D'Hoore wins Boels Rentals Ronde van Drenthe

Wiggle Honda rider takes bunch sprint

Belgian champion Jolien D'hoore celebrated her 25th birthday in style with victory at the Ronde van Drenthe. The Wiggle-Honda rider jumped from the wheel of her teammate Chloe Hosking to take the win from Amy Pieters (Liv-Plantur) and Ellen van Dijk (Boels Dolmans).

The Ronde van Drenthe is a tough 138-kilometre race, with three major sections of cobbles and three climbs of the VAMberg, one of the stranger hills in the Netherlands - which gets bigger every few years because it’s man-made out of landfill. It’s always unpredictable, and has been won from solo attack, small group, bunch sprint and everything in between.

It looked like it would be another year for the escape artists, as the cobbles in the middle of the race whittled the bunch down and a large crash took out riders including last week’s Strade Bianche winner, Megan Guarnier. 2014 victor Lizzie Armitstead (Boels Dolmans) signalled her intentions, cresting the final two climbs of the VAM at the front and was leading with only the current World ITT Champion, Velocio-SRAM’s Lisa Brennauer for company following the final ascent, before being caught by a select group of 15 with 28 kilometres to go.

When top Dutch sprinter Kirsten Wild (Hitec Products) punctured and had to wait for a wheel on the narrow lanes, it looked as though the winner would come out of this group, dominated by the big teams: four Wiggle Honda riders (Elisa Longo Borghini, Audrey Cordon, Hosking and D'hoore) three each from Boels Dolmans (Armistead, Ellen van Dijk and recent Le Samyn winner Chantal Blaak) and from Velocio-SRAM (Brennauer, Barbara Guarischi and Cyclingnews diarist Tiffany Cromwell) two Rabo-Liv (Roxane Knetemann and Lucinda Brand), and four solo riders, 2009 winner Emma Johansson (ORICA-AIS), Italian Road champion Elena Cecchini (Lotto-Soudal), 2011 World Cup series winner Annemiek van Vleuten (Bigla) and Liv-Plantur’s Pieters.

Longo Borghini, Blaak, Cromwell and Knetemann escaped, and had gained 25 seconds lead at 10km to go, and it seemed as though the script was set – four Classics riders known for their love of attacks and clever racing, with enough team-mates behind to destroy any chase attempts.

But this is bike racing, and it was so clear that something else was going on. Poker playing among the four leaders, with Longo Borghini clearly working for a team-mate behind, meant that not only were they caught by the chasers shortly into the final 7.9km lap, but they were also brought back by the second group, with Alé Cipollini working furiously on the front, and Hitec powering to bring Wild back for a bunch sprint.

While it looked like the game-playing had lost the big teams the race, it turned out for one team, at least, it was all part of the plan. Hosking used all her power to kick early, with team-mate D'hoore right on her wheel, ready to take over and make the win look easy, with Pieters second, and Van Dijk third.

For D'hoore, the win couldn’t have come on a better day, an extra celebration for her 25th birthday. She credits the step up she took last year, which saw her win stages of the Boels Rental Ladies Tour and the BeNe Ladies Tour, and two Track World Cup golds in the omnium, to finally finishing her university degree and being able to focus full-time on cycling. Already 2015 is looking good, winning the first round of the Lotto Cycling Cup, Omloop van het Hageland, and now the first World Cup, while Wiggle Honda are dominating Drenthe, after Giorgia Bronzini won the opening race here, Drentse 8.

After the final Drenthe race, Novilon Eurocup tomorrow, the World Cup will move to Italy for the Trofeo Alfredo Binda on 29th March, before finishing the Classics portion of the season with the Ronde van Vlaanderen on 5th April, and Flèche Wallonne on 29th.

To subscribe to the Cyclingnews video channel, click here


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jolien D'hoore (Bel) WHT3:33:34 
2Amy Pieters (Ned) TLP  
3Eleonora Van Dijk (Ned) DLT  
4Lucinda Brand (Ned) RBW  
5Chloe Hosking (Aus) WHT  
6Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) VEL  
7Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) DLT0:00:03 
8Emma Johansson (Swe) OGE  
9Marta Tagliaferro (Ita) ALE  
10Barbara Guarischi (Ita) VEL  
11Kirsten Wild (Ned) HPU  
12Romy Kasper (Ger) DLT  
13Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) BCT  
14Elena Cecchini (Ita) LBL  
15Kim De Baat (Ned) LWZ  
16Gracie Elvin (Aus) OGE0:00:10 
17Rossella Ratto (Ita) ISG0:00:15 
18Janneke Ensing (Ned) PHV  
19Anouska Koster (Ned) RBW  
20Roxane Knetemann (Ned) RBW  
21Floortje Mackaij (Ned) TLP  
22Anna Van Der Breggen (Ned) RBW  
23Natalie Van Gogh (Ned) PHV  
24Audrey Cordon (Fra) WHT  
25Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) WHT  
26Chantal Blaak (Ned) DLT  
27Lauren Kitchen (Aus) HPU  
28Susanna Zorzi (Ita) LBL  
29Veronica Cornolti (Ita) SEF  
30Lisa Brennauer (Ger) VEL  
31Kendall Ryan (USA) USA  
32Simona Frapporti (Ita) ALE  
33Iris Slappendel (Ned) BCT  
34Larisa Pankova (Rus) ASA  
35Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) WHT  
36Valentina Scandolara (Ita) OGE  
37Shara Gillow (Aus) RBW  
38Julia Soek (Ned) TLP  
39Mia Radotic (Cro) BTC0:01:05 
40Tatiana Guderzo (Ita) HPU0:01:07 
41Maria Giulia Confalonieri (Ita) ALE0:01:25 
42Coryn Rivera (USA) USA0:01:43 
43Roxane Fournier (Fra) FUT0:01:47 
44Jeanne Korevaar (Ned) NED  
45Willeke Knol (Ned) TLP0:02:47 
46Evy Kuijpers (Ned) LWZ0:05:14 
47Alexis Ryan (USA) USA  
48Eugenia Bujak (Pol) BTC  
49Milda Jankauskaite (Ltu) ASA  
50Marijn De Vries (Ned) PHV  
51Céline Van Severen (Bel) LWZ  
52Kaat Hannes (Bel) VLL  
53Moniek Tenniglo (Ned) RBW  
54Tetiana Riabchenko (Ukr) ISG  
55Olena Demydova (Ukr) ASA  
56Jelena Eric (Srb) BTC  
57Arianna Fidanza (Ita) ALE  
58Kseniia Dobrynina (Rus) ASA  
59Riejanne Markus (Ned) PHV  
60Christine Majerus (Lux) DLT  
61Lieselot Decroix (Bel) LBL  
62Melanie Woering (Ned) TRY  
63Malgorzta Jasinska (Pol) ALE  
64Alena Amialiusik (Blr) VEL  
65Beatrice Bartelloni (Ita) ALE  
66Tatiana Antoshina (Rus) SEF  
67Amanda Spratt (Aus) OGE  
68Chantal Hoffmann (Lux) LBL  
69Heather Fischer (USA) USA  
70Tayler Wiles (USA) VEL  
71Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) OGE  
DNFMegan Guarnier (USA) DLT  
DNFEmilia Fahlin (Swe) WHT  
DNFClaudia Häusler (Ger) TLP  
DNFSara Mustonen (Swe) TLP  
DNFIlona Hoeksma (Ned) PHV  
DNFJip Van Den Bos (Ned) PHV  
DNFLizzie Williams (Aus) OGE  
DNFShelley Olds (USA) BCT  
DNFLotta Lepistö (Fin) BCT  
DNFAshleigh Moolman-Pasio (RSA) BCT  
DNFMiriam Bjørnsrud (Nor) HPU  
DNFEmilie Moberg (Nor) HPU  
DNFJulie Leth (Den) HPU  
DNFLiisi Rist (Est) ISG  
DNFAlice Maria Arzuffi (Ita) ISG  
DNFAnna Trevisi (Ita) ISG  
DNFAizhan Zhaparova (Rus) ASA  
DNFPolona Batagelj (Slo) BTC  
DNFUrsa Pintar (Slo) BTC  
DNFOlena Pavlukhina (Aze) BTC  
DNFAnna Potokina (Rus) SEF  
DNFElena Franchi (Ita) SEF  
DNFSari Saarelainen (Fin) SEF  
DNFMichela Pavin (Ita) SEF  
DNFFien Delbaere (Bel) VLL  
DNFSteffy Van Den Haute (Bel) VLL  
DNFKelly Van Den Steen (Bel) VLL  
DNFGilke Croket (Bel) VLL  
DNFNina Kessler (Ned) LWZ  
DNFMariel Borgerink (Ned) LWZ  
DNFMarissa Otten (Ned) LWZ  
DNFLara Vieceli (Ita) MIC  
DNFNina Gulino (Ita) MIC  
DNFMichela Balducci (Ita) MIC  
DNFAlessandra Lari (Ita) MIC  
DNFEyerusalem Kelil (Eth) MIC  
DNFJessie Daams (Bel) LBL  
DNFCarlee Taylor (Aus) LBL  
DNFLaura Jorgensen (USA) USA  
DNFAmy Charity (USA) USA  
DNFPascale Jeuland (Fra) FUT  
DNFEugénie Duval (Fra) FUT  
DNFSéverine Eraud (Fra) FUT  
DNFHenriette Woering (Ned) TRY  
DNFKelly Markus (Ned) TRY  
DNFCecilie Uttrup Ludwig (Den) TRY  
DNFAmy Hill (GBr) TRY  
DNFCorine Van Der Zijden (Ned) NED  
DNFMarjolein Van 'T Geloof (Ned) NED  
DNFNicky Zijlaard (Ned) NED  
DNFJanine Van Der Meer (Ned) NED  
DNFLotte Van Hoek (Ned) NED  

Related Articles

Back to top