Forster wins Snowshoe MTB World Cup final

The 2019 Mountain Bike World Cup concluded on Sunday with the seventh and final round of the cross-country, held at Snowshoe, West Virginia.  World champion Nino Schurter (Scott SRAM) had already mathematically won the title, in the absence of second-placed Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon-Circus), who is preparing for the Road world championships.  He finished second on the day to young teammate and countryman Lars Forster.

The short, 3.8 kilometre circuit resulted in fast and unrelenting racing.  A large group of 15 riders, with all the top contenders formed at the front, with Henrique Avancini (Cannondale Factory) very aggressive and pushing the pace. 

Avancini's pace split the group, with only Schurter able to go with him.  On the sixth lap (of nine), Schurter suffered a flat, but was able to get a quick wheel change and was able to join the chase group.  The group then chased down Avancini, led by Forster, with eight still in contention.  At the start of the final lap, Manuel Fumic (Cannondale Factory) attacked, but crashed in a corner, allowing Schurter and Forster to get a gap, which Forster extended with Schurter on his wheel.  In the final rock garden, Forster attacked again, to solo in for his first World Cup victory.

"I don't what to think, I can't believe it," said Forster.  "I had the feeling yesterday and this morning that I could do something good.  I didn't expect to win, just the podium.  I had a shitty World Cup season, so finishing with this win is amazing.  In the last lap, Nino made an attack and I was able to go with him.  This is reward overload."

For Schurter, it was his seventh World Cup overall title, finishing ahead of Van der Poel, with Avancini taking third.

"It was a tough race, but it was so cool to see Lars win," said Schurter.  " When I got the puncture, I managed to stay cool and get back, but I had to work really hard.  When Lars and I [got away], we had to go all out, so he more than deserved the win.  I'm just super happy to win the overall; it was an insane season."


Swipe to scroll horizontally
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lars Forster (Swi) 1:26:09
2Nino Schurter (Swi) 0:00:05
3Maxime Marotte (Fra) 0:00:07
4Henrique Avancini (Bra) 0:00:08
5Stephane Tempier (Fra) 0:00:10
6Manuel Fumic (Ger) 0:00:37
7Nadir Colledani (Ita) 0:00:38
8Jordan Sarrou (Fra) 0:00:41
9Erik Hægstad (Nor) 0:00:54
10Nicholas Pettina' (Ita) 0:00:56
11Jens Schuermans (Bel)
12Lukas Flueckiger (Swi) 0:01:06
13Titouan Carod (Fra) 0:01:10
14Anton Sintsov (Rus) 0:01:14
15Victor Koretzky (Fra) 0:01:20
16Georg Egger (Ger) 0:01:24
17Gerhard Kerschbaumer (Ita) 0:01:29
18Daniel Mcconnell (Aus) 0:01:31
19Luca Schwarzbauer (Ger) 0:01:34
20Andri Frischknecht (Swi) 0:01:44
21Reto Indergand (Swi) 0:02:02
22Martins Blums (Lat) 0:02:08
23Leandre Bouchard (Can) 0:02:15
24Milan Vader (Ned) 0:02:17
25Pablo Rodriguez Guede (Spa) 0:02:21
26Keegan Swenson (USA) 0:02:22
27Ben Zwiehoff (Ger) 0:02:24
28Bartlomiej Wawak (Pol) 0:02:28
29Markus Schulte-Lünzum (Ger) 0:02:29
30Karl Markt (Aut) 0:02:32
31Florian Chenaux (Swi) 0:02:36
32Jan Vastl (Cze) 0:02:41
33Anton Cooper (NZl) 0:03:04
34Luiz Henrique Cocuzzi (Bra) 0:03:16
35Jose Gerardo Ulloa Arevalo (Mex) 0:03:24
36Daniele Braidot (Ita) 0:03:29
37Matthias Stirnemann (Swi) 0:03:40
38Maximilian Foidl (Aut) 0:03:42
39Kohei Yamamoto (Jpn) 0:03:45
40Sebastian Fini Carstensen (Den) 0:03:55
41Marcel Guerrini (Swi) 0:03:58
42Jan Škarnitzl (Cze) 0:04:08
43András Parti (Hun) 0:04:12
44Fabian Giger (Swi) 0:04:15
45Carlos Coloma Nicolas (Spa) 0:04:26
46Sergio Mantecon Gutierrez (Spa) 0:04:28
47Martin Loo (Est) 0:04:34
48David Valero Serrano (Spa) 0:04:42
49Cameron Ivory (Aus) 0:04:49
50Thomas Griot (Fra) 0:05:03
51Peter Disera (Can) 0:05:23
52Florian Vogel (Swi) 0:05:41
53Thomas Litscher (Swi) 0:06:11
54Ondřej Cink (Cze)
55Nicholas Beechan (USA) 0:06:30
56Gregor Raggl (Aut) 0:06:40
57Luke Vrouwenvelder (USA) 0:06:42
58Alan Hatherly (RSA) 0:06:49
59Gioele Bertolini (Ita) 0:07:34
60Fabio Hernando Castañeda Monsalve (Col) 0:08:30
61Russell Finsterwald (USA) 0:09:01
62Raphael Gagne (Can) 0:09:28
63Richard Cypress Gorry (USA)
64Ryan Standish (USA)
65Jhonatan Botero Villegas (Col)
66Felix Belhumeur (Can)
67Alexandre Vialle (Can)
68Dario Gasco (Arg)
69Alex Wild (USA)
70Andrew L'Esperance (Can)
71Marc Andre Fortier (Can)
72Rubens Donizete Valeriano (Bra)
DNFLuca Braidot (Ita)
DNFSebastian Alejandro Miranda Maldonado (Chi)
DNFMárton Dina (Hun)
DNFJarno Trey (Est)
DNFJaroslav Kulhavý (Cze)
DNSZsombor Palumby (Hun)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews