo Ajpacaja Tax (Guatemala)  
15Manuel Rodas Ochoa (Guatemala)  
16Luis Sepulveda (Chile)  
17Juan Magallanes (Mexico)  
18Hugo Houle (Canada)  
19Ignacio Prado (Mexico)0:00:11 
20Patricio Almonacid (Chile)0:00:25 
21Cristopher Mansilla (Chile)0:00:57 
22Jose Aguirre (Mexico)0:01:08 
23Ignacio Sarabia Diaz (Mexico)  
24Jose Ragonessi Guzman (Ecudaor)  
25Segundo Navarrete Navarrete (Ecudaor)0:02:28 
26Cristian Egidio Da Rosa (Brazil)0:04:44 
27Maximiliano Richeze (Argentina)0:05:38 
28William Guzman Rosario (Dominican Republic)  
29Alex Norberto Cano Ardila (Colombia)0:06:57 
30Daniel A. Jaramillo Diez (Colombia)0:08:33 
DNFAlejandro Duran Alejandro (Argentina)  
DNFLaureano Rosas (Argentina)  
DNFYonder Godoy (Venezuela)  
DNFSean Mackinnon (Canada)  
DNFRémi Pelletier-Roy (Canada)  
DNFMurilo Ferraz Affonso (Brazil)  
DNFGonzalo Andrés Garrido Zenteno (Chile)  
DNFDominique Mayho (Bermuda)  
DNFJhonathan De Leon Paz (Guatemala)  
DNFAndre Simon (Antigua and Barbuda)  
DNFAlonso Gamero Zuñiga (Peru)  
DNFRoyner Navarro Calle (Peru)  
DNSJuan Esteban Arango Carvajal (Colombia)  


Related Articles

Back to top