English and King crowned Australian marathon national champions

Fay wins women's race but doesn't get the title due to Irish nationality

Jason English (Merida OnTheGo) and Jenni King (Target Trek) won the 2013 Australian marathon national championships in Atherton, Queensland.


English took out the gruelling 103-kilometre race in a time of five hours, 18 minutes - just over two minutes ahead of 2012 defending champion Andy Blair (Swell-Specialized). Peter Hatton (Giant Racing) rounded out the podium, crossing the line in five hours, 33 minutes.

A five-time solo 24-hour mountain bike world champion, English had the endurance to come from behind to clinch the win.

"Because this race went out to five hours it worked in my favour," English said.

English moved from fifth place to second after two laps of the challenging tropical terrain before taking the lead with just 13 kilometres left to race.

"I knew if Andy didn't slow down he would keep the gap." English said of his second lap feats. "I had to rely on the challenge of the tough climbs to work their magic in my favour."

The green and gold jersey adds to English's solo 24-Hour Australian title won over the Easter long weekend in Canberra.

"Two national titles in three weeks, I feel a bit greedy but I'm stoked," English said.

After leading for the majority of the race, second placed Blair said he gave it everything.

"I wanted to ride my own race - if anyone got across to me I wanted to make them work for it," Blair said. "When Jason reached me, I couldn't hold his pace and he got away from me. I'm really happy with my race today though."


In the women's race, it was Victoria's Jenni King who prevailed to claim the national title ahead of Therese Rhodes (Liv/Giant) and Sarah Riley (Liv/Giant).

King completed the 103-kilometre course in a time of six hours, 45 minutes - 15 minutes ahead of Rhodes and a further 23 minutes to Riley.

"I was just happy to finish, I had heard how tough the course was," King said.

"I wasn't even thinking about the result, but it's a bonus to take the national title," the 2012 Australian Cross Country National Champion said.

2012 defending champion Peta Mullens (Target-Trek) was forced to withdraw midway through the race, leaving the door open for teammate King to claim the Australian jersey.

Irish national Jenny Fay (Swell-Specialised) was the first across the line but unable to claim the Australian National title.

"I rode away into the lead early in the second lap," Fay said. "From there, I raced conservatively but still working on the climbs which are my strength - the course suited me down to the ground, in fact if I could dream of a course this is it."

Fay was disappointed her nationality prevented her from claiming the Australian title.

"It's a bittersweet day given I still have Irish nationality, so I can only claim the race win. I'm looking forward to racing the Irish national marathon champs in September," Fay said.

Full Results

Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jason English5:18:59 
2Andrew Blair0:02:41 
3Peter Hatton0:14:52 
4Michael Crosbie0:17:42 
5Shaun Lewis0:22:01 
6Chris Hanson0:29:49 
7Peter Kutschera0:30:45 
8Edward McDonald0:42:32 
9Graeme Arnott0:48:06 
10Nelson Tilley0:52:04 
11Rohin Adams0:55:10 
12Daniel Rubach0:55:16 
13Chris Fisher1:00:42 
14Dominic Hoyal1:00:51 
15Nigel James1:10:37 
16Mike Blewitt1:14:35 
17Paul Mashford1:18:45 
18Lennon Colclough1:19:49 
19Wayne Dickinson1:21:41 
20Anthony Hoyal1:22:32 
21Liam McCrory1:23:06 
22Jason McAvoy1:30:36 
23John Henderson1:39:06 
24Gavin Scott1:45:48 
25Graham Grant1:45:50 
26Peter Selkrig1:53:16 
27Darren Caruso1:57:10 
28Ben May2:01:34 
29Brian Tracey2:04:50 
30Les Heap2:12:44 
31Jon Standage2:17:48 
32Jake Salmon2:19:23 
33Andrew Janke2:29:02 
34Tim O'Dwyer2:42:39 
35Scott Green2:56:08 
36Warren Pike3:00:52 
37Malcolm Lindsay3:02:35 
38Daniel Matthews3:07:41 
39David Lyons3:15:39 
40Jackson Curtis3:26:48 
41Bradley Wassmuth3:32:03 
-1 LapMichael Mehonoshen  
-1 LapStephen King  
-1 LapNick Verhoeven  
DNFAdrian Jackson  
DNFKyle Ward  
DNFLuke Fetch  
DNFDaniel McDonald  
DNFJeff Rubach  
DNFWayne Evans  
DNFKarl Bull  
DNFScott Emmerson  
DNFRobert Waters  
DNFGarry James  
DNFRoeland Suys  
DNFRay Giddins  
DNFIan Kruger  
DNFMatt Driver  
DNFGavin Taylor  
DNFJason Bray  
DNFAndrew Graham  
DNFPeter Gibson  
DNFRon Whitehead  
DNFAdam Cobain  
DNFBrendan Johnston  
DNFGary Purtell  
DNFJosh Prentice  
DNFJordan Depledge-Smith  
DNFBrendon Skerke  
DNFRaymond Rhodes  
DNFGreg Parr  
DNFAnthony Shippard  
DNFMichael Lentas  
DNFDylan Cooper  
DNFPeter Winfield  
DNFChris Perkins  
DNSMurray Spink  
DNSAndrei Tonello  
DNSBrendan Hills  
Elite women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jenny Fay (Irl)6:37:54 
2Jenni King0:08:03 
3Therese Rhodes0:22:44 
4Sarah Riley0:29:09 
5Jodie Willett0:39:10 
6Naomi Hansen0:44:12 
7Imogen Smith0:49:46 
8Maggie Synge1:08:48 
9Sharon Heap  
10Donna Dall  
11Lauretta Howarth  
12Lesley Sutton  
13Leasie Felderhof  
DNFPeta Mullens  
DNFNienke Oostra  
DNSMeg Carrigan  
Back to top