Skip to main content

Olds, Lea and Massie the stars of day two

The 2009 USA Cycling Elite Track National Championships continued at the Home Depot Center velodrome on Thursday with the women's team pursuit national record falling, young stars showing flashes of greatness in the men's team pursuit, an Olympian re-gaining his national title in the kilo and scratch race champions crowned.

As expected the women's team pursuit race turned out to be one of the highlights of the evening's competition as the trio of former pursuit world champion Sarah Hammer, Dotsie Bausch and former junior world championship pursuit medalist Kimberly Geist worked together to set a new national record with a time of 3:34.114.

Riding for the Empower Coaching Systems squad the trio virtually bested their own mark of 3:34.783 set at this event in 2007 when Hammer and Bausch teamed up with keirin world champion Jennie Reed. Another powerhouse women's team, the Proman Hit Squad of Higgins, Christen King and Shelley Olds earned the silver with a time of 3:41.165.

Coming in second with a time of 4:34.094 was the Black Dog Cycling squad of Daniel Lionberg, Ryan Luttrell, Ryan Sabga and Zach Watson.

In addition to her first elite national title, Walker also earned the U23 gold with her ride and third place finisher Colleen Hayduk grabbed silver in the espoir category.


Women's 500m Time Trial
1Cristin Walker00:36.68
2Cari Higgins00:36.93
3Colleen Hayduk00:37.32
4Jen Featheringill00:37.54
5Anna Lang00:37.86
6Dana Feiss00:38.03
7Andrea Fisk00:38.60
8Catherine Fiedler-Cook00:38.85
9CJ Boyenger00:39.09
10Maddie Godby00:39.12
11Amelia Bjesse-Puffin00:39.27
12Tela Crane00:39.30
13Lorraine Jarvis00:39.81
14Heather Vanvalkenburg00:40.13
15Christine D'Ercole00:40.26
16Kimberly Edwards00:40.43
17Dena Eaton00:40.46
18Kara Vidaca00:40.64
19Amara Boursaw00:41.03
20Jane Chateaubriand00:43.16
21Carol Kauder00:44.29

Men's Team Pursuit
Julian Kyer
Ian Moir
Justin Williams
Taylor Phinney
2Black Dog Cycling04:34.09
Daniel Lionberg
Ryan Luttrell
Ryan Sabga
Zach Watson
3Ouch - Maxxis04:34.19
Daniel Harm
Roman Kilun
Bobby Lea
Steve Pelaez
Steven Herzfeld
Andrew Kruse
Mike Zagorski
Danny Finneran
5Kahala La Grange04:41.57
Stuart Press
Aron Gadhia
Mike Garrett
Colin Prensky

Women's Team Pursuit
1Empower Coaching Sys03:34.10
Dotsie Bausch
Kimberly Geist
Sarah Hammer
2Pro-Man Hit Squad03:41.20
Cari Higgins
Christen King
Shelley Olds
3Broadmark Capital03:54.40
Jennifer Triplett
Jennifer Wheeler
Kendi Thomas
4Southbay Wheelmen03:55.80
Kelli Jones
Morgan Kapp
Neva B. Day
5RPM Training03:57.20
Fiedler-Catherine Cook
Kara Vidaca
Cassandra Holman
6She Pedals Magazine04:03.30
Jeanie Bihlmaier
Dena Eaton
Jennifer Reither
Amy Creed
Kate Gracheck
Julia Manley

Women's Scratch Race
1Shelley Olds (Proman Hit Squad)
2Colleen Hayduk (Verducci/Breakaway R)
3Catherine Fiedler-Cook (Tommasini)
4Anna Lang (B&L Bike & Sport)
5Shelby Reynolds (Sugar Cycles - 180)
6Theresa Cliff-Ryan (Verducci/Breakaway R)
7Elizabeth Newell (Veritas Cycling Team)
8Jennifer Triplett (Broadmark Capital Cy)
9Jennifer Wheeler (Broadmark Capital Cy)
10Annette Williams (Blue Rooster Cycling)
11Julia Lafranchise (NOW MS-Society)
12Hanan Alves-Hyde (Proman Hit Squad)
13Neva B. Day (South Bay Wheelmen)
14Cassandra Holman (Tommasini)
15Kendi Thomas (Hagens Berman Cyclin)
16Christen King (Proman Hit Squad)
17Lauren Liscinski (NOW MS-Society)
18Kira Prokopakis (Sugar CRM)
19Jennifer Reither (Vanderkitten Racing)
20Coryn Rivera (Proman Hit Squad)

Men's Scratch Race
1Bobby Lea (OUCH p/b Maxxis)
2Julian Kyer (Trek-LiveSTRONG)
3Daniel Holloway (Felt Holowesko Garmi)
4Jacob Duehring (Felt Factory Team)
5Eric Barlevav (Team Mountain Khakis)
6David Mccook (Village Peddler)
7Danny Heeley (South Bay Wheelmen)
8Lanell Rockmore (Team Alliance)
9Steven Beardsley (Gentle Lovers)
10Kevin Schiller (Team 2)
11Iggy Silva (Iggy Racing)
12Zak Kovalcik (Team Beer)
13Daniel Lionberg (Team Rio Grande)
14Steve Pelaez (GS Lombardi Sports)
15Dan Vogt (Hawk Relay Cycling)
16David Moyer (XXX Racing - Athleti)
17Ian Burnett (Fort Lewis College)
18Jackie Simes (TIME Pro Cycling)
19Mike Garrett (Massachusetts Instit)
20Michael D. Creed (Team Type 1)
21Ryan Sabga (Black Dog Pro Cyclin)
22Kenneth Hanson (Team Type 1)
23Brian Peterson (Webcor/Alto Velo)
24Joe Eldridge (Team Type 1)

Men's 1000m Time Trial
1Giddeon Massie01:02.80
2Taylor Phinney01:04.40
3David Espinoza01:06.10
4Daniel Sullivan01:06.40
5Peter Billington01:06.50
6Tj Mathieson01:07.10
7Allen Vugrincic01:07.60
8Per Bjesse01:08.20
9Joshua Ryan01:08.40
10Colin Prensky01:08.80
11Giovanni Rey01:08.90
12Jon Linchitz01:09.10
13Ryan Crane01:09.30
14Daniel Lionberg01:09.60
15Jay Wolkoff01:09.70
16Mike Garrett01:10.30
17Aron Gadhia01:10.90
18Quinn Hatfield01:11.40
19Stuart Press01:11.50
20Steven Herzfeld01:11.60
21Danny Hiller01:11.70
22Colt Peterson01:12.00
23Phillip Watford01:12.00
24Nathan Frechen01:12.50
25Joseph Patterson01:13.70
26Patrick Jacks01:14.00
27Curtis Bergquist01:14.20


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews