Van Hummel tops Modolo in Hoogeveen

Blythe takes third in bunch sprint

Brief Report

Kenny Van Hummel (Skil Shimano) took the opening stage of the Ronde Van Drenthe, beating out sprinter Sacha Modolo and second-year-professional Adam Blythe in a close dash to the line. Van Hummel will now wear the leader's jersey going into tomorrow's final stage. No time bonuses are awarded for sprints so the Dutchman will hope to keep the race together and repeat today's effort.

The race was characterised by a breakaway which was away for most of the stage but the sprinter's teams were having none of it and it all came back together within the last few kilometres. Van Hummel's Skil-Shimano team then set up the Dutchman perfectly as he bossed the sprint home.

Tomorrow's stage is a 180.8 km loop around Hoogeveen and the surrounding areas.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Kenny Robert Van Hummel (Ned) Skil - Shimano4:06:53 
2Sacha Modolo (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
3Adam Blythe (GBr) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
4Boy Van Poppel (Ned) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling  
5Kevin Lacombe (Can) Team Spidertech Powered By C10  
6Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) Landbouwkrediet  
7Danilo Napolitano (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
8Jetse Bol (Ned) Rabobank Continental Team  
9Kasper Jebjerg (Den) Glud & Marstrand - LRO  
10David Kopp (Ger) Team Eddy Merckx - Indeland  
11Jesus Rosendo Prado (Spa) Andalucia Caja Granada  
12Markus Eichler (Ger) Team NSP  
13Grischa Janorschke (Ger) Nutrixxion Sparkasse  
14Hilton Clarke (Aus) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling  
15Christoph Pfingsten (Ger) Cyclingteam De Rijke  
16Tom Veelers (Ned) Skil - Shimano  
17Steve Schets (Bel) Donckers Koffie - Jelly Belly  
18Joeri Stallaert (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
19Barry Markus (Ned) Rabobank Continental Team  
20Wesley Kreder (Ned) Rabobank Continental Team  
21Jake Keough (USA) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling  
22Steffen Radochla (Ger) Nutrixxion Sparkasse  
23Ramon Sinkeldam (Ned) Rabobank Continental Team  
24Silvan Dillier (Swi) Team Vorarlberg  
25Kevin Hulsmans (Bel) Donckers Koffie - Jelly Belly  
26Wouter Mol (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team  
27Marco Frapporti (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
28Kurt Hovelynck (Bel) Donckers Koffie - Jelly Belly  
29Luc Hagenaars (Ned) Team Eddy Merckx - Indeland  
30Pablo Lechuga Rodriguez (Spa) Andalucia Caja Granada  
31Bartlomiej Matysiak (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
32Alberto Ongarato (Ita) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team  
33Jasper Bovenhuis (Ned) Rabobank Continental Team  
34Alessandro Donati (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
35David Boucher (Fra) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
36Josef Benetseder (Aut) Team Vorarlberg  
37Jens Debusschere (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
38Bjorn Thurau (Ger) Team NSP  
39Robert Förster (Ger) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling  
40Blazej Janiaczyk (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
41Emmanuel Van Ruitenbeek (Ned) Team Eddy Merckx - Indeland  
42Johim Ariesen (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
43Ermanno Capelli (Ita) Team Vorarlberg  
44Vytautas Kaupas (Ltu) Team Differdange -  
45José Luis Cano (Spa) Andalucia Caja Granada  
46Jose Vicente Toribio Alcolea (Spa) Andalucia Caja Granada  
47Hans Dekkers (Ned) Landbouwkrediet  
48Martijn Keizer (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team  
49Oscar Riesebeek (Ned) Rabobank Continental Team  
50Marco Bos (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
51Jan Bos (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
52Bert De Backer (Bel) Skil - Shimano  
53Ronan Van Zandbeek (Ned) Skil - Shimano  
54Melvin Boskamp (Ned) Rabobank Continental Team  
55Remco Broers (Ned) Team Differdange -  
56Alexander Schmitt (Ger) Team Eddy Merckx - Indeland  
57Christian Poos (Lux) Team Differdange -  
58Jonas Ljungblad (Swe) Team Differdange -  
59Ryan Anderson (Can) Team Spidertech Powered By C10  
60Karl Menzies (Aus) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling  
61Björn Schröder (Ger) Nutrixxion Sparkasse  
62Pim De Beer (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
63Claudio Corioni (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
64Léo Menville (Fra) Team NSP  
65Frank Dressler-Lehnhof (Ger) Team Differdange -  
66Ricardo Van Der Velde (Ned) Donckers Koffie - Jelly Belly  
67Jens Mouris (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team  
68Lieuwe Westra (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team  
69Baptiste Planckaert (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
70Ruggero Marzoli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
71Eloy Ruiz Pinto (Spa) Andalucia Caja Granada  
72Robin Chaigneau (Ned) Skil - Shimano  
73Dylan Van Baarle (Ned) Rabobank Continental Team  
74Olivier Kaisen (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
75Rens Te Stroet (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
76Dominik Hrinkow (Aut) Team Vorarlberg  
77Martin Gilbert (Can) Team Spidertech Powered By C100:00:15 
78Francis De Greef (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
79Michaël Vanderaerden (Bel) Donckers Koffie - Jelly Belly  
80Manuele Caddeo (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
81Remco Te Brake (Ned) Cyclingteam De Rijke  
82Juan Javier Estrada Ruiz (Spa) Andalucia Caja Granada  
83Yannick Mayer (Ger) Team NSP  
84Maxim Belkov (Rus) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team  
85Bart Dockx (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
86James Spragg (GBr) Donckers Koffie - Jelly Belly  
87Daniel Foder (Den) Glud & Marstrand - LRO  
88Hugo Houle (Can) Team Spidertech Powered By C10  
89Daniel Westmattelmann (Ger) Team Eddy Merckx - Indeland  
90Jochen Deweer (Bel) Donckers Koffie - Jelly Belly  
91Florian Monreal (Ger) Team Eddy Merckx - Indeland0:00:20 
92Tomasz Kiendys (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
93René Weissinger (Ger) Team Vorarlberg0:00:22 
94Jeff Vermeulen (Ned) Cyclingteam De Rijke  
95Thomas Vedel Kvist (Den) Glud & Marstrand - LRO  
96Pawel Charucki (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice0:00:42 
97Tomas Smolen (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
98Sebastian Körber (Ger) Nutrixxion Sparkasse  
99Tom Stubbe (Bel) Donckers Koffie - Jelly Belly  
100Rune Van Der Meijden (Ned) Cyclingteam De Rijke  
101Marcel Kittel (Ger) Skil - Shimano0:00:48 
102Francois Parisien (Can) Team Spidertech Powered By C100:00:53 
103Kenny De Haes (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto0:01:52 
104Sander Oostlander (Ned) Cyclingteam De Rijke0:02:11 
105Rick Ottema (Ned) Cyclingteam De Rijke0:02:48 
106Manuel Ortega Ocana (Spa) Andalucia Caja Granada0:02:56 
107Sebastian Forke (Ger) Nutrixxion Sparkasse0:02:58 
108André Schulze (Ger) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
109Stefan Vreugdenhil (Ned) Cyclingteam De Rijke  
110Bas Stamsnijder (Ned) Cyclingteam De Rijke  
111Matthias Bertling (Ger) Team Eddy Merckx - Indeland  
112Omar Lombardi (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
113Stefan Poll (Aut) Team Vorarlberg  
114Adrian Hegyvary (USA) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling  
115Andrew Pinfold (Can) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling  
116Dominik Brändle (Aut) Team Vorarlberg  
117Kevin Peeters (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
118Jonas Schmeiser (Ger) Team NSP  
119Cheng Ji (Chn) Skil - Shimano  
120David Boily (Can) Team Spidertech Powered By C10  
121Patrick Mccarty Jonathan  
122Gediminas Kaupas (Ltu) Team Differdange -  
123Michael Schweizer (Ger) Nutrixxion Sparkasse  
124Martin Reimer (Ger) Skil - Shimano0:03:12 
125Troels Ronning Vinther (Den) Glud & Marstrand - LRO0:03:34 
126Christian Moberg Jörgensen (Den) Glud & Marstrand - LRO  
127Mathias Gade Jacobsen (Den) Glud & Marstrand - LRO  
128Michael Tronborg Kristensen (Den) Team Differdange -  
129Paolo Ciavatta (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
130Thomas Fothen (Ger) Team NSP  
131Francesco Di Paolo (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
132Fabian Bruno (Ger) Team NSP  
133Mark Batty (Can) Team Spidertech Powered By C10  
134Matthias Mortka (Ger) Team NSP  
135Mitchell Huenders (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
136Max Stahr (Ger) Nutrixxion Sparkasse  
137Jasper Hamelink (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels0:04:45 
138Sven Vandousselaere (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
139Cornelius Van Ooijen (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
DNFAngelo Pagani (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
DNFAndrea Pasqualon (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
DNFSylwester Janiszewski (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
DNFJonathan Clarke (Aus) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling  
DNFMichael Kurth (Ger) Team Eddy Merckx - Indeland  
DNFStefan Cohnen (Ned) Team Differdange -  
Back to top