Waterloo World Cup: Toon Aerts takes opening round in Wisconsin

Toon Aerts at Koppenbergcross

Toon Aerts at Koppenbergcross (Image credit: Tim de Waele/TDWSport.com)

Toon Aerts (Telenet Fidea Lions) won the first round of the 2018-19 UCI cyclocross World Cup, soloing away from the world champion Wout Van Aert two laps from the end of the race.

Van Aert finished second, 34 seconds back, while Laurens Sweeck (Pauwels Sauzen-Vastgoedservice) grabbed the final podium spot, 51 seconds behind Aerts.

"When you win the first race of the classification you take the jersey," Aerts said. "So it's the first time I've ever had the white jersey in my career and so I'm looking forward to next week.

"On the last lap when I came up the running point pretty good I knew it was almost there for the victory. It was my weakest point - I didn't know what was wrong there. So coming up on the last lap I knew I had to make no mistakes so I was fine."

Meanwhile, runner-up and two-time World Cup Van Aert was upbeat despite his defeat. The Belgian pointed out that he now has a nice headstart on eternal rival Mathieu van der Poel, who didn't race here.

"Of course its mixed feelings," he said. "When you're a three-time world champion everybody expects that you win every race. So do I and yeah it was a pity that I wasn't able to win.

"Today Toon was a bit stronger, and in the final three laps I wasn't able to follow his pace. So he's a deserved winner and I'm happy that I have a good position now in the World Cup standings."

It was a race of attrition around the technical, twisting circuit at the Trek headquarters in Waterloo, Wisconsin. The weather was a reasonable 21 degrees Celsius cooler than last year's heatwave, though the grass and dirt route was again largely dry and dusty.

Still, it was no trouble for the lead group of nine Belgian and Dutchmen who assembled early on in the race. Van Aert was there, of course, and without his big rival Mathieu van der Poel he was the odds-on favourite to win, despite his recent contract troubles.

The group whittling down as the race went on, thanks to crashes and riders dropping away. Telenet Fidea Lions had the numerical advantage with four up front in the early laps, but midway through the race it was down to the two 24-year-olds Van Aert and Aerts, with Sweeck (also 24) chasing alone.

Lap seven saw the decisive move of the race go, with Aerts leaving Van Aert behind at the beginning of the lap. It would be the winning move, with the world champion having no answer for the Telenet Fidea man.

How it unfolded

A lead group of nine riders - eight Belgians and a Dutchman - established themselves towards the end of the first lap. Unsurprisingly Wout Van Aert, riding with WVA on his jersey instead of his regular sponsors but officially representing Crelan-Charles, was there.

The other men joining him were Laurens Sweeck, Daan Soete (Pauwels Sauzen-Vastgoedservice), Eli Iserbyt, Michael Vanthourenhout (both Marlux-Bingoal) and Corne Van Kessel, Quinten Hermans, Toon Aerts, Jim Aernouts (all Telenet Fidea Lions).

On lap three Van Aert took to the head of the group, pushing the pace a little with Aernouts and Vanthourenhout dropping from the back. With three of their men still in the lead group, it was no surprise to see Telenet Fidea try a few moves - Hermans took it up at the front midway through lap three. By the end of the lap the leaders were 20 seconds up on the chasers.

Soete took it up on lap four, putting the pressure on those at the rear of the group. His own teammate Sweeck dropped back after faltering on the barriers, while Iserbyt and Van Kessel were gapped at the end of the lap, leaving four men up front.

Midway through lap five Sweeck hit the deck, sliding out on a corner. Behind him, Hermans had nowhere to go and somersaulted over Soete's bike. Now it was just Van Aert and Aerts in the lead, with Sweeck emerging as a sole chaser some ten seconds back.

At the start of lap seven, Aerts seized his chance and went for it. Van Aert didn't have an immediate response, and there wasn't much sign of a delayed reaction either. By the end of the lap, the world champion was 11 seconds behind Aerts.

Heading into the final lap, the podium seemed set - barring a crash - with Van Aert falling to 15 seconds back and Sweeck comfortable riding alone 43 seconds back. Things wouldn't change though - the 2016 European cyclocross champion Aerts took his first career World Cup victory, showing off his Trek bike for the cameras after crossing the line.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Toon Aerts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions1:02:49
2Wout Van Aert (Bel)0:00:34
3Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservic0:00:51
4Quinten Hermans (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:00:54
5Daan Soete (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:00:55
6Corne Van Kessel (Ned) Telenet Fidea Lions0:01:08
7Eli Iserbyt (Bel) Marlux - Bingoal0:01:14
8Jim Aernouts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:01:27
9Tim Merlier (Bel)0:01:36
10Michael Boroš (Cze) Creafin Tüv Sud0:01:44
10Michael Boroš (Cze)1:04:33
11Steve Chainel (Fra)1:04:43
12Kevin Pauwels (Bel)1:04:53
13Diether Sweeck (Bel)1:05:13
14Matthieu Boulo (Fra)1:05:19
15Tom Meeusen (Bel)1:05:24
16Thijs Aerts (Bel)1:05:31
17Jens Adams (Bel)1:05:36
18Lars Van Der Haar (Ned)1:05:56
19Fabien Canal (Fra)1:06:01
20Nicolas Cleppe (Bel)1:06:05
21Stan Godrie (Ned)1:06:13
22Kerry Werner (USA)1:06:18
23Curtis White (USA)1:06:20
24Sieben Wouters (Ned)1:06:21
25Cody Kaiser (USA)1:06:44
26James Driscoll (USA)1:06:52
27Ian Field (GBr)1:07:02
28Anthony Clark (USA)1:07:07
29Michael Van Den Ham (Can)1:07:41
30Tobin Ortenblad (USA)1:07:42
31Allen Krughoff (USA)1:07:45
32Eric Thompson (USA)1:07:59
33Bjorn Selander (USA)1:08:06
34Alois Falenta (Fra)1:08:14
35Gunnar Holmgren (Can)1:08:16
36Grant Ellwood (USA)1:08:40
37Lance Haidet (USA)1:08:46
38Eric Brunner (USA)1:09:02
39Jack Kisseberth (USA)1:10:04
40Craig Richey (Can)
41Trevor O'donnell (Can)
42Garry Millburn (Aus)
43Isaac Niles (Can)
44Jarno Trey (Est)
DNFMichael Vanthourenhout (Bel)
DNFJustin Lindine (USA)
DNFStephen Hyde (USA)
DNFAndrew Dillman (USA)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Daniel Ostanek
Production editor

Daniel Ostanek is production editor at Cyclingnews, having joined in 2017 as a freelance contributor and later being hired as staff writer. Prior to joining the team, he had written for most major publications in the cycling world, including CyclingWeekly, Rouleur, and CyclingTips.


Daniel has reported from the world's top races, including the Tour de France and the spring Classics, and has interviewed many of the sport's biggest stars, including Wout van Aert, Remco Evenepoel, Mark Cavendish, Demi Vollering, and Anna van der Breggen.


As well as original reporting, news and feature writing, and production work, Daniel also runs The Leadout newsletter and oversees How to Watch guides throughout the season. His favourite races are Strade Bianche and the Volta a Portugal, and he rides a Colnago C40.

Latest on Cyclingnews