Rissveds lands another win for Sweden in Nove Mesto World Cup

Jenny Rissveds (Swedish National Team) became the second Swedish rider in two rounds of the UCI Eliminator World Cup to win, following in the footsteps of compatriot Alexandra Engen (Ghost Factory). Engen retained her overall lead in the series after finishing third.

The Nove Mesto eliminator course was very different from the first round, in Albstadt, Germany, last week. Where the opening round was very technical, running through city streets, this week incorporated parts of the cross country circuit, with a rock garden and long climb, requiring power and endurance.

Rissveds, who had been favoured to make the final in the first round before crashing in the semi-final there, had a clean run through to final with the exception of her quarter-final race, when she had to play catch up from last place after slipping a pedal in the start.

In the final, Rissveds was up against round one winner and world champion Engen, Kathrin Stirnemann (Sabine Spitz Haibike) and cross country World Cup leader Eva Lechner (Colnago Sudtirol). The group rode together through the opening jumps and rock garden, and then Rissveds made her move on the long paved climb halfway through the 1070-metre circuit, attacking to get the lead as the riders headed into singletrack.

"Jenny was too strong," said Engen. "She attacked at the top of hill and I just couldn't get on her wheel. She was fastest today. This is a course that you can be tactical on and wait until later in the race, but Jenny was just too strong."

Rissveds cruised in for the win, while Engen lost a close sprint for second to Stirnemann.

"My tactic was to be powerful at the beginning and look back at technical section to see if anyone was there," Rissveds said. "It wasn't easy, but I think my tactic was the best today. The course had everything - tech sections and you had to be powerful on the climb. The crash last week gave me some motivation, but I was also a little bit nervous because of it."

Engen retains the eliminator World Cup overall lead with 90 points, with Rissved in second 10 points back, tied for points with Stirnemann.

Elite women's eliminator full results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Big Final
#Rider Name (Country) Team
1Jenny Rissveds (Swe)
2Kathrin Stirnemann (Swi) Sabine Spitz Haibike Pro Team
3Alexandra Engen (Swe) Ghost Factory Racing Team
4Eva Lechner (Ita) Team Colnago Sudtirol
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Small Final
#Rider Name (Country) Team
5Linda Indergand (Swi) Strübi MTB Kader
6Pauline Ferrand Prevot* (Fra) Giant Pro XC Team
7Aleksandra Dawidowicz (Pol) Bi&Esse Carrera
8Katrin Leumann (Swi) Ghost Factory Racing Team
Swipe to scroll horizontally
1/4 Finals
#Rider Name (Country) Team
9Jolanda Neff* (Swi) Giant Pro XC Team
10Nadine Rieder (Ger) Topeak Ergon Racing Team
11Andreane Lanthier-Nadeau (Can)
12Lena Putz (Ger)
13Ramona Forchini (Swi) Strübi MTB Kader
14Elvira Khayrullina (Rus)
15Nathalie Schneitter (Swi) Team Colnago Sudtirol
16Ingrid Sofie Jacobsen (Nor)
Swipe to scroll horizontally
1/8 Finals
#Rider Name (Country) Team
17Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Pro Team
18Veronika Bruchle (Ger)
19Lucie Chainel-Lefevre (Fra) BH - SR Suntour - KMC
20Anna Oberparleiter (Ita)
21Alessandra Keller (Swi) Strübi MTB Kader
22Pavla Havlikova (Cze)
23Sabrina Enaux (Fra)
24Pavlina Sulcova (Cze)
25Catharine Pendrel (Can) Luna Pro Team
26Marta Tereshchuk (Ukr) Cycling Club Roma MTB Team
27Cayley Brooks (Can)
28Ana Zupan (Slo)
29Pauline Pajot (Fra) Asptt Definitive Tec
30Iryna Popova (Ukr) Cycling Club Roma MTB Team
31Haley Smith (Can)
DNFIrena Berkova (Cze)

Elite women's eliminator World Cup standings after round 2

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResultHeader Cell - Column 3
1Alexandra Engen (Swe) Ghost Factory Racing Team90pts
2Jenny Rissveds (Swe)80Row 1 - Cell 3
3Kathrin Stirnemann (Swi) Sabine Spitz Haibike Pro Team80Row 2 - Cell 3
4Nadine Rieder (Ger) Topeak Ergon Racing Team40Row 3 - Cell 3
5Eva Lechner (Ita) Team Colnago Sudtirol37Row 4 - Cell 3
6Jolanda Neff* (Swi) Giant Pro XC Team26Row 5 - Cell 3
7Cécile Ravanel (Fra) Team GT Skoda25Row 6 - Cell 3
8Linda Indergand (Swi) Strübi MTB Kader20Row 7 - Cell 3
9Ingrid Sofie Jacobsen (Nor)19Row 8 - Cell 3
10Aleksandra Dawidowicz (Pol) Bi&Esse Carrera19Row 9 - Cell 3
11Pauline Ferrand Prevot* (Fra) Giant Pro XC Team18Row 10 - Cell 3
12Anne Terpstra (Ned) Superior Brentjens Mountainbike Racing Team16Row 11 - Cell 3
13Katrin Leumann (Swi) Ghost Factory Racing Team14Row 12 - Cell 3
14Ramona Forchini (Swi) Strübi MTB Kader14Row 13 - Cell 3
15Andreane Lanthier-Nadeau (Can)14Row 14 - Cell 3
16Anna Oberparleiter (Ita)8Row 15 - Cell 3
17Lena Putz (Ger)6Row 16 - Cell 3
18Nathalie Schneitter (Swi) Team Colnago Sudtirol6Row 17 - Cell 3
19Elvira Khayrullina (Rus)3Row 18 - Cell 3
20Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Pro Team2Row 19 - Cell 3
21Laura Turpijn (Ned) SBJ Bike Team1Row 20 - Cell 3

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1