Skip to main content

Compton wins Roubaix 'cross World Cup with final lap surge

Despite several crashes, American champion Katie Compton (Trek Cyclo-cross Collective) managed to overtake rival Sanne van Paassen (Rabobank-Giant Offroad Team) in the last lap and captured her third consecutive World Cup win in Roubaix, France.

"I'm still leader despite this debacle," Compton said after her hard-fought win on the legendary velodrome in Roubaix during the fourth round in the UCI Cyclo-Cross World Cup.

Thanks to 60 more points for her win on Sunday afternon, Compton comfortably leads the World Cup standings with a massive 50-point lead over Van Paassen.

On the first lap, several riders crashed on the fast course in Roubaix. First it was British champion Helen Wyman (Kona) who flipped sideways in the short sand section, taking several riders down with her. The British champion also broke her derailleur. Wyman, who had shared second place in the World Cup standings, ended up chasing from outside of the top-30.

A little later, Belgian champion Sanne Cant (Veldritacademie Enertherm-BKCP) and Compton crashed on one of the two steep descents.

"I thought she would ride it, and at the last moment she dismounted," Compton said. The duo tangled and went down together. Cant didn't land well and couldn't continue the race. She was carried away by the emergency team.

By the end of the hectic first lap, Van Paassen was leading the race solo with a small gap over Jasmin Achermann (Rapha-Focus) and Nikki Harris (Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team). Harris, who also had shared second in the World Cup standings, seemed to gain ground on Van Paassen, but technical setbacks halted her. By that time, Compton was moving up from fifth place, and she joined the first chasers during the third lap, trailing Van Paassen by 15 seconds.

During the following laps, Compton seemed to have the strength to get back to Van Paassen but several crashes postponed that moment. Meanwhile, Harris lost ground while Achermann managed to keep Compton in sight.

To make things even more exciting, the three first riders hit the final lap within 10 seconds of each other. Compton finally bridged up and overtook Van Paassen early on in the final lap with Achermann at short distance. Van Paassen wasn't intimiated by Compton and moved back into the lead when going into the technical sections with the steep drops. This time Compton took those well while Van Paassen opted to run one of them.

"Maybe I should have risked it, but my legs were full at that time. I had no more acceleration in me after that," Van Paassen said.

While Van Paassen was on her limit, Compton punched away on the final climbing section, and she powered onward to a prestigious World Cup win. Van Paassen was second eight seconds afterward, but Achermann was the surprise of the day in third place, just 28 seconds after Compton.

"This is fantastic. I rode my own race, but having Compton ahead of me was good. Riding faster wasn't possible because I would've blown up. I work three days in a week in a bakery. Before the season I hoped to finish in the top-10 and now I'm on the podium, the first Swiss girl. I'm living my dream," Achermann said.

Harris held off local rider Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Hitec Products - Mistral Home) for fourth place and now ranks third in the World Cup standings. Wyman concluded her chase in the background with a 13th place, which dropped her to fourth place in the World Cup standings.

The next World Cup round will be held in Namur, Belgium on December 23.

Full Results

Elite women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Katherine Compton (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective0:42:24
2Sanne Van Paassen (Ned) Rabobank Women Cycling Team0:00:08
3Jasmin Achermann (Swi) Rapha - Focus0:00:28
4Nikki Harris (GBr) Young Telenet - Fidea Cycling Team0:00:52
5Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Fra) Hitec Products - Mistral Home Cycling Team
6Gabriella Day (GBr) Rapha - Focus0:01:19
7Pavla Havlikova (Cze) Young Telenet - Fidea Cycling Team
8Ellen Van Loy (Bel)
9Eva Lechner (Ita) Colnago Sudtirol0:01:23
10Martina Mikulaskova (Cze)0:01:25
11Amy Dombroski (USA) Young Telenet - Fidea Cycling Team0:01:28
12Lucie Chainel-Lefevre (Fra) BH - SR Suntour - Peisey Vallandry0:01:40
13Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona0:01:49
14Arenda Grimberg (Ned)0:02:00
15Marlène Morel Petitgirard (Fra)0:02:05
16Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) Rabobank Women Cycling Team0:02:13
17Reza Hormes (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team
18Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) Rabobank Women Cycling Team0:02:43
19Sabrina Schweizer (Ger) Rapha - Focus0:02:56
20Alice Maria Arzuffi (Ita) Selle Italia Guerciotti0:03:26
21Kim Van De Steene (Bel)0:03:39
22Elena Valentini (Ita) Selle Italia Guerciotti0:03:53
23Lise-Marie Henzelin (Swi)0:04:03
24Elisabeth Brandau (Ger) Notebooksbilliger.De Team0:04:14
25Githa Michiels (Bel) Trek-KMC Trade Team0:04:16
26Asa Maria Erlandsson (Swe)0:04:21
27Tereza Medvedova (Svk)0:04:36
28Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel)0:04:58
29Nancy Bober (Bel) Style & Concept0:05:16
30Evy Kuijpers (Ned)0:05:17
31Eva Colin (Fra)0:05:44
-1lapLana Verberne (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team
-1lapMargriet Helena Kloppenburg (Den)
-1lapAnnefleur Kalvenhaar (Ned) Giant Dealerteams
-2lapsKatrien Thijs (Bel)
-2lapsAnja Geldhof (Bel)
DNFSanne Cant (Bel) Veldritacademie Enertherm - Bkcp
DNSValentina Scandolara (Ita) S.C. Michela Fanini Rox

Elite women World Cup standings after round 4
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Katherine Compton (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective230pts
2Sanne Van Paassen (Ned) Rabobank Women Cycling Team180
3Nikki Harris (GBr) Young Telenet - Fidea Cycling Team170
4Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona148
5Jasmin Achermann (Swi) Rapha - Focus131
6Sanne Cant (Bel) Veldritacademie Enertherm - Bkcp113
7Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Fra) Hitec Products - Mistral Home Cycling Team104
8Lucie Chainel-Lefevre (Fra) BH - SR Suntour - Peisey Vallandry101
9Pavla Havlikova (Cze) Young Telenet - Fidea Cycling Team100
10Gabriella Day (GBr) Rapha - Focus98
11Ellen Van Loy (Bel)69
12Arenda Grimberg (Ned)66
13Amy Dombroski (USA) Young Telenet - Fidea Cycling Team62
14Marlène Morel Petitgirard (Fra)61
15Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) Rabobank Women Cycling Team39
16Martina Mikulaskova (Cze)39
17Sabrina Schweizer (Ger) Rapha - Focus39
18Kaitlin Antonneau (USA) Cannondale P/B Cyclocrossworld.Com37
19Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger) Rusvelo35
20Julie Krasniak (Fra) Rapha - Focus34
21Vania Rossi (Ita)34
22Sophie De Boer (Ned) Young Telenet - Fidea Cycling Team33
23Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel)32
24Alice Maria Arzuffi (Ita) Selle Italia Guerciotti31
25Annefleur Kalvenhaar (Ned) Giant Dealerteams31
26Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) Rabobank Women Cycling Team29
27Reza Hormes (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team29
28Eva Lechner (Ita) Colnago Sudtirol24
29Kim Van De Steene (Bel)19
30Maureen Bruno Roy (USA) Bob's Red Mill P/B Seven17
31Asa Maria Erlandsson (Swe)16
32Githa Michiels (Bel) Trek-KMC Trade Team14
33Tereza Medvedova (Svk)14
34Nancy Bober (Bel) Style & Concept13
35Lise-Marie Henzelin (Swi)13
36Francesca Cauz (Ita) Fassa Bortolo - Servetto13
37Margriet Helena Kloppenburg (Den)12
38Elena Valentini (Ita) Selle Italia Guerciotti9
39Caroline Mani (Fra) Raleigh - Clement9
40Elisabeth Brandau (Ger) Notebooksbilliger.De Team7
41Hilde Quintens (Bel)6
42Angelica Edvardsson (Swe)4
43Karla Stepanova (Cze)4
44Evy Kuijpers (Ned)4
45Christine Vardaros (USA) Baboco Cycling Team4
46Nadja Heigl (Aut)2
47Kristien Nelen (Bel) Houffalize-Granville Team1


Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews