Moseley moves up with downhill win

Briton's victory pushes her to second in World Cup, Jonnier claims overall

The 2009 UCI Mountain Bike World Cup concluded on Sunday in Schladming, Austria, with the downhill. World Cup leader Sabrina Jonnier (Maxxis-Rocky Mountain) had to settle for fourth on the day behind Tracy Moseley (Trek World Racing).

Jonnier had already won the women's title, with six wins in the first seven races, but she was still hoping to close out the season with a seventh victory. Unfortunately for her, Moseley, who won the opening round in April in Pietermaritzburg, was on fire after a relatively poor qualifying run on Friday.

"I've never done well here before," said Moseley. "I always struggle with the length and the steepness, and it was like that all week in training, so I was thinking that the best I would be able to manage was top three. So, this was a real surprise for me. The course had dried up a lot from earlier in the week, but the top sections were still greasy, and there were huge holes in the track from practice; this was the roughest, toughest Schladming I've ever done."

Moseley took the lead from Canadian champion Claire Buchar (Chain Reaction/Intense) with a time of 4:54.73 . Neither the world champion, Emmeline Ragot (Suspension Centre), nor Jonnier could come within five seconds of Moseley's time. The fastest qualifier, Floriane Pugin (Iron Horse-Kenda-Playbiker) came closest, 0.84 seconds back, followed by the French national champion, Cecile Gros (Morzine-Avoriaz 74).

Moseley's win was enough to move her into second overall behind Jonnier, bumping Ragot down to third in the final standings.

Jonnier's knowledge that she had already won the World Cup title certainly helped with her mental state. "I was definitely more relaxed, knowing that it was all decided, but I still wanted to win today. Unfortunately, I just couldn't put it together. I had too many mistakes, a lot of little mistakes."


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Tracy Moseley (GBr) Trek World Racing0:04:54.73 
2Floriane Pugin (Fra) Iron Horse-Kenda-Playbiker0:00:00.84 
3Celine Gros (Fra) Morzine-Avoriaz 740:00:01.79 
4Sabrina Jonnier (Fra) Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain Bicycles0:00:04.98 
5Mio Suemasa (Jpn)0:00:05.14 
6Petra Bernhard (Aut) Ancillotti Doganaccia Racing Team0:00:08.26 
7Emmeline Ragot (Fra) Suspension Center0:00:10.13 
8Claire Buchar (Can) Chain Reaction Cycles/Intense0:00:13.24 
9Miriam Ruchti (Swi) Team Vario Racing0:00:14.45 
10Anita Ager-Wick (Nor)0:00:16.10 
11Anita Molcik (Aut) Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team0:00:19.85 
12Anais Pajot° (Fra) Team Sunn0:00:20.48 
13Katy Curd (GBr)0:00:20.67 
14Harriet Rucknagel (Ger)0:00:23.69 
15Jessica Stone (GBr) 2Stagefactory0:00:37.36 
16Caroline Sax (Fra)0:00:37.58 
17Helen Gaskell (GBr)0:00:40.46 
18Nicole Beege (Ger)0:00:45.12 
19Darian Harvey (USA)0:01:47.65 
DNSFionn Griffiths (GBr) Norco World Team  
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team85 pts
2Santa Cruz Syndicate79 
3Monster Energy / Specialized / Mad Catz68 
4Trek World Racing66 
5Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain Bicycles52 
6Iron Horse-Kenda-Playbiker35 
7Ancillotti Doganaccia Racing Team35 
8Morzine-Avoriaz 7432 
9Scott 1131 
10Solid Aclass Factory Team27 
11Suspension Center24 
12Chain Reaction Cycles/Intense23 
13Team Vario Racing22 
14Subaru Mountain Bike Pro Team22 
15MSC Bikes21 
16GT Bicycles21 
17Team Sunn19 
18Animal Commencal18 
19Kenda Morewood16 
23Lapierre Powered By Saab Salomon1 
Elite women final World Cup standings
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sabrina Jonnier (Fra) Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain Bicycles1767 pts
2Tracy Moseley (GBr) Trek World Racing1355 
3Emmeline Ragot (Fra) Suspension Center1335 
4Floriane Pugin (Fra) Iron Horse-Kenda-Playbiker1114 
5Céline Gros (Fra) Morzine-Avoriaz 741010 
6Mio Suemasa (Jpn)950 
7Myriam Nicole (Fra)607 
8Fionn Griffiths (GBr) Norco World Team532 
9Claire Buchar (Can) Chain Reaction Cycles/Intense510 
10Emilie Siegenthaler (Swi) Scott 11484 
11Melissa Buhl (USA)450 
12Petra Bernhard (Aut) Ancillotti Doganaccia Racing Team308 
13Anita Molcik (Aut) Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team295 
14Micayla Gatto (Can)265 
15Miriam Ruchti (Swi) Team Vario Racing190 
16Joanna Petterson (RSA)180 
17Anais Pajot° (Fra) Team Sunn175 
18Katy Curd (GBr)132 
19Jessica Stone (GBr) 2Stagefactory132 
20Kathleen Pruitt (USA)105 
21Helen Gaskell (GBr)100 
22Harriet Rucknagel (Ger)65 
23Sarah Newman (GBr)60 
24Diana Marggraff (Ecu)60 
25Danice Uyesugi (Can)60 
26Anita Ager-Wick (Nor)55 
27Caroline Sax (Fra)50 
28Anka Martin (RSA)40 
29Darian Harvey (USA)40 
30Helene Valerie Fruhwirth (Aut)35 
31Miranda Miller (Can)30 
32Elisa Canepa (Ita) Iron Horse-Kenda-Playbiker30 
33Rebecca Mcqueen (Can)30 
34Risa Suseanty (Ina)25 
35Victoria Phillips (RSA)20 
36Fanny Lombard° (Fra)20 
37Nicole Beege (Ger)15 
38Amy Laird (NZl)15 
39Antje Kramer (Ger)15 
40Gabrielle Molloy (NZl)15 
41Sophie Borderes (Fra)15 
42Emma Atkinson° (GBr)10 
43Anne Laplante (Can)5 
Team final World Cup standings
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Santa Cruz Syndicate589 pts
2Trek World Racing530 
3Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team440 
4Monster Energy / Specialized / Mad Catz410 
5Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain Bicycles407 
6Scott 11337 
7GT Bicycles307 
8Chain Reaction Cycles/Intense299 
9Iron Horse-Kenda-Playbiker261 
10Suspension Center253 
11Animal Commencal236 
12MS Evil Racing215 
13Morzine-Avoriaz 74208 
14Subaru Mountain Bike Pro Team175 
15Norco World Team157 
16Ancillotti Doganaccia Racing Team128 
18MSC Bikes99 
19Kenda Morewood98 
21Team Vario Racing78 
22Team Sunn75 
23Lapierre Powered By Saab Salomon63 
24Solid Aclass Factory Team56 
25Specialized Team America49 
26Duncan Riffle Racing42 
28Dytech DH12 
29Giant Mountain Bike Team10 
30Ghost A.T.G. Pro Team9 
31XMS-Devinci World Cup Team6 
32Just Reid Race Team4 

Related Articles

Back to top