Gippsland gets 70 percent bigger

Record field for Australian race

The fifth Lakes Oil Tour of Gippsland has attracted a record field of 143 cyclists from all Australian states and New Zealand. Tour director John Craven said he was thrilled by the field size, up 70 percent on last year.

“It’s not only the numbers, it’s the quality which will make this tour a great spectacle,” Craven said.

World omnium champion Leigh Howard, Beijing Olympian Jack Bobridge, Melbourne Commonwealth Games gold medallist Sean Finning, Victorian road champion David Pell and top New Zealanders Jeremy Yates and Brett Tivers head the entries.

Geelong’s Leigh Howard, 19, last year went on to triumph in the Scody Cup after winning the Paynesville criterium in the Gippsland tour. He is among the favourites to win the 2009 event.

“I think people sometimes underestimate how hard these events are,” Howard said. “They come back from overseas expecting to dominate and get a lesson. The intensity of the racing is quite incredible and it will be a very tough challenge to win the Tour of Gippsland.”

The five-day tour will start on Wednesday, July 29, with a testing 51km stage from Traralgon to Boolarra.

Start list
1Leigh Howard (VIC) Team Jacyo Ais  
2Jack Bobridge (SA) Team Jacyo Ais  
3Rohan Dennis (SA) Team Jacyo Ais  
4Luke Davison (NSW) Team Jacyo Ais  
5Glenn O’Shea (VIC) Team Jacyo Ais  
6Michael Matthews (ACT) Team Jacyo Ais  
7Adam Semple (WA) Team Jacyo Ais  
8Sean Finning (VIC) Jayco/Vis  
9James Langedyk (VIC) Jayco/Vis  
10Johnathan Lovelock (VIC) Jayco/Vis  
11Michael Gallagher (VIC) Jayco/Vis  
12Eric Sheppard (VIC) Jayco/Vis  
13Alexander Smyth (VIC) Jayco/Vis  
14Trevor Griffiths (VIC) Jayco/Vis  
15Jeremy Yates (NZ) Oex - Team Enterprise  
16Eliot Crowther (NZ) Oex - Team Enterprise  
17Al Dempsey (NZ) Oex - Team Enterprise  
18Thomas Hanover (NZ) Oex - Team Enterprise  
19Brett Tivers (NZ) Oex - Team Enterprise  
20Andrew Ward (NZ) Oex - Team Enterprise  
21David Pell (VIC) Savings And Loans  
22Joel Pearson (NSW) Savings And Loans  
23Timothy Roe (SA) Savings And Loans  
24Steven Robb (VIC) Savings And Loans  
25Michael Stallard (SA) Savings And Loans  
26Jai Crawford (TAS) Savings And Loans  
27William Dickeson (SA) Savings And Loans  
28Hayden Brooks (QLD) Fly V Australia  
29Scott Davis (QLD) Fly V Australia  
30David Kemp (QLD) Fly V Australia  
31Chris Pryor (QLD) Fly V Australia  
32Darren Rolfe (QLD) Fly V Australia  
33Chris Stack (SA) Team Skins  
34Russell Gill (SA) Team Skins  
35Tristan Jones (SA) Team Skins  
36Lucien Keene (SA) Team Skins  
37Matthew Benson (SA) Team Skins  
38Andrew Roe (SA) Team Skins  
39Nathan Earle (TAS) Praties  
40Joshua Chugg (TAS) Praties  
41Jeremy Hills (TAS) Praties  
42Kyle Marwood (VIC) Praties  
43Jason Rigg (WA) Praties  
44William Clarke (TAS) Praties  
45Ben Mather (TAS) Praties  
46Brendan Brooks (NSW) Shortis Cycle & Tri-Avanti Plus  
47Mitchell Pearson (NSW) Shortis Cycle & Tri-Avanti Plus  
48Daniel Barry (NZ) Shortis Cycle & Tri-Avanti Plus  
49Mathew Marshall (NZ) Shortis Cycle & Tri-Avanti Plus  
50Hamish Presbury (NZ) Shortis Cycle & Tri-Avanti Plus  
51Brendan Schultz (VIC) Titans - Race  
52Miles Watson (NZ) Titans - Race  
53James Ibrahim (VIC) Titans - Race  
54Samuel Witmitz (VIC) Titans - Race  
55Richard Lang (VIC) Titans - Race  
56Nathan Elliott (VIC) Titans - Race  
57Charles Howlett (VIC) Cycle City  
58Rhys Gillett (VIC) Cycle City  
59James Mowatt (VIC) Cycle City  
60Jay Bourke (VIC) Cycle City  
61Matthew Clarke (VIC) Cycle City  
62Michael England (NSW) Team Budget Forklifts  
63Cameron Hughes (QLD) Team Budget Forklifts  
64Cameron Jennings (QLD) Team Budget Forklifts  
65Craig McCartney (VIC) Team Budget Forklifts  
66Peter Ladd (VIC) Team Budget Forklifts  
67Cody Stevenson (NSW) Team Budget Forklifts  
68Malcolm Rudolph (QLD) Team Budget Forklifts  
69Stephen Rossendell (TAS) Champion Systems/Cannondale  
70Bradley Norton (VIC) Champion Systems/Cannondale  
71Ben Grieve-Johnson (TAS) Champion Systems/Cannondale  
72Timothy Walker (TAS) Champion Systems/Cannondale  
73Luke Ockerby (TAS) Champion Systems/Cannondale  
74Nick Morgan (TAS) Champion Systems/Cannondale  
75Danny Pulbrook (TAS) Champion Systems/Cannondale  
76Nick Aitken (VIC) Team 2Xu - Arc  
77Silas Fisher (VIC) Team 2Xu - Arc  
78Kane Walker (VIC) Team 2Xu - Arc  
79Peter Smith (VIC) Team 2Xu - Arc  
80Jacob Sutherland (VIC) Total Rush  
81(TBA) () Total Rush  
82Damien Turner (VIC) Total Rush  
83Gary Mueller (VIC) Total Rush  
84Glen Peterson (VIC) Total Rush  
85Michael Knoff (VIC) Total Rush  
86Timothy White (VIC) Total Rush  
87Christopher Klem (QLD) Dm Drafting  
88Joel Lewis (QLD) Dm Drafting  
89Joshua Hislop (QLD) Dm Drafting  
90Sean Turner (QLD) Dm Drafting  
91Steven Rankine (QLD) Dm Drafting  
92Matthew Wood (QLD) Dm Drafting  
93Evan Corry (QLD) Dixon Homes  
94Tobias Boylan (QLD) Dixon Homes  
95Peter Aquilina (QLD) Dixon Homes  
96Ian Johnston (QLD) Dixon Homes  
97Harry Rassie (QLD) Dixon Homes  
98Damian Harris (VIC) Dixon Homes  
99John Cornish (VIC) Prime Estate Buyers Agents  
100Reece Stephens (VIC) Prime Estate Buyers Agents  
101Rob Doyle (VIC) Prime Estate Buyers Agents  
102Deon Locke (QLD) Prime Estate Buyers Agents  
103Peter Braunsteins (VIC) Apollo Bicycles  
104Samuel Beveridge (VIC) Apollo Bicycles  
105James Henry (VIC) Apollo Bicycles  
106James Herd (VIC) Apollo Bicycles  
107Trent Williams (VIC) Apollo Bicycles  
108Thomas Donald (VIC) Search2Retain  
109Hugh Forrest (VIC) Search2Retain  
110Hugh Singleton (VIC) Search2Retain  
111Edward Bissaker (ACT) Suzuki-Canberra  
112Sam Genge (ACT) Suzuki-Canberra  
113Alastair Loutit (ACT) Suzuki-Canberra  
114Mitchell Fay-Lovelock (ACT) Suzuki-Canberra  
115Adam Phelan (ACT) Suzuki-Canberra  
116Marc Williams (ACT) Suzuki-Canberra  
117David Cripps (TAS) Lawson Homes  
118Matt McDonagh (TAS) Lawson Homes  
119Tom Robinson (TAS) Lawson Homes  
120Will Robinson (TAS) Lawson Homes  
121Joel Stearnes (TAS) Lawson Homes  
122Michael Smith (TAS) Lawson Homes  
123Stuart Payne (VIC) Loy Yang Power  
124Stuart Grimsey (VIC) Loy Yang Power  
125Paul Richards (VIC) Loy Yang Power  
126Neil Van Der Ploeg (VIC) Loy Yang Power  
127Scott Liston (VIC) Loy Yang Power  
128Luke Fetch (VIC) Loy Yang Power  
129Ben Dyball (VIC) Lakes Oil  
130Daniel Seagar (NZ) Lakes Oil  
131Kris Johnston (ACT) Lakes Oil  
132David Melville (QLD) Lakes Oil  
133Ben Fleming (QLD) Lakes Oil  
134Andy McNab (NZ) Work Ways  
135Samuel Rix (VIC) Work Ways  
136Peter Johnstone (VIC) Work Ways  
137Tom Benham (TAS) Work Ways  
138Brodie Talbot (NSW) Work Ways  
139Angus Harding (TAS) Work Ways  
140Daniel Braunsteins (VIC) Drapac Porsche  
141Angus Morton (NSW) Drapac Porsche  
142Tom Palmer (ACT) Drapac Porsche  
143Robbie Williams (NSW) Drapac Porsche  


Related Articles

Back to top