Stirnemann takes first World Cup win at Vallnord eliminator

The eliminator at the UCI Mountain Bike World Cup had a new face at the top of the podium for round 4 at Vallnord, Andorra. Kathrin Stirnemann (Sabine Spitz Haibike) won the women's race, and now trails World Cup leader Alexandra Engen (Ghost Factory) by a slim 10 points in the overall standings.

Stirnemann, who qualified first for the women, was unbeaten through the heats on her way to the final. She was joined in the final four by world champion Engen, round 2 winner Jenny Rissveds (Swedish National) and second place qualifier Jolanda Neff (Giant Pro). Rissveds and Neff took the early lead in the final and, going into the singletrack section 500 metres from the finish, looked to have the top two spots locked up. However, both Stirnemann and Engen passed the front runners with the World Cup leader running out of track as she tried to chase down Stirnemann.

"I think this is the best race I've had this season," said a very pleased Stirnemann. "I am so happy to win, even though I had to wait for this moment a long time. It is just the best day in my career."

"In the trees, I was the only one who took the upper line and caught Alex [Engen], then on the asphalt I had the best power and made it to the finish as the best. On this course it is not possible to do any tactics. You just have to go full the whole race. It was such a nice fight. The four strongest girls made the final and it was an amazing day."

Engen now leads Stirnemann in the overall standings by a slim margin of 10 points, with 190 to her rival's 180 with one race remaining. Rissveds is a distant third at 110 points.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Big Final
1Kathrin Stirnemann (Swi) Sabine Spitz Haibike Pro Team
2Alexandra Engen (Swe) Ghost Factory Racing Team
3Jenny Rissveds (Swe)
4Jolanda Neff (Swi) Giant Pro XC Team
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Small Final
5Linda Indergand (Swi) Strübi MTB Kader
6Nathalie Schneitter (Swi) Team Colnago Sudtirol
7Georgia Gould (USA) Luna Pro Team
8Nadine Rieder (Ger) Topeak Ergon Racing Team
Swipe to scroll horizontally
1/4 Finals
9Elisabeth Sveum (Nor)
10Anne Terpstra (Ned) Superior Brentjens Mountainbike Racing Team
11Ann Berglund (Swe)
12Oksana Rybakova (Rus)
13Elvira Khayrullina (Rus)
14Pauline° Pajot (Fra) ASPTT Definitive Tec
15Alessia Bulleri (Ita)
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Overall Eliminator Standings
1Alexandra Engen (Swe)190pts
2Kathrin Stirnemann (Swi)180Row 1 - Cell 3
3Jenny Rissveds (Swe)110Row 2 - Cell 3
4Jolanda Neff (Swi)76Row 3 - Cell 3
5Linda Indergand (Swi)70Row 4 - Cell 3
6Nadine Rieder (Ger)58Row 5 - Cell 3
7Ingrid Sofie Jacobsen (Nor)39Row 6 - Cell 3
8Anne Terpstra (Ned)38Row 7 - Cell 3
9Eva Lechner (Ita)37Row 8 - Cell 3
10Nathalie Schneitter (Swi)34Row 9 - Cell 3
11Cécile Ravanel (Fra)25Row 10 - Cell 3
12Aleksandra Dawidowicz (Pol)22Row 11 - Cell 3
13Anna Oberparleiter (Ita)22Row 12 - Cell 3
14Katerina Nash (Cze)20Row 13 - Cell 3
15Elisabeth Sveum (Nor)20Row 14 - Cell 3
16Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra)18Row 15 - Cell 3
17Georgia Gould (USA)16Row 16 - Cell 3
18Andréanne Pichette (Can)16Row 17 - Cell 3
19Ramona Forchini (Swi)16Row 18 - Cell 3
20Katrin Leumann (Swi)14Row 19 - Cell 3
21Andreane Lanthier-Nadeau (Can)14Row 20 - Cell 3
22Ann Berglund (Swe)8Row 21 - Cell 3
23Alessia Bulleri (Ita)8Row 22 - Cell 3
24Elvira Khayrullina (Rus)7Row 23 - Cell 3
25Oksana Rybakova (Rus)6Row 24 - Cell 3
26Lena Putz (Ger)6Row 25 - Cell 3
27Pauline° Pajot (Fra)3Row 26 - Cell 3
28Blaza Klemencic (Slo)1Row 27 - Cell 3
29Laura Turpijn (Ned)1Row 28 - Cell 3

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews