TechPowered By

More tech

Australian National Team named for Tour of Qinghai Lake

Cycling News
April 16, 2013, 6:55 BST,
April 16, 2013, 8:07 BST
First Edition Cycling News, Tuesday, April 16, 2013
Tour of Qinghai Lake
Neil Van Der Ploeg was lucky to trim his locks with todays heat.

Neil Van Der Ploeg was lucky to trim his locks with todays heat.

view thumbnail gallery

National Road Series riders get their chance to shine

Cycling Australia today announced the seven-man team that will attend the Tour of Qinghai Lake as part of the Australian National Team. The riders named for the tour which runs from 7-20th July and holds a 2.HC UCI ranking was formed through a special project involving various Institutes, National Road Series and Continental teams.

The riders selected for the demanding 13-stage race will also attend a fully funded training camp prior to departing for China. The camp will be held in Canberra at the Australian Institute for Sport.

The seven riders named for the team are: Cameron Bayly (search2retain-health), Matthew Clark (Charter Mason Drapac Development Team), Jonathan Lovelock (Huon Salmon-Genesys Wealth Advisers), Shaun McCarthy (Team Budget Forklifts), Joshua Prete (Team Budget Forklifts), Neil Van Der Ploeg (search2retain-health) and Stuart Smith (search2retain).

Van Der Ploeg most recently finished second-overall at the Woodside Tour de Perth while his Budget Forklifts squad's collective strength netted second in the team classification.

"Pleased to announce that 3 riders from our team; Neil Van Der Ploeg, Stuart Smith and Cameron Bayly will be representing Australia at the Tour of the Qinghai Lake in China. Good luck!," said the search2retain team on Twitter.

" Congrats to @joshprete @ShaunMcCarthy14 selected in National team for Tour of Qinghai Lake (China)," tweeted Budget Forklifts.


Back to top