Wagner wins the sprint

Leopard Trek rider beats Ciolek and Degenkolb

Robert Wagner of Leopard Trek is the new German road champion after winning the mass sprint after 208 kilometers. He easily beat Gerald Ciolek (Quick Step) and John Degenkolb (HTC-Highroad).

“I only wantted to do a good race here,” Wagner told Radsport-News.de. “That I ended up being the first over the finish line is as unbelieveable for me as it is for everyone else. In light of the many injuries and crashes that I had the last few months, I am simply overwhelmed that I won here.”

The race covered 13 rounds of a 16km circuit course, and was a hard-fought one. Many riders tried to break out, with Leopard Trek's Jens Voigt being especially active. However, a group of 73 entered the final lap, and a closed field headed into the final kilometer. Wagner opened the sprint, with Ciolek following, and they stayed in those positions as they crossed the finish line.

In the first lap, the trio of little-known riders Dani Westmattelmann (Team Eddy Merckx-Indeland), Yannick Bok (TT Raiko Argon 18) and Kim Lachmann (for you e.V.-Radsport) got away and held on to about a one minte lead. In the sixth lap, Bok dropped out of the group and abandoned the race, and the other two were soon back in the peloton.

The next group to establish itself consisted of Dominic Klemme (Leopard Trek), Nils Plötner (Team Heizomat) and Michael Weicht (LKT Team Brandenburg). They too were unable to hold their one-minute lead. From there, attack followed attack, but the field didn't let anyone get away.

Jens Voigt tried several times to get away, but was ultimately unsuccessful and eventually fell out of the large lead group. The field held together until the end, with Wagner winning ahead of such better-known sprinters as Degenkolb and Andre Greipel (Omega Pharma-Lotto).

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Robert Wagner (Ger) Leopard Trek4:43:23 
2Gerald Ciolek (Ger) Quickstep Cycling Team  
3John Degenkolb (Ger) HTC-Highroad  
4André Greipel (Ger) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
5Roger Kluge (Ger) Skil - Shimano  
6André Schulze (Ger) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
7Marcel Sieberg (Ger) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
8Eric Baumann (Ger) Team Netapp  
9Rüdiger Selig (Ger) Jenaer Rad-Vere  
10Jacob Fiedler (Ger) Team NSP  
11Dirk Müller (Ger) Nutrixxion Sparkasse  
12Steffen Radochla (Ger) Nutrixxion Sparkasse  
13Stefan Schumacher (Ger) Miche - Guerciotti  
14Michael Kurth (Ger) Team Eddy Merckx - Indeland  
15Alexander Krieger (Ger) Team Heizomat  
16Stefan Ganser (Ger) Team Eddy Merckx - Indeland  
17Matthias Friedemann (Ger) Champion System  
18Christoph Pfingsten (Ger) Cyclingteam De Rijke  
19Marcel Meisen (Ger) Team Eddy Merckx - Indeland  
20Jan Oelerich (Ger) TT Raiko Argon 18  
21Andreas Schillinger (Ger) Team Netapp  
22Stefan Schäfer (Ger) LKT Team Brandenburg  
23Danilo Hondo (Ger) Lampre - ISD  
24Robert Retschke (Ger) Team Netapp  
25Alex Schmitt (Ger) Team Eddy-Merck  
26Julian Kern (Ger) Seven Stones  
27Paul Martens (Ger) Rabobank Cycling Team  
28Florian Bissinger (Ger) ARBÖ Gebrüder Weiss - Oberndorfer  
29Markus Fothen (Ger) Team NSP  
30Fließgarten Andreas (Ger) RV Schwalbe Tri  
31Markus Eichler (Ger) Team NSP  
32Christoph Springer (Ger) SP Tableware  
33Tino Meier (Ger) LKT Team Brandenburg  
34Mario Vogt (Ger) Team Heizomat  
35René Weissinger (Ger) Team Vorarlberg  
36Sergej Fuchs (Ger) Nutrixxion Sparkasse  
37Alexander Gottfried (Ger) Team Netapp  
38Florian Salzinger (Ger) Atlas Personal  
39Andreas Keuser (Ger) Team Worldofbike.gr  
40Felix Dehmel (Ger) LKT Team Brandenburg  
41Timon Seubert (Ger) Team Netapp  
42Johannes Fröhlinger (Ger) Skil - Shimano  
43David Rosch (Ger) Atlas Personal  
44Dominik Nerz (Ger) Liquigas-Cannondale  
45Grischa Janorschke (Ger) Nutrixxion Sparkasse  
46Christian Knees (Ger) Sky Procycling0:00:07 
47Nils Plötner (Ger) Team Heizomat0:00:12 
48Andreas Stauff (Ger) Quickstep Cycling Team0:00:21 
49Fabian Wegmann (Ger) Leopard Trek  
50Thomas Koep (Ger) TT Raiko Argon0:00:23 
51Julian Hellmann (Ger) Team Heizomat0:01:20 
52Marcel Kittel (Ger) Skil - Shimano0:01:22 
53Philip Schulz (Ger) Colba - Mercury  
54Oliver Johr (Ger) Seven Stones  
55Michael Schweizer (Ger) Nutrixxion Sparkasse  
56Sébastian Baldauf (Ger) Team NSP  
57Marius Jessenberger (Ger) Team Heizomat  
58Philipp Mamos (Ger) Amore & Vita  
59Bjorn Thurau (Ger) Team NSP  
60André Benoit (Ger) RV Schwalbe Tri  
61Michael Weicht (Ger) LKT Team Brandenburg  
62Benjamin Sydlik (Ger) Nutrixxion Sparkasse  
63Patrick Nuber (Ger) RV Edelweiss Ro  
64Robin Eckmann (Ger) Trek Livestrong U230:04:06 
65Yannick Mayer (Ger) Team NSP  
66Jan Deutschmann (Ger) TT Raiko Argon 18  
67Simon Geschke (Ger) Skil - Shimano0:07:02 
68Tony Martin (Ger) HTC-Highroad0:07:03 
69René Obst (Ger) Team NSP0:07:45 
70Florian Monreal (Ger) Team Eddy Merckx - Indeland0:07:46 
71Fabian Schnaidt (Ger) AC 1892Weinhei  
72Björn Schröder (Ger) Nutrixxion Sparkasse  
73Westmattelmann Dani (Ger) Team Eddy-Merck0:08:52 
74Hümbert Michael (Ger) jun Seven Stones0:08:54 
75Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP - Powerplus0:08:57 
76Mathias Wiele (Ger) RC Kleinmachnow  
77Dominic Klemme (Ger) Leopard Trek0:08:58 
78Peter Clauß (Ger) Jenaer Rad-Vere  
79Martin Gaber (Ger) Union Raiffeisen Radteam Tirol  
80Benning Hans-Joachi (Ger) Seven Stones  
81Vladi Riha (Ger) RRG Bremen e.V.  
DNFSebastian Lang (Ger) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
DNFBert Grabsch (Ger) HTC-Highroad  
DNFPatrick Gretsch (Ger) HTC-Highroad  
DNFJens Voigt (Ger) Leopard Trek  
DNFMichael Schwarzmann (Ger) Team Netapp  
DNFJannick Geisler (Ger) Team Heizomat  
DNFTobias Lergenmüller (Ger) Team Heizomat  
DNFChristian Mager (Ger) Team Heizomat  
DNFFabian Bruno (Ger) Team NSP  
DNFThomas Fothen (Ger)  
DNFMatthias Mortka (Ger) Team NSP  
DNFLucas Schädlich (Ger) Team NSP  
DNFJonas Schmeiser (Ger) Team NSP  
DNFBrian Takacs (Ger)  
DNFTino Thömel (Ger)  
DNFMax Stahr (Ger) Nutrixxion Sparkasse  
DNFSebastian Forke (Ger) Nutrixxion Sparkasse  
DNFSebastian Körber (Ger) Nutrixxion Sparkasse  
DNFErik Mohs (Ger) Nutrixxion Sparkasse  
DNFYannick Bok (Ger) TT Raiko Argon 18  
DNFJannick Gnoth (Ger) TT Raiko Argon 18  
DNFMarten Klöpping (Ger) TT Raiko Argon 18  
DNFPatrick Oeben (Ger) TT Raiko Argon 18  
DNFMathias Belka (Ger) TT Raiko Argon 18  
DNFAdrian Hense (Ger) TT Raiko Argon 18  
DNFDominik Ivo (Ger) TT Raiko Argon 18  
DNFJan Van Puyvelde (Ger)  
DNFJoachim Tolles (Ger) TT Raiko Argon 18  
DNFChristopher Roth (Ger) Seven Stones  
DNFPaul Voß (Ger)  
DNFMathias Vogl (Ger) Union Raiffeisen Radteam Tirol  
DNFJohannes Heider (Ger) LKT Team Brandenburg  
DNFFelix Rinker (Ger) Atlas Personal  
DNFSchubert Patrick (Ger)  
DNFHolger Burkhardt (Ger) Champion System  
DNFNico Schneider (Ger) Team Differdange - Magic-Sportfood.de  

Related Articles

Back to top