Gunnewijk sprints to women's win

Loes Gunnewijk (Nederland Bloeit) won the women's World Cup after attacking a lead group that included 12 other riders with one kilometre to go. Gunnewijk's team-mate Annemiek van Vleuten gave Holland two place on the podium, taking second ahead of Italian Giorgia Bronzini (Gauss RDZ Ormu).

Gunnewijk finished runner up at the event last year, giving her confidence heading into today’s race. "That felt like a victory because it ended a period of misfortune at that time. But really, the win is even more beautiful," she said.

The winner attacked when things started to get quiet among the race's leaders, just before the final sprint would have begun. After her attack she was encouraged by her team manager Jeroen Blijlevens.

"He shouted in my ear that I had a gap and had to keep going,” she said. “That I succeeded is a dream come true. I have been, for a number of years, often close to a victory in a World Cup, but now I've got one."

Gunnewijk's teammate Marianne Vos retained her lead in the World Cup standings.

Cervelo Test Team’s Egon van Kessel seemed less than pleased with the race’s outcome, having done much of the work throughout the race. The team’s top rider was Charlotte Becker in fourth place.

“Halfway through the race, in the cobblestone section, we launched a good attack and that tactic resulted in a break of 30 riders with six of our own riders in the break,” said van Kessel. “There was one team with six riders and two teams with four, but what really happened was our team had to do a lot of the work, and the Leontien team had to do a lot of work.

“Finally they all came together with eleven riders in the front including three of our girls Charlotte, Iris and Sarah,” he added. “At the end we lost the race and Loes Gunnewijk from Nederland Bloeit won the race. The team that didn’t do so much work won the race – it can happen.”

The event was a learning experience for the USA’s Team Tibco, with the squad managing to land Brooke Miller in sixth overall. Despite making the winning break’s selection, Miller described it as a challenging day.

“It was a great day for the team, but also a frustrating one as we had more bad luck today,” Miller said. “But everyone raced really well. With each race we’re learning how to race smarter and be in good position. Today gave us a lot of confidence for the next couple races.”

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) Nederland Bloeit3:33:56
2Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Nederland Bloeit0:00:01
3Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Gauss RDZ OrmuRow 2 - Cell 2
4Charlotte Becker (Ger) Cervelo Test TeamRow 3 - Cell 2
5Chantal Blaak (Ned) Leontien.nlRow 4 - Cell 2
6Brooke Miller (USA) TibcoRow 5 - Cell 2
7Adrie Visser (Ned) HTC Columbia WomenRow 6 - Cell 2
8Carla Swart (RSA) MTNRow 7 - Cell 2
9Marie Lindberg (Swe) Redsun Cycling TeamRow 8 - Cell 2
10Iris Slappendel (Ned) Cervelo Test TeamRow 9 - Cell 2
11Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Australian National Team0:00:05
12Sarah Düster (Ger) Cervelo Test TeamRow 11 - Cell 2
13Noemi Cantele (Ita) HTC Columbia Women0:00:07
14Kirsten Wild (Ned) Cervelo Test Team0:01:13
15Marianne Vos (Ned) Nederland BloeitRow 14 - Cell 2
16Rochelle Gilmore (Aus) Lotto Ladies TeamRow 15 - Cell 2
17Nicole Cooke (GBr) British National TeamRow 16 - Cell 2
18Ina Teutenberg (Ger) HTC Columbia WomenRow 17 - Cell 2
19Barbara Guarischi (Ita) S.C. Michela Fanini Record RoxRow 18 - Cell 2
20Emma Johansson (Swe) Redsun Cycling TeamRow 19 - Cell 2
21Eleonora Van Dijk (Ned) HTC Columbia WomenRow 20 - Cell 2
22Monique Van De Ree (Ned) Leontien.nlRow 21 - Cell 2
23Julia Martisova (Rus) Gauss RDZ OrmuRow 22 - Cell 2
24Grace Verbeke (Bel) Lotto Ladies TeamRow 23 - Cell 2
25Giulia Lazzerini (Ita) S.C. Michela Fanini Record RoxRow 24 - Cell 2
26Janneke Kanis (Ned) Nederland BloeitRow 25 - Cell 2
27Regina Bruins (Ned) Cervelo Test TeamRow 26 - Cell 2
28Roxane Knetemann (Ned) Dutch National TeamRow 27 - Cell 2
29Sophie Creux (Fra) Esgl 93 - Gsd GestionRow 28 - Cell 2
30Lucy Martin (GBr) British National TeamRow 29 - Cell 2
31Monia Baccaille (Ita) Team ValdarnoRow 30 - Cell 2
32Sara Mustonen (Swe) Hitec Products UckRow 31 - Cell 2
33Lauren Tamayo (USA) United States National TeamRow 32 - Cell 2
34Irina Molicheva (Rus) Fenixs - PetrogradetsRow 33 - Cell 2
35Gloria Presti (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo - GhezziRow 34 - Cell 2
36Hannah Mayho (GBr) British National TeamRow 35 - Cell 2
37Denise Ramsden (Can) Canadian National TeamRow 36 - Cell 2
38Andrea Bosman (Ned) Leontien.nlRow 37 - Cell 2
39Mascha Pijnenborg (Ned) Redsun Cycling TeamRow 38 - Cell 2
40Lucinda Brand (Ned) Leontien.nlRow 39 - Cell 2
41Kirsty Broun (Aus) Australian National TeamRow 40 - Cell 2
42Karin Aune (Swe) Fenixs - PetrogradetsRow 41 - Cell 2
43Isabelle Söderberg (Swe) Hitec Products UckRow 42 - Cell 2
44Suzanne De Goede (Ned) Nederland BloeitRow 43 - Cell 2
45Emma Mackie (Aus) TibcoRow 44 - Cell 2
46Joanne Kiesanowski (NZl) TibcoRow 45 - Cell 2
47Inge Klep (Ned) Redsun Cycling TeamRow 46 - Cell 2
48Corine Hierckens (Bel) Fenixs - PetrogradetsRow 47 - Cell 2
49Kimberly Anderson (USA) HTC Columbia WomenRow 48 - Cell 2
50Anne De Wildt (Ned) Leontien.nlRow 49 - Cell 2
51Mirjam Melchers-Van Poppel (Ned) Cervelo Test TeamRow 50 - Cell 2
52Martine Bras (Ned) Gauss RDZ OrmuRow 51 - Cell 2
53Marta Vila Josana Andreu (Spa) Team ValdarnoRow 52 - Cell 2
54Amy Pieters (Ned) Dutch National TeamRow 53 - Cell 2
55Anne Arnouts (Bel) Redsun Cycling TeamRow 54 - Cell 2
56Angela Hennig (Ger) Noris CyclingRow 55 - Cell 2
57Trixi Worrack (Ger) Noris CyclingRow 56 - Cell 2
58Alice Marmorini (Ita) S.C. Michela Fanini Record RoxRow 57 - Cell 2
59Dorleta Zorrilla Braceras (Spa) Bizkaia - DurangoRow 58 - Cell 2
60Katie Colclough (GBr) British National TeamRow 59 - Cell 2
61Alexis Rhodes (Aus) Australian National TeamRow 60 - Cell 2
62Fröydis Waerstad (Nor) Hitec Products UckRow 61 - Cell 2
63Sinead Miller (USA) USA0:01:25
64Josien Van Wingerden (Ned) Leontien.nlRow 63 - Cell 2
65Anne Eversdijk (Ned) Dutch National TeamRow 64 - Cell 2
66Linda Melanie Villumsen (NZl) HTC Columbia Women0:01:28
67Andrea Dvorak (USA) United States National TeamRow 66 - Cell 2
68Bridie O'donnell (Aus) Team ValdarnoRow 67 - Cell 2
69Veronica Andreasson (Swe) Lotto Ladies Team0:03:51
70Stephanie Pohl (Ger) Noris Cycling0:06:03


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews