Lucinda Brand wins Azencross Loenhout

DENDERMONDE BELGIUM DECEMBER 26 Lucinda Brand Nedand Team Baloise Trek Lions celebrates at finish line as race winner during the 2nd Dendermonde UCI CycloCross Worldcup 2021 Womens Elite CXWorldCup UCIcyclocrossWC on December 26 2021 in Dendermonde Belgium Photo by Luc ClaessenGetty Images
Lucinda Brand (Baloise Trek) has won four races in a row (Image credit: Getty Images)

Lucinda Brand (Baloise Trek Lions) soloed to victory at Azencross Loenhout after distancing Denise Betsema (Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal) on the final lap. The world champion came home 14 seconds clear of Betsema, while Shirin van Anrooij (Baloise Trek Lions) took third at 33 seconds.

Brand, Betsema and Van Anrooij led from the start of the race, with Annemarie Worst (777) battling to stay in contact before dropping back. The world champion took the bell with both Betsema and Van Anrooij for company but she distanced them both on the final lap to claim the win. 

Brand has now finished on the podium of 13 consecutive races, a sequence stretching back to early November, and has won four in a row.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full Results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lucinda Brand (Ned) Baloise Trek Lions 0:46:33
2Denise Betsema (Ned) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 0:00:15
3Shirin van Anrooij (Ned) Baloise Trek Lions 0:00:33
4Annemarie Worst (Ned) 777 0:01:05
5Sanne Cant (Bel) IKO - Crelan 0:01:36
6Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado (Ned) Alpecin - Fenix 0:01:40
7Marion Norbert Riberolle (Bel) Starcasino CX Team 0:01:46
8Yara Kastelijn (Ned) IKO - Crelan 0:02:08
9Hélène Clauzel (Fra) A.S. Bike Crossteam 0:02:22
10Anna Kay (GBr) Starcasino CX Team 0:02:38
11Aniek van Alphen (Ned) 777 0:03:15
12Clara Honsinger (USA) Cannondale/Cyclocrossworld 0:03:28
13Katie Clouse (USA) Cannondale/Cyclocrossworld 0:03:46
14Zoe Backstedt (GBr) 0:03:55
15Harriet Harnden (GBr) Trek Factory Racing CX 0:04:15
16Ellen Van Loy (Bel) 0:04:18
17Anaïs Morichon (Fra) Team Royalbikeshop.Com 0:04:24
18Kristýna Zemanová (Cze) 0:04:34
19Madigan Munro (USA) Trek Factory Racing CX 0:04:43
20Eva Lechner (Ita) 0:04:48
21Lucia Gonzalez Blanco (Spa) Nesta - MMR CX Team 0:04:51
22Marie Schreiber (Lux) Tormans - Circus Cyclo Cross Team 0:05:10
23Josie Nelson (GBr) 0:05:15
24Lise-Marie Henzelin (Swi) 0:05:22
25Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) IKO - Crelan 0:05:32
26Julie De Wilde (Bel) IKO - Crelan 0:05:36
27Millie Couzens (GBr) 0:05:37
28Tereza Kurnická (Svk)
29Laura Verdonschot (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 0:05:44
30Marthe Truyen (Bel) IKO - Crelan 0:05:47
31Jana Dobbelaere (Bel) Starcasino CX Team 0:05:52
32Judith Krahl (Ger) Schamel p/b Kloster Kitchen 0:06:21
33Sidney Mcgill (Can) 0:06:29
34Erica Zaveta (USA) 0:06:37
35Jinse Peeters (Bel) Proximus - Alphamotorhomes - Doltcini CT 0:06:47
36Tereza Vaníčková (Cze) 0:06:48
37Nadja Heigl (Aut) KTM Alchemist Powered by Brenta Brakes 0:06:53
38Caitlin Bernstein (USA) 0:07:02
39Maud Kaptheijns (Ned) CX Team Deschacht-group Hens-containers Maes 0:07:08
40Isa Nomden (Ned) 0:07:09
41Susanne Meistrok (Ned) Proximus - Alphamotorhomes - Doltcini CT
42Loes Sels (Bel) Proximus - Alphamotorhomes - Doltcini CT 0:07:18
43Fauve Bastiaenssen (Bel) BNS Technics - Groep T.O.M 0:07:19
44Anais Grimault (Fra) Team S1 Neo Loudeac 0:07:23
45Sara Cueto Vega (Spa) Unicaja Banco - Gijon 0:07:58
46Meg De Bruyne (Bel) 0:08:14
47Nikola Bajgerová (Cze) 0:08:23
48Lauriane Duraffourg (Fra) A.S. Bike Crossteam 0:08:24
49Lara Defour (Bel) 0:08:25
50Sofia Rodriguez Revert (Spa) Teika - GSport 0:08:51
51Emily Werner (USA) 0:08:57
52Veerle Goossens (Ned) 0:09:26
53Julie Brouwers (Bel) 0:09:33
54Shana Maes (Bel) Tormans - Circus Cyclo Cross Team
55Marlies Vos (Ned)
56Jesse Vandenbulcke (Bel)
57Lydia Pinto Larenjo (Spa) Nesta - MMR CX Team
58Lauren Zoerner (USA)
59Lotta Mansfield (GBr)
60Sterre Vervloet (Bel)
61Bridget Tooley (USA)
62Famke Van Waterschoot (Ned)
63Tessa Zwaenepoel (Bel) Proximus - Alphamotorhomes - Doltcini CT
64Siobhan Kelly (Can)
65Laura Greenhalgh (GBr) VeloRevolution WPcycles
66Lise Van Wunsel (Bel)
67Floor Van Elsacker (Bel)
68Audrey De Keersmaeker (Bel) Starcasino CX Team
69Prisca Jaquet (Swi)
70Rebecca Gross (USA)
71Rosanne Breugelmans (Bel) BNS Technics - Groep T.O.M
72Christiane Bilodeau (Can)
73Corey Coogan Cisek (USA) VeloRevolution WPcycles
74Lies´L Schevenels (Bel)
75Nele De Vos (Bel)
76Tine Rombouts (Bel)
77Sara Beeckmans (Bel)
78Anoek Kuijpers (Ned)
DNFPerrine Clauzel (Fra) A.S. Bike Crossteam
DNFOlivia Onesti (Fra) Starcasino CX Team
DNFSara Bonillo Talens (Spa) Teika - GSport
DNFKatelyn Walcroft (Can)
DNFMaïté Barthels (Lux)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews