Gallery: A Tour of Flanders retrospective

Ronde van Vlaanderen through the years

The Tour of Flanders will celebrate its 99th edition Sunday when the peloton lines up for the start in Bruges. Over those 99 years, only six men have won the event a record three times.

Two of those riders are still competing this season, but Trek Factory Racing's Fabian Cancellara (2010, 2013, 2014) and Etixx-QuickStep's Tom Boonen (2005, 2006, 2012) will sit out this year because of injuries. Their absence leaves the race wide open for a new cast of characters to make their mark on the Ronde.

In anticipation of Sunday's fireworks,Cyclingnews has compiled this gallery of photos from the race's modern era.

Click here to subscribe to the Cyclingnews video channel.

Related Articles

Back to top