Skip to main content

Bevin wins in Doylestown at Thompson Bucks County Classic

Brilliant course and exciting racing were the ingredients of the day for the 2012 Thompson Bucks County Classic which ended with Patrick Bevin (Bissell Pro Cycling) taking the win, Logan Hutchins (Elbowz Racing) taking second and Rob Britton (Garneau-Quebecor) rounding out the podium.

The day started with a neutral roll out from beautiful New Hope, PA. A hilly and tough course lay ahead of the riders as they made their way to the start of the six inner circuits that included the grueling Carversville climb, the sprint line, and beautiful winding roads complete with two covered bridges.

Action got started early with a group of 17 riders, including United Healthcare's Rory Sutherland who was putting a finishing point on his crowning as the UCI Americas Tours 2012 winner, off the front on the first of six laps. The riders hit the 1st climb at an intense pace with Spanish rider Diego Milan of Firefighters Racing p/b Advocare taking the first points ahead of American Carter Jones from Bissell Pro Cycling, Milan went on to win the KOM jersey in a hard fought battle.

The lead group of 17 riders battled and over several laps dwindled down to just six riders with a 25 second lead over the peloton. The group of six contained two Bissell riders Chris Baldwin and Jeremy Vennell, Benjamin Day from United Healthcare, Alex Candelario of Team Optum, Heath Blackgrove from Elbows Racing and Garneau-Quebecor's Rob Britton. As the breakaway came around a sharp turn and started up a small rise they had Sutherland coming up from the peloton and bringing the race back together.

Quickly a group of five were off the front including Baldwin, Day, and Britton, joined by two New Zealanders Patrick Bevin from Bissell and fellow Kiwi Logan Hutchins of Elbowz Racing. The late move, with only a few miles to go would prove to be the winning one as Baldwin went to the front and drilled it for over a mile to bring the front five to a small rise just before the finish. On the small rise attacks were put in and Baldwin having finished his job was out the back. Coming down the finishing stretch with crowds lining the street, Bevin was the first to the line claiming the Leader's Jersey and was joined on the podium by Hutchins in second and Britton in third, followed by Day and Baldwin.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Patrick Bevin (NZl) Bissell Cycling4:12:31
2Logan Hutchins (NZl) Elbowz Racing0:00:01
3Rob Britton (Can) Garneau-Quebecor
4Benjamin Day (Aus) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team0:00:02
5Heath Blackgrove (USA) Elbowz Racing
6Christopher Baldwin (USA) Bissell Cycling0:00:12
7Diego Milan (Spa) Firefighters Racing p/b ADVOCAR0:01:00
8Eric Marcotte (USA) Elbowz Racing
9Rory Sutherland (Aus) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team0:01:02
10Andrew Bajadali (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies0:01:35
11Jackie Simes (USA) Jamis - Sutter Home0:02:25
12Sebastian Salas (Can) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies0:03:20
13Danny Summerhill (USA) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team0:05:31
14Tyler Wren (USA) Jamis - Sutter Home0:05:38
15Bruno Langlois (Can) Garneau-Quebecor
16Coulton Hartrich (USA) Firefighters Racing p/b ADVOCAR0:05:39
17Adam Farabaugh (USA) - Gaspesien
18Gabe Varela (USA) Hagens Berman0:05:48
19Clay Murfet (Aus) Team Mountain Khakis - Smartshop0:06:22
20Bradley White (USA) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team
21Alex Candelario (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies
22Frank Pipp (USA) Bissell Cycling
23Davide Frattini (Ita) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team0:06:23
24Marsh Cooper (Can) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies
25Jeremy Vennell (NZl) Bissell Cycling0:09:14
26Carter Jones (USA) Bissell Cycling
27James Schuman (USA) Firefighters Racing p/b ADVOCAR0:09:41
28Nick Bax (USA) XO Communications p/b Cisco
29Alexey Shmidt (Rus) Team Type 1 - Devo0:11:08
30Matteo Dal-Cin (Can) Ride with Rendall
31Travis Livermon (USA) Team Mountain Khakis - Smartshop0:11:09
32Blair Berbert (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies / LSV
33Paul Martin (USA) Team Panther p/b Competitive Cyclist
34Aaron Fillion (Can) Ride with Rendall
35Andrew Seitz (USA) Team Panther p/b Competitive Cyclist0:11:12
36Roman Kilun (USA) Kenda - 5-Hour Energy Cycling Team0:11:14
37Ian Crane (USA) Hagens Berman0:14:12
38Steve Fisher (USA) Hagens Berman0:14:14
39Tim Mitchell (USA) CCB Racing
40Pierrick Naud (Can) - Gaspesien0:14:15
41Michael Sheehan (USA) Elbowz Racing
42Bobby Lea (USA) Pure Energy Cycling-ProAirHFA
43Max Korus (USA) Kenda - 5-Hour Energy Cycling Team
44Andrew Mccullough (USA) / Cannondale
45Nick Frey (USA) Pure Energy Cycling-ProAirHFA
46Zack Noonan (USA) / Cannondale0:14:16
47Adam Carr (USA) - Gaspesien
48Antoine Matteau (Can) - Gaspesien
49Jon Hornbeck (USA) Hagens Berman
50Gavriel Epstein (Can) Champion Systems p/b Stan's NoTubes
51Justin Mauch (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies / LSV
52Thomas Raeymaekers (Bel) Team Type 1 - Devo
53Wes Kline (USA) / Cannondale
54Zachary Hughes (Can) Garneau-Quebecor0:14:17
55Keck Baker (USA) XO Communications p/b Cisco
56Jacob Rytlewski (USA) Astellas Oncology Cycling Team
57Chris Wingfield (USA) Hagens Berman
58Daniel Holt (USA) Team Type 1 - Devo
59Shane Kline (USA) Team Mountain Khakis - Smartshop0:14:21
60Jacob Keough (USA) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team0:14:22
61Cody O'Reilly (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies
62Kirk Albers (USA) Team Panther p/b Competitive Cyclist0:14:23
63Mark Langlands (NZl) Garneau-Quebecor
64Charly Vives (Can) Garneau-Quebecor
65Jean Francois Racine (Can) Garneau-Quebecor0:14:24
66Thomas Brown (USA) Team Mountain Khakis - Smartshop
67Christopher Uberti (USA) Team Panther p/b Competitive Cyclist0:14:25
68Neil Bezdek (USA) Team Mountain Khakis - Smartshop
69Ricky Gargiulo (USA) Champion Systems p/b Stan's NoTubes0:14:26
70Anthony Hall (USA) Champion Systems p/b Stan's NoTubes
71Augusto Sanchez (Dom) G.S. Mengoni0:14:27


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1