Bruno-Roy overcomes rain, mud, cold for win

A strong Elliot reeled in by Bruno-Roy and Carey

Maureen Bruno-Roy (MM Racing p/b Seven Cycles) won the elite women's race of the first day of the Downeast Cyclo-cross Weekend. She overcame a nagging, persistent rain, deep slick mud and cold temperatures en route the victory.

A bit of chaos in the start left Mo Bruno-Roy and Amanda Carey (Kenda/ chasing from the back. Taking advantage, Natasha Elliott (Garneau/Club Chaussures/Ogilvy), Mary McConneloug (Kenda/Seven Cycles/NoTubes) and Minuteman Road Club riders Andrea Smith and Anna Barensfeld quickly formed a group and opened a gap on the rest of the field.

It appeared that there would be a repeat of the first two rounds of the series in Vermont as Elliott began to ride away from the group. Right at home in the mud, Bruno-Roy fought back to reach the chase group and she, McConneloug, Smith and Carey began to put pressure on Elliott. With some aggressive riding from Bruno-Roy, Smith was dropped from the chase group shortly before they brought back Elliott.

Once the catch was made, there was no stopping the mud-loving Bruno-Roy who came into the last set of sloppy off-camber turns with Carey and Elliott on her wheel. She managed to navigate the corners smoothly and put some space behind her as Carey muscled away from Elliott for second.


Elite women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Maureen Bruno Roy (Mm Racing P/B Seven Cycles)0:32:50 
2Amanda Carey (Kenda/ 
3Natasha Elliott (Garneau-Club Chaussures-Ogilvy)0:00:09 
4Mary McConneloug (Kenda-Seven-Notubes)0:00:31 
5Andrea Smith (Minuteman Road Club)0:02:21 
6Linnea Koons (October Factory Racing)0:02:37 
7Anna Barensfeld (Minuteman Road Club)0:02:46 
8Sara Bresnick-Zocchi ( Landrys Bicycles)0:03:25 
9Ann D'ambruoso (Minuteman Road Club)0:03:29 
10Perri Mertens (Embrocation Cycling Journal / Mad Alchemy)0:03:36 
11Emma Bast (Cycle-Smart / NCC)0:03:54 
12Rebecca Blatt (Us Army/ Central Wheel)  
13Christina Tamilio (Minuteman Road Club)0:05:07 
14Kate Harris (October Factory Racing)0:05:22 
15Karin Holmes (Sunapee S&W)0:05:35 
16Callie Gordon ( 
17Emily Curry (Joe's Garage)0:07:05 
18Allison Snooks (Minuteman Road Club)0:07:57 
19Natalia Gardiol (Cambridge Bicycle / Igleheart Frames)0:09:22 
Cat 3/4 Women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Frances Morrison (Cycle-Smart/NCC)0:33:11 
2Kathleen Monahan0:01:12 
3Hope Strode (Cambridge Bicycles)  
4Erin Brennan (Linscott Real Estate Racing)0:01:28 
5Olivia Harkness0:02:07 
6Sarah Hart (Colby College)0:03:16 
7Stephanie Chase (International Bicycle/Global)0:04:07 
8Lori Kohls (Back Bay Bicycles/ Espresso Royale Caffe)0:04:20 
9Rebecca Lowe0:04:41 
10Leah Pappas-Barnes (Independent Fabrication)0:05:40 
11Rosalou Kimball0:07:46 
12Kerry Combs (Hup United-Zanconato Racing)0:08:43 
13Lauren Tracy (Colby College)0:08:52 
14Margaret Moore0:09:13 
LappedJulie Lockhart (NEBC/Cycle Loft/Devonshire Dental / MCRA)  
LappedCarrie Hansen (Specialized D4W/Bicycle Haus)  
Back to top