Jonnier grabs another World Cup win

Pugin stages second from Japan's Suemasa

Sabrina Jonnier (Maxxis-Rocky Mountain) took her sixth consecutive win in the women’s category, at Bromont, Quebec in Canada. Jonnier has now locked up the women’s overall title with one race still remaining.

“I’ve been sick all week and I had no energy,” said Jonnier. “I was really disappointed with my qualifier, it was the worst that I have had. But the weather changes dried the track out and made it more to my liking. Even so, I was really surprised at how fast my time was.”

Junior World Cup leader Anais Pajot (Team Sunn) was the first to go below three minutes and 12 seconds in the women’s race, and took the Nissan Hot Seat. Pajot held the top spot for three riders before being displaced by Anita Molcik (Yeti Fox Shox), who was in turn bumped by American Kathy Pruitt. Pruitt was immediately replaced by Canadian Micayla Gatto (Commencal).

Sabrina Jonnier (Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain Bicycles) has simply been too good this season.

Gatto, lasted through one finisher before she also had to vacate the lead spot for Celine Gros (Morzine-Avoriaz 74). However Jonnier was up only two riders later, after an uncharacteristically slow qualifier that had her seeded fifth. The French rider obliterated the rest of the field, becoming the only rider to clock under three minutes.

Floriane Pugin (Iron Horse-Kenda-Playbiker) took second, while Japan’s Mio Suemasa was third.

1Sabrina Jonnier (Fra) Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain Bicycles0:02:58 
2Floriane Pugin (Fra) Iron Horse-Kenda-Playbiker0:00:03 
3Mio Suemasa (Jpn)0:00:03 
4Tracy Moseley (GBr) Trek World Racing0:00:04 
5Gros Céline (Fra) Morzine-Avoriaz 740:00:06 
6Micayla Gatto (Can)0:00:08 
7Claire Buchar (Can) Chain Reaction Cycles/Intense0:00:08 
8Emmeline Ragot (Fra) Suspension Center0:00:09 
9Emilie Siegenthaler (Swi) Scott 110:00:09 
10Kathleen Pruitt (USA)0:00:11 
11Anita Molcik (Aut) Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team0:00:12 
12Anais Pajot (Fra) Team Sunn0:00:14 
13Fionn Griffiths (GBr) Norco World Team0:00:14 
14Melissa Buhl (USA)0:00:15 
15Danice Uyesugi (Can)0:00:16 
16Petra Bernhard (Aut) Ancillotti Doganaccia Racing Team0:00:17 
17Darian Harvey (USA)0:00:23 
18Amy Laird (NZl)0:00:25 
19Gabrielle Molloy (NZl)0:00:32 
20Anne Laplante (Can)0:00:32 
21Joanna Petterson (RSA)0:00:57 
1Santa Cruz Syndicate86pts
2Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team66 
3Chain Reaction Cycles/Intense56 
4Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain Bicycles54 
5Monster Energy / Specialized / Mad Catz53 
6Trek World Racing50 
7Iron Horse-Kenda-Playbiker46 
8GT Bicycles45 
9Scott 1136 
10Subaru Mountain Bike Pro Team35 
11Animal Commencal30 
12Morzine-Avoriaz 7428 
13Suspension Center26 
14Team Sunn19 
15Norco World Team18 
16MSC Bikes17 
17Specialized Team America15 
18Ancillotti Doganaccia Racing Team15 
20Giant Mountain Bike Team10 
22Solid Aclass Factory Team4 
23Duncan Riffle Racing1 


Back to top