Skip to main content

Carroll solos to victory

Katharine Carroll (TIBCO) won the Downers Grove warm-up race in the best way she knows how: Solo. She attacked a late-race breakaway companion with three laps to go and held off the bunch kick ahead of Tina Pic (Colavita-Sutter Home) and Shelly Olds (Proman-Hitsquad).

"I don’t want to stereotype myself but I definitely like going off the front," laughed Carroll at the podium presentation. "It’s a lot easier to sprint out of two or three than a field. I felt like I had decent legs and it was the right timing and good position."

Some 80 women lined up to test their legs on the eve of the US National Criterium Championships. Team Type 1 kicked off the race in an aggressive style sending Samantha Schneider off the front followed by defending national champion Brooke Miller (TIBCO) and Amanda Miller (Lip Smackers).

Melissa Sanborn (Vanderkitten) and Rebecca Larson (Value Act Capital) tried to separate themselves from the field on separate occasions. Kori Seehafer (Team Type 1) was the next to go and ended up on a four-lap flyer that gained nearly 30-seconds.

Carroll initiated her first attack with five laps to go followed by Theresa Cliff-Ryan, a former national criterium champion. The pair worked together and did not contest the lucrative primes offered on the next laps. No organized chase formed however, multiple attempts to bridge across caused the margin between the break and the field to reduce to several hundred metres.

"Katharine is always a dangerous rider," said Pic, who announced recently that she will retire at the end of the 2009 season. "We were kind of using this race as a warm up and it was okay to have a rider up the road because we didn’t want to blow up tonight. It was all right, we tried to cover stuff but we are more geared toward tomorrow. A national championship is always important and we are really going to go for it."

Carroll made her winning move when she attacked Cliff-Ryan with three laps to go. Seehafer along with members of the Colavita-Sutter Home team put forth a strong chase, however, it was not enough to bring the soloist back in time to sprint for the win.

"I saw that I was pulling through a little stronger than Theresa," said Carroll. "I looked back and saw the field coming and that there was a prime coming up. I thought the field would be focused on that as we started getting closer. If there was any opportunity, that was it."

The TIBCO team will be vying for the defense of the US National Criterium Championship, won by Brooke MIller last year. "Our team is so strong that anyone can be up there," said Carroll. "We always want to be optimistic that any of us can win, but I think it would be a mistake for everyone to assume that we are just going to bring it down to a sprint for Brooke."

1Katharine Carroll (Usa) Team TIBCO0:44:00
2Tina Pic (Usa) Colavita Sutter Home p/b Cooki
3Shelley Olds (Usa) PROMAN Hit Squad
4Christina Smith (Usa) Veloforma
5Sinead Miller (Usa)
6Rebecca Lawson (Usa) ValueAct Capital Cycling Team
7Kacey Manderfield (Usa) Team Lip Smacker
8Amanda Miller (Usa) Team Lip Smacker
9Lauren Tamayo (Usa) Team TIBCO
10Erica Allar (Usa) BMW - Bianchi
11Mary-Ellen Ash (Usa) SugarCRM
12Samantha Schneider (Usa) Team Type 1
13Kirsten Davis (Usa) BMW - Bianchi
14Alison Powers (Usa) Team Type 1
15Tiffany Pezzulo (Usa) DFT p/b Treads
16Laura Van Gilder (Usa) Mellow Mushroom
17Tricia Carnila (Usa) Verducci Breakaway Racing Po
18Shontell Gauthier (Usa) Colavita Sutter Home p/b Cooki
19Anna Mcloon (Usa) Altarum Women's Team
20Nichole Wangsgard (Usa) Colavita Sutter Home p/b Cooki
21Leigh Hopkins (Usa) VanderKitten Racing
22Kristin Wentworth (Usa) Team Kenda
23Devon Haskall (Usa) Team BH USA
24Toni Bradshaw (Nzl) Lipsmackers
25Jen Purrell (Usa) Team Hotel San Jose
26Elizabeth Morse Hill (Usa) Hub Racing
27Christy Blakely (Usa) BMW - Bianchi
28Hilary Billington (Usa) Team Lip Smacker
29Amy Mcguire (Usa) Hub Racing
30Kristen Meshberg (Usa) Team BH USA
31Sheba Farrin (Usa) Hub racing
32Jessica Prinner (Usa) ABD
33Theresa Cliff-Ryan (Usa) Verducci Breakaway Racing Po
34Kristen Lasasso (Usa) Mellow Mushroom
35Meredith Miller (Usa) Team TIBCO
36Melissa Sanborn (Usa) VanderKitten Racing
37Stacy Marple (Usa) Colavita Sutter Home p/b Cooki
38Rebecca Wellons (Usa) NEBC/Cycle Loft/Devonshire D
39Lauren Hall (Usa) Absolute Racing
40Starla Teddergreen (Usa) SugarCRM
41Karla Kingsley (Usa) Sugar CRM
42Martina Patella (Usa) ValueAct Capital Cycling Team
43Carrie Cash (Usa) Team Revolution
44Catherine Walberg (Usa) Team Kenda
45Jacquelyn Crowell (Usa) Team Type 1
46Arielle Filiberti (Usa)
47Ashley Anderson (Usa) Proman
48Amber Rais (Usa) Team TIBCO
49Kori Seehafer (Usa) Team Type 1
50Brooke Miller (Usa) Team TIBCO

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Kirsten Frattini is an honours graduate of Kinesiology and Health Science from York University in Toronto, Canada. She has been involved in cycling from the community and grassroots level to professional cycling's WorldTour. She has worked in both print and digital publishing, and started with Cyclingnews as a North American Correspondent in 2006. Moving into a Production Editor's role in 2014, she produces and publishes international race coverage for all men's and women's races including Spring Classics, Grand Tours, World Championships and Olympic Games, and writes and edits news and features. As the Women's Editor at Cyclingnews, Kirsten also coordinates and oversees the global coverage of races, news, features and podcasts about women's professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews