BMC last off in Giro d'Italia team time trial

Phinney defends pink jersey

Race leader Taylor Phinney and his BMC squad will be the final starters in Verona on Wednesday as the Giro d’Italia gets back into action after the rest day with the stage 4 team time trial.

The remainder of the starting order is decided by the teams classification, with the lowest placed squad Ag2r-La Mondiale kicking off proceedings at 15:25 local time. Teams set off at three-minute intervals thereafter, with leading squad Garmin-Barracuda the penultimate team down the start ramp at 16:25, before Phinney and BMC set off at 16:28.

In the overall standings, Phinney holds a nine-second lead over Geraint Thomas (Sky) with Alex Rasmussen (Garmin-Barracuda) a further four seconds back in third.

Phinney endured a late scare in the finale of stage 3 when he was brought down by a mass crash in the finishing straight in Horsens, but he is set to continue in the race. The American received three stitches to a wound on his right foot, but x-rays taken in Soave, Italy on Monday night showed that he had broken no bones.

Start order (all times CET)

# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Ag2r - La Mondiale 15:25  
2 Euskaltel - Euskadi 15:28  
3 Androni Giocattoli - Venezuela 15:31  
4 Lampre - ISD 15:34  
5 Lotto Belisol Team 15:37  
6 Colnago - CSF Inox 15:40  
7 FDJ - BigMat 15:43  
8 Farnese Vini-Selle Italia 15:46  
9 Katusha Team 15:49  
10 Movistar Team 15:52  
11 Team Netapp 15:55  
12 Rabobank Cycling Team 15:58  
13 Team Saxo Bank 16:01  
14 Liquigas - Cannondale 16:04  
15 Astana Pro Team 16:07  
16 Omega Pharma - Quickstep 16:10  
17 Vacansoleil - DCM Pro Cycling Team 16:13  
18 Sky Procycling 16:16  
19 Radioshack - Nissan 16:19  
20 Orica - Greenedge 16:22  
21 Garmin - Barracuda 16:25  
22 BMC Racing Team 16:28  


Author: Cycling News

Related Articles

Back to top