Wiasak successfully defends her Australian national criterium title

Roy second, Roseman-Gannon third

Rebecca Wiasak successfully defended her criterium title in the elite/under-23 women's race at the Australian Road National Championships in Ballarat, Victoria, on Friday evening, beating Mitchelton-Scott's Sarah Roy and 20-year-old Ruby Roseman-Gannon in a bunch sprint.

After a relatively gentle start to the 40-lap, 44-kilometre-long race, it was Tibco-SVB's Brodie Chapman who got things moving, opening the floodgates to a flurry of attacks, with Chapman remaining active throughout the race.

Mitchelton-Scott's Amanda Spratt and teammate Roy made regular surges at the front of the race, and they showed themselves to be the strongest team in the race when Roy got across to an attack by Spratt with 14 laps to go, with Peta Mullens (Roxsolt Attaquer) and Matilda Raynolds (Specialized Women's Racing) quick to join them, followed by Raynolds' teammate Ashlee Ankudinoff and defending champion Wiasak.

The break was reeled back in with 11 laps left to race of the 1.1km circuit in central Ballarat, when Chapman again went on the attack, joined by Mullens and Jess Allen (Mitchelton-Scott).

The trio had maintained a small gap with nine laps left, with Spratt bringing the bunch back towards them, causing Allen and Mullens to jump again, and they still had a gap with six laps to go.

Mullens and Spratt continued to stay active as things came back together in the closing laps, but as the bell rang to indicate the final lap, it was all together, and a bunch sprint appeared to be on the cards.

Wiasak led into the final corner, and jumped for the line, holding off the bunch and in fact creating a small gap, winning ahead of Roy and Roseman-Gannon, with Raynolds taking fourth and Trek-Segafredo's Lauratta Hanson rounding out the top five.

"I was a marked rider, but I was thrilled to be able to mark all the moves," Wiasak told SBS after her victory. "It was pretty windy out there, but it worked for me to go early from the last corner and to win the bunch sprint, and take the title for a second year."

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Rebecca Wiasak (Aus)1:11:50 
2Sarah Roy (Aus) Mitchelton Scott0:00:01 
3Ruby Roseman-Gannon (Aus)  
4Matilda Raynolds (Aus) Specialized Women's Racing  
5Lauretta Hanson (Aus) Trek Segafredo  
6Natalie Redmond (Aus)  
7Ashlee Ankudinoff (Aus) Specialized Women's Racing  
8Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Canyon//SRAM Racing  
9Georgia Whitehouse (Aus) Sydney Uni Staminade  
10Emily Watts (Aus) Sydney Uni Staminade  
11Grounds Simone (Aus)  
12Anya Louw (Aus) TIS Womens Racing Team  
13Kirsty Deacon (Aus) KOM Financial Advice Racing Team  
14Annelise Jefferies (Aus) KOM Financial Advice Racing Team  
15Veronica Lebedev (Aus) Gusto StepFWD KOM powered by Suzuki  
16Elizabeth Stannard (Aus) Gusto StepFWD KOM powered by Suzuki0:00:06 
17Amanda Spratt (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott0:00:08 
18Brodie Chapman (Aus) Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank  
19Sarah Gigante (Aus) Roxsolt Attaquer  
20Josie Talbot (Aus) Roxsolt Attaquer  
21Anna Booth (Aus) Sydney Uni Staminade0:00:10 
22Jessica Allen (Aus) Mitchelton Scott0:00:11 
23Taryn Heather (Aus) Specialized Women's Racing0:00:15 
24Holly Harris (Aus) Specialized Women's Racing  
25Emma Viotto (Aus)0:00:18 
26Peta Mullens (Aus) Roxsolt Attaquer0:00:24 
DNFNicola Macdonald (Aus) Gusto StepFWD KOM powered by Suzuki  
DNFJessica Mundy (Aus) Gusto StepFWD KOM powered by Suzuki  
DNFJemma Eastwood (Aus) Gusto StepFWD KOM powered by Suzuki  
DNFElla Bloor (Aus) Specialized Women's Racing  
DNFBriony Mattocks (Aus) Specialized Women's Racing  
DNFJennifer Darmody (Aus) Sydney Uni Staminade  
DNFEmma Chilton (Aus) Roxsolt Attaquer  
DNFNicole Frain (Aus) TIS Womens Racing Team  
DNFBridget Bremner (Aus) Vie13KOM  
DNFMinda Murray (Aus) Rush Women's Team  
DNFJordyn Hassett (Aus)  
DNFKerry Jonker (Aus)  
DNFMaddison Taylor (Aus)  
DNFChloe Heffernan (Aus)  
DNFEloise Vaughan (Aus)  
DNFJessie Sawyer (Aus)  
DNFEmily Mascaro (Aus)  
DNSShannon Malseed (Aus) Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank  

Related Articles

Back to top