Trebon doubles up in Chicago

Powers, Jones again second and third

Unlike Saturday's race where Ryan Trebon (LTS-Felt) dropped his competitors mid-race and soloed to victory, Trebon found himself in a race-long duel with Jeremy Powers (Rapha Focus) which was only decided on the finishing straight. The final result was the same, however, with Trebon sweeping the elite men's races in the Chicago Cyclocross Cup New Year's Resolution weekend. Powers finished second, two seconds behind Trebon, with Powers' teammate Chris Jones again rounding out the podium in third place, 2:11 off the pace.

Trebon had been away from competition for over six weeks recovering from a knee injury prior to arriving in Chicagoland and picking up the dual victories. His re-appearance in top form will add another dimension to the upcoming elite men's 'cross Nationals, to be decided in one week's time in Madison, Wisconsin. Powers won the 2011 Exergy US Gran Prix of Cyclocross series, but Trebon is also enjoying one of the best seasons of his career.

"I'm just happy to be back racing. It's been a lot of training, traveling and trying to get ready, thinking about racing Nationals and getting ready for Europe," said Trebon. "I feel good for next weekend, but there are a lot of fast guys coming. Jeremy is going to get stronger next weekend as well."

The men's field was greeted by deteriorating conditions and a course buffeted by wind gusts of 20-30 mph. The race pits were chaotic as mechanics dealt with frozen components and parts breaking due to the heavy mud.

Powers and Trebon separated themselves from the field and traded attacks through to the race finale. "They should put up a sign that says ‘Ryan Trebon Park'," said Powers. "This is a perfect event for him. He's got a lot of power and he can just throw it down."

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Ryan Trebon (USA) LTS/Felt0:54:02 
2Jeremy Powers (USA) Rapha-Focus0:00:02 
3Christopher Jones (USA) Rapha-Focus0:02:11 
4Brian Matter (USA) Gear Grinder0:02:39 
5Barry Wicks (USA) Kona0:03:22 
6Travis Livermon (USA) SmartStop-Mock Orange Bikes p/b Ridley0:04:17 
7Adam Myerson (USA) SmartStop-Mock Orange Bikes p/b Ridley0:05:05 
8Justin Lindine (USA) / Joe's Garage0:05:31 
9Robert Marion (USA) Carpediem Racing0:05:46 
10Jeffrey Bahnson (USA) Van Dessel Factory Team0:06:16 
11Anthony Clark (USA) J.A.M. Fund / NCC0:06:39 
12Sean Babcock (USA) Kona0:08:28 
13 (-1 lap)Andrew Reardon (USA) Swiftwick Factory Racing p/b Cu  
14Kevin Klug (USA) The Pony Shop  
15Thomas Mackay (USA) Charm City Cycling LLC  
16Michael Hemme (USA) CHICAGO.CX  
17Daniel Miller (USA) Walt's Bike Shop  
18 (-2 laps)Kerry Werner (USA) BMC Mountainbike Development Team  
19Richard Bardwell (USA) Cycle-Smart Inc.  
20Andre Sutton (Can) Hardcore Bikes  
21 (-3 laps)Patrick Blair (USA) Adventures for the Cure  
22Scott McLaughlin (USA) SRAM Factory  
23 (-5 laps)Alex Dayton (USA) SmartStop-Mock Orange Bikes p/b Ridley  
DNFJerome Townsend (USA) SmartStop-Mock Orange Bikes p/b Ridley  
DNFJohn Proppe (USA) Team Lake Effect  
DNFEric Drummer (USA) Alberto's Sport  
DNSDylan McNicholas (USA) Cannondale Cyclocrossworld  
DNSBrian Conant (USA) The Pony Shop  
DNSErik Tonkin (USA) Kona  
Back to top