Baum races to junior men's cross country world championship title

Lukas Baum (Germany) dominated the junior men's cross country race at the UCI Mountain Bike World Championships in Pietermaritzburg, South Africa on Thursday. Baum rode in solo for a gold medal ahead of Canada's Peter Disera and Italy's Gioele Bertolini.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Junior men cross country
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lukas Baum (Germany)1:20:06
2Peter Disera (Canada)0:00:42
3Gioele Bertolini (Italy)0:01:02
4Raphael Gay (France)0:01:07
5Jan Vastl (Czech Republic)0:01:13
6Eirik Sverdrup Augdal (Norway)0:01:46
7Georg Egger (Germany)0:01:54
8Hugo Pigeon (France)0:03:14
9Philipp Bertsch (Germany)0:04:18
10Andrin Beeli (Switzerland)0:04:48
11Piotr Konwa (Poland)0:05:27
12Simon Vitzthum (Switzerland)Row 11 - Cell 2
13Kjell Van Den Boogert (Netherlands)0:05:50
14Felix Ritzinger (Austria)0:06:00
15Alan Hatherly (South Africa)0:06:06
16Romain Boutet (France)0:06:31
17Ben Oliver (New-Zealand)0:06:38
18Oleksiy Zavolokin (Ukraine)0:06:58
19Michael Thompson (Great Britain)0:07:00
20Louis Bendixen (Denmark)0:07:08
21Jan Rajchart (Czech Republic)0:07:23
22Luca Schwarzbauer (Germany)0:07:34
23Arsenty Vavilov (Russian Federation)0:07:35
24Mathieu Dehaeze (Belgium)0:08:04
25Felix Burke (Canada)0:08:16
26Felix Belhumeur (Canada)0:08:35
27Attila Erdelyi (Hungary)0:08:44
28Sean Bennett (United States of America)0:08:46
29Brandon Rivera (Colombia)0:09:08
30Gregor Krajnc (Slovenia)0:09:11
31Carlo Marzoppi (South Africa)0:09:23
32Neilson Powless (United States of America)0:09:35
33Niels Rasmussen (Denmark)0:09:39
34Mizrain Mora (Mexico)0:10:05
35Jose Gabriel Marques De Almeida (Brazil)0:10:15
36Craig Oliver (New-Zealand)0:10:28
37Luke Vrouwenvelder (United States of America)0:10:39
38Javier Jimenez Pascual (Spain)0:10:50
39Neilo Perrin Ganier (France)0:11:04
40Ivan Venter (South Africa)0:11:45
41Martin Freyer (Namibia)0:12:04
42Sybrand Strauss (South Africa)0:12:08
43Roman Vladykin (Russian Federation)0:12:15
44Marton Dina (Hungary)0:12:39
45Alessandro Saravalle (Italy)0:12:54
46Sebastian Carstensen Fini (Denmark)0:13:21
47Dylan Rebello (South Africa)0:13:42
48Louw Kriel (South Africa)0:13:48
49Joao Cabral (Portugal)0:14:21
50Tasman Nankervis (Australia)0:15:57
-1lapChristian Caivinagua (Ecuador)Row 50 - Cell 2
-1lapYoshiki Yamada (Japan)Row 51 - Cell 2
-1lapJose Gerardo Ulloa (Mexico)Row 52 - Cell 2
-1lapAleksandar Roman (Serbia)Row 53 - Cell 2
-1lapNicol Carstens (South Africa)Row 54 - Cell 2
-1lapJovan Jovanoski (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedoni)Row 55 - Cell 2
-1lapMichael Pretorius (Namibia)Row 56 - Cell 2
-1lapGalym Akhmetov (Kazakhstan)Row 57 - Cell 2
-1lapCelso Figueira De Mello Filho (Brazil)Row 58 - Cell 2
-2lapsRicardo Pelegrina (Argentina)Row 59 - Cell 2
-2lapsDominik Banyai (Hungary)Row 60 - Cell 2
-2lapsChris Hamilton (Australia)Row 61 - Cell 2
-2lapsHurgali Turebekov (Kazakhstan)Row 62 - Cell 2
-2lapsJack Lavis (Australia)Row 63 - Cell 2
-3lapsAlex Gifford (Zimbabwe)Row 64 - Cell 2
-3lapsLichaba West (Lesotho)Row 65 - Cell 2
-3lapsMalefetsane Lesofe (Lesotho)Row 66 - Cell 2
-3lapsMotlatsi Phalatsi (Lesotho)Row 67 - Cell 2
-3lapsMichael Adamson (Zimbabwe)Row 68 - Cell 2
DNFWldy Sandoval (Colombia)Row 69 - Cell 2
DNFMarc Andre Fortier (Canada)Row 70 - Cell 2
DNFMilan Vader (Netherlands)Row 71 - Cell 2
DNFMax Wiklund-Hellstadius (Sweden)Row 72 - Cell 2
DNFMichael Spoegler (Italy)Row 73 - Cell 2
DNFSamuel Gaze (New-Zealand)Row 74 - Cell 2
DNSLucas Newcomb (United States of America)Row 75 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Sue George is an editor at Cyclingnews.  She coordinates all of the site's mountain bike race coverage and assists with the road, 'cross and track coverage.